Skip to content

Knitting Fix

March 24, 2011

I often take knitting with me to JT’s baseball practice or Lulu’s gymnastics. When they are outside playing or at the park, I always have my knitting with me. People always say that they wish they knew how to knit and I remember how I used to say the same thing. My friend Rebecca helped so much, and so did this site, www.knittinghelp.com. Knitting really isn’t hard once you learn the basics and I often tell people, if I can figure it out, anyone can. I started knitting in ’08 and quickly got frustrated and didn’t really pick it back up until this time last year. If I could pinpoint the one thing that frustrated me and made me put it down, it would be not knowing how to fix my mistakes. I would get half way through a hat or scarf and would realize I had followed the directions incorrectly and I wouldn’t know how to go back in my work to fix things.

I did the same thing last night. I’m making this cute hat and went way too far and never started decreasing to make the crown of the hat. 3 inches too far! That never happens, my hats are always too short! So I pulled my needles out and tore out 3 inches of rows, without really thinking about my next step.

In Progress aka HELP!

When I tried to go back in and put the needles back I realized I had no idea where the row started, and my knitting was so tight, my needles were having a hard time going back in. For every stitch I got back on the needle, I would drop one. I was so frustrated I put it down last night and decided to hit-up YouTube first thing today to figure out what I should do.

I found these three videos, and also talked to Rebecca of course!

Video 1

Video 2

Video 3

I ended up taking a circular needle in a smaller size and picking up a row of stitches like demonstrated in the first video. I dropped a couple along the way, and picked some up on the wrong side as well, but they were easily fixed as I knit another row.

YouTube is one of the best places to find help with knitting (or any craft out there actually) and I’m so overwhelmed, and excited, with the craft renaissance that is happening in our generation. Growing up I just didn’t learn these types of things. Everything I’ve learned about crafting I’ve taught myself, looked up on YouTube, found on craft sites, or talked with peers who are teaching themselves as well.

So thanks to Rebecca and some unknown person on YouTube, I got my needles back on my project, and I’m almost finished. And I never even left the house or picked up the phone, except to take photos and upload them to flickr. I love 2011.

Back on the needles

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 9:54 am

    Love being able to find info to figure stuff out like this. I did all kinds of crafts as a kid, and I did take a stab at knitting, but it just didn’t really interest me as much as the other things i was doing, so I don’t think I ever finished a project, and I definitely don’t remember the bit of it that I did learn. You always knit such cool things. I want to see the finished hat! 🙂

Leave a Reply

