Skip to content

What I'm reading

February 3, 2011

I always read more than a few books at a time, and now that I have a kindle, it’s gotten really bad. My daily routine always includes about 30 minutes of out-loud-family reading. We’ve been through so many books and we’re currently making our way through Rick Riordan’s 1st Book in his new Kane Chronicles Series, The Red Pyramid.

It’s taken us quite a while to read this book, and I have to admit I’m not quite as enthusiastic about this one as the other kids series Rick Riordan has done (Percy Jackson and the Olympians and The Lost Heros). We do like the bits of history, almost everyday we get online during the story and research a bit more about Egypt. (Sadly, with recent events, it’s given JT a context to what is happening when we say the Egyptian Museum was looted, although we started reading the book long before the current unrest in Egypt started.)

I also love to read books that I know are being made into movies or TV series before they come out, so I’m busy reading Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen and I’m pretty much loving it!

I’m only about 18% into the book so far but I can hardly wait to sit down with it everyday. The writing is great and I’m enjoying the characters a lot so far. I can’t wait to finish it, and while I’m not really a big fan of the male lead they cast for the movie, I am looking forward to it, hopefully it’s as beautiful as I think it can be in my head.

Before I got my kindle for Xmas from my hunny (best present ever!) I had gotten the paperback of the latest Outlander book, An Echo In The Bone by Diana Gabaldon.

I love this series, at one point was obsessed with it, but I hardly ever pick this up. First of all it’s HUGE and compared to holding a kindle, it’s such a chore, but I just don’t find myself wanting to read it at all. I know I’ll finish it eventually because I HAVE to know what happens with Jaime & Claire and Bri & Roger, and my favorite Ian, but it might take me some time. Good news is the reviews say the beginning is slow but it does get better, so it gives me something to look forward to.

Another I have and am intending to read before the show debuts on HBO in April is A Game of Thrones.

I’ve always loved fantasy but I have to admit I haven’t read much of it lately (I did recently read and love Finnikin of the Rock though, highly recommend that if you can get your hands on it!). I made the mistake of trying to read the Charlotte Vampire stories after True Blood came out and I just couldn’t do it, despite my love for True Blood, so this time I’m determined to read A Game of Thrones and it’s sequels before the show!

Eli the Good also found it’s way to my kindle recently and I’m really looking forward to this as well. I can’t tell you a thing about it yet, other than the description and reviews are great! I’ll be sure to give an update as soon as I start it (or finish it if it goes quickly).

If you’re not a member of Good Reads yet, I highly recommend it for connecting with friends who read and finding great books and reviews. I check in there once a week and I always look to see what people are reading, nothing like a good recommendation for books! Friend me if you sign-up.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill permalink
    February 3, 2011 11:51 am

    So you DID get the Kindle?!? AWESOME! I got stuck mid-way on The Fiery Cross for a long time and it took a back seat during the holiday crochet rush…but I’m back in it and can’t wait to read the rest of the Outlander books! I’m going to have to look into this Water for Elephants…

  2. Amy K permalink
    February 3, 2011 12:02 pm

    Hi T! Thanks for posting your reads and reminder to get back on Good Reads! I think I’ll start the Last Olympians series with James when we’re done with Charlie & the Great Glass Elevator.

    You know I’m a huge Outlander fan too, but I gave my copy of Echo in the Bone to my library. I got about 100 pages in and couldn’t do it anymore. The reviews on Amazon are pretty bad too. I was disappointed!

  3. Robin permalink
    February 17, 2011 12:08 pm

    🙂 It took me awhile to get through Echo in the Bone, but there’s a big twist towards the end that is awesome. And I like that certain characters that haven’t been around for awhile come back. I started A Game of Thrones, too, but I also have a few books I’m working through so I haven’t read much of it yet. I do love it so far. It’s competing with The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest.

Leave a Reply

