Skip to content

Top Ten Tuesdays

September 28, 2010

So I didn’t manage to make it back to my blog all week, but at least I’m here for another installment of Top 10 Tuesdays 🙂 JT recently said his favorite movie is Swiss Family Robinson, the one from the 1960’s (followed by The Endless Summer II and Transformers, well rounded kid, haha!). That totally made my day! So in honor of JT discovering the best adventure movie for boys ever made, I’m listing my Top 10 Disney Movies, Non-Animated, in order of release. (So just to be clear, I didn’t include the Disney films that combined animation and live action, ie Mary Poppins, I think I could make a whole list just off of those some other time!)

1. Old Yeller (1957) – I don’t know how many times I’ve seen this movie, but I cry each time. Nothing like a story about a boy and his dog.

2. Pollyanna (1960) – Every girl should watch this movie, it’s just such a classic.

3. Swiss Family Robinson (1960) – Like I said above, greatest boy (and girl!) adventure movie of all time.

4. The Parent Trap (1961) – I adored this movie. I wanted a twin so bad after seeing this movie (yes, I’m a huge fan of Haley Mills!)

5. Summer Magic (1963) – This is my very favorite Disney movie. I probably could recite the entire movie to you right now if you asked me to. I wanted to be Nancy Carey and fall in love with the handsome Tom Hamilton, what girl wouldn’t?

6. Freaky Friday (1977) – Another Disney Classic, I just thought the story was so fun.

7. The Watcher In the Woods (1980) – I think we must have rented this movie every other week for about three years when I was growing up. One of the only Disney suspense (bordering on horror) that I can think of.

8. The Journey of Natty Gann (1985) – My Dad taped this for me on TV one night, and I watched it till the VHS tape was totally worn out. I think I fell in love with John Cusack a little bit in this movie.

9. The Princess Diaries (2001) – I went to see this with my friend Erin and I was suprised how much I loved it. If it’s on TV or Disney, you know where to find me!

10. Pirates of the Caribbean (2003) – What can I say? I know very few people who don’t love these movies, Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom, the story, the campiness, the ride references, I was blown away in the theater by how good this was, and each one since.

So do you have a favorite Disney Non-Animated Film?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Robin permalink
    September 28, 2010 4:06 pm

    More proof that we are long lost sisters! 🙂 I used to watch so many of these when I was a kid. I remember when Disney channel used to show movies and not kids shows! I really love the Haley Mills movies Pollyanna and Parent Trap – especially when they sing Let’s Get Together – so I’m going to have to check out the other one. I also loved the Apple Dumpling Gang, Darby O Gill and the Little People, Davy Crockett (which was my first movie), The Shaggy Dog, Herbie the Love Bug, Escape to Witch Mountain, and Honey I Shrunk the Kids! 🙂 We spent a lot of Saturday afternoons watching TV! LOL!

  2. September 28, 2010 9:58 pm

    Great picks, Tania! Although, I should admit I have never watched a few of them, but if I can sneak them by Jason (huge anti-Disney freak that he is) I may just have to check ’em out!

Leave a Reply

