Skip to content

Kindle Rocks

March 28, 2011

I read a lot during Spring Break and it felt great. Especially since Baseball season will be so busy and I won’t have that much time.

I was a little late to the party apparently, but I finally got The Hunger Games and I have to say I LOVED, loved, loved, this book. Read it in less than 24 hours! I’ve started the second, Chasing Fire and will definitely read the third as well. I just can’t get enough.

I’ve told many friends, both online and “real-life”, of my dislike for the Twilight Series. I did read them all, because I felt I had too in order to understand what everyone was so excited about. The first 3 were interesting stories, yet poorly written (I’m no writer and have little room to criticize, but this is a common criticism so don’t lynch me) The 4th was plain awful. Plus, I am no fan of Bella’s character, at all. So when I saw the huge bandwagon start regarding The Hunger Games trilogy I was reluctant to jump on and be disappointed again. Apparently I was way off, because not only do I love these books, I love the main character Katniss. She’s the anti-Bella in so many ways, I could go on and on…

Anyway, you must read this.

Also read recently that are okay:

A good cheap read from Kindle. Great historical info. Plot was a little weak though.


This was a nice, short read. The characters were likable, and not too flat. The story was typical YA, but the writing kept it going. My first from this author and I liked it. Looking forward to more.

Our latest family reading is The Hardy Boys. As a kid I read a couple Nancy Drew, but I’ve never read these. They are bit outdated, by golly, but we’re loving the action and suspense. JT asked for a book with cars and I didn’t mean for it to happen, but the first case includes a stolen car. He was instantly hooked and I’m so happy that something like The Hardy Boys is entertaining him.

I still need to finish A Game of Thrones before the show starts too. After that I have about 15 samples from my Kindle to choose from, but I’m leaning towards The Lacuna or Taliesin.

What’s on your bookshelf lately?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 11:20 am

    Bryce loved the Hardy Boys books. Mark and I had bought as many of them as we could and had all of the old series- or pretty close to it, I think we might be missing 1. Bryce read every single one of them over several years. I think he finally finished them about a year ago. Carissa read quite a few of the Nancy Drew ones we have too.

    Currently we are/have been reading the Tunnels series by Roderick Gordon and Brian Williams. The fourth book just came out in February, and they are working on a movie based on Tunnels.
    http://www.amazon.com/Tunnels-Book-1-Roderick-Gordon/dp/0545078814/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1302027341&sr=8-1

    Bryce has read all 3, Beth is working on #3 and I just finished #1 this afternoon and am starting in on #2. A bit dark, but nothing too gruesome in #1.

Leave a Reply

