Skip to content

Candy hangover

November 1, 2011

Oy, kids and candy. That’s all I have to say about that.

My boy is really into Dungeons and Dragons right now, and we recently read a great book called The Ranger’s Apprentice. He decided a few months ago that he wanted to be a medieval ranger, but I had the hardest time finding a costume. I didn’t want something too plasticy or commercial looking. I saw a couple things on Etsy that might work, but nothing that wowed us.

We ended up going with a Robin Hood costume from the halloween store. It came with tunic, hood, belt, boot covers and a wristlet. The material was pretty cheap (yuck) but it looked really nice.

Then we turned our attention to his bow and arrow. I couldn’t find a toy one anywhere, and after consulting friends on Facebook decided to DIY. Apparently my husband had the same thought and had already found a nice piece of wood and he made the bow with a little hemp string. I made the arrows out of craft felt, balsa wood, and craft feathers. I sewed a felt quiver to hold the arrows and we just tucked that into his belt.

JT was very happy with how it all turned out.

medieval ranger costume, diy bow and arrows

Lulu’s known for some time that she wanted to be Strawberry Shortcake for Halloween. I knew right away that we’d be doing a DIY costume, even if she had the store one in mind. I got the tulle early from this great etsy shop, and ordered some for my sister too. Then my Mom wanted in on the action. I ended up making 4 tutu’s. I didn’t like the color for the first strawberry tutu. I just wasn’t right, so it’s in the dress up trunk, nothing wrong with that! I tried again with a true red instead of the garnet I ordered and it was perfect.

I couldn’t find a red child sized wig, and just about the time I was going to give up and let her go wigless or dye her hair, this DIY popped up on Elsie Larson’s blog A Beautiful Mess. I had a skien of bulky red wool I’ve never knitted up, grabbed another skien from the yarn store, and made this super easy wig. Thanks so much to Red Velvet girl Katie for that one! I would never have come up with anything on my own!

I had plans to print out a strawberry and iron it on a shirt, but when I sat down to do it, I didn’t have t-shirt paper for the inkjet. Or I did, but couldn’t find it. So then I thought, I’ll use Danielle Thompson’s embroidery pattern from her Kitschy Cute Fruit Embroidery Patterns in her Tiny Bazaar Etsy Store.

I spent a good hour to hour and half stitching that baby up, and realized the t-shirt material was just too flimsy and see-through to hold up the embroidery. So I did the next best thing, I faux stitched it using fabric pens borrowed from a friend (couldn’t find those either). From a distance you can’t even tell the difference and Danielle’s cute design was the perfect compliment to her costume, and she gets to wear the shirt all winter, she loves it.

Lulu’s beautiful strawberry hat was a hand knit birthday gift from my friend Rebecca, and it was beyond perfect! We found her tights at the halloween store as well, and they just brought the whole thing together.

diy strawberry shortcake costume

My sister wanted a tutu also, and she decided on a peacock costume, so I made this pretty one, she found a cute bodice and some peacock flowers to go with it. So pretty!

diy peacock costume

My Mom has always had the items for a witch costume, it’s been her go-to-teacher costume for years. But this year we decided to add a black and orange tutu as well!

My family looked so great!

We didn’t trick or treat long. JT hadn’t been feeling good all day, and we were all pretty tired. But they did hit a few houses near by and enjoyed their night.

I think I’ll start planning costumes in June next year!

Hope everyone out there had a good night!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 10, 2011 10:50 am

    YAY!! It looks like so much fun!! Thanks for the comment on my blog the other day! It’s always nice to get a bit of love when you’re down about something!

Leave a Reply

