Skip to content

Refreshed

August 23, 2010

(photo source)

Last week was such a crazy week, but it ended with a lot of down time, and I am totally refreshed.

JT started 2nd grade on the 18th. He got a great teacher, has friends in his class, avoided some other potential pitfalls (in the form of a bully we dealt with last year in his class) and when a friend’s parent asked how his first day was, he said “Pretty much LOVED it!” What a great kid. His general attitude has improved greatly with being back in school and I couldn’t be more thrilled about that 🙂

Lulu turned three on the 19th. We made yummie cupcakes and took them to preschool and had her favorite Mac and Cheese for dinner. Then opened presents with her Mimi and Auntie. All in all I think she had a lovely day. It’s so hard to believe that little munchkin is three years old. Time goes too quickly. I’m rejoicing that she is moving out of the twos though. She’s showing a lot more thoughtfulness in her actions, finding ways to entertain herself, and is growing so much lately. Before I know it she’ll be starting school, and I’m trying to remember to enjoy this time in her life!

Then on Saturday, Joel and I celebrated our 12 year anniversary. It’s hard to believe that it’s really been that long. We were so young when we got married, and we’ve had our share of hard times, but we are in a really good place right now. I celebrated the day by having a lazy morning. His parents, uncle and cousin came to town and joined him and the kids for a mid-morning baseball game at Wine Country Baseball. Then he came home while the kids and everyone else went to the local Air Show. I watched a lot of bad tv, including reruns of Fame (oh so cheezy!) and did some laundry. Then I went and got my hair cut. My sister came over to watch the kids after dinner and Joel and I went out, just the two of us for a movie and dinner date, for the first time since my Dad was visiting a year and a half ago! It was much needed alone time for us and it was lovely. Plus the movie, Inception, was absolutely fantastic!

Sunday I spent just being lazy with the kids, which I think they really needed too. No fighting or bickering or boredom, just music, coloring, probably too much tv, and Swiss Family Robinson movie in the evening during dinner.

I’m feeling 100% better than I was a week ago, and I can’t thank my family enough for making last week super special, for me, Joel, and the kids!

Off to tackle the rest of my Monday 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 11:38 am

    Congrats! Sounds like you had exactly what you needed. Can’t wait to see your haircut 🙂

  2. Jill permalink
    August 23, 2010 1:42 pm

    Yeah! I’m glad to hear you guys had such a fabulous week! It sounds like every one of you is feeling good and that is great to hear. I am jealous you went to see Inception…still on my list to see soon. Oh and I can’t wait to see your new haircut!!!

  3. August 27, 2010 7:52 pm

    Sounds like a busy but good week! Glad there was some nice downtime in there to wrap it up. Sounds lovely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

