Skip to content

Funny Story

June 28, 2010

Well, I’m not sure it’s so funny actually, but… So my son spends time with his Grandparents every summer, for Vacation Bible Adventure and for a music camp his Grandpa Sam runs, The School of Worship Rock. I took him down on Sunday afternoon to spend the week. It’s about an hour and a half drive each way, and I got home about 5:30 pm.

Shortly after I got home I got a call from Grandpa Sam, but the reception was bad and the call dropped. I tried to call back but it went to voice mail. Then I got a call from the same area code. I answer the phone and the man identifies himself as a police officer from the town my in-laws live in!! Oh my word, I’m sure I don’t have to tell all of you how it feels to get a call from a police officer, it’s terrifying!

He said, “everyone is safe but we have a situation here” (I want to cry at this point). Then he continues, “Is your son’s name Jeremiah Shaw and is he currently in the care of his Grandfather ___?” I say yes, and I’m all, goodness, what could be happening here? “I’m not sure if you are aware of the missing boy case in Oregon, but your son fits his description. We had an anonymous call that the boy was here. After talking with him he gave us your name and phone number and we called to verify that info…”

He went on to take JT’s stats, age, grade, etc. I was just so shocked! My Mom had already told me earlier that day how eerie it was to see pictures of Kyron Horman, the missing boy, on the TV. Personally, I don’t see it, but with JT’s hair short now, I guess I can see how it could be an honest mistake. Kyron’s eyes are a piercing blue and JT’s are most obviously a brown.

I’m glad the police officer called, and I’m happy they are looking for that poor little guy, but honestly, they scared me half to death in the process, and to say I wanted my baby home with me is an understatement. I left him there because I know how much he looked forward to this all year, but all my Mommy instincts were to gather him up in my arms and tell him I’ll always keep him safe. I mean he’s 7 and now he knows there is a boy, who looks a lot like him, out there somewhere without his Momma, and see, I’m crying again. I also feel so bad for my father-in-law Sam, he must have felt awful.

Anyway, check it out for yourself. And if you see anyone other than my son who looks like Kyron, please do contact the authorities. And to Kyron’s family, I hope you find your beautiful boy. My heart goes out to you!

JT Shaw

Kyron Horman, Missing Boy

(I wrote this post a couple days ago, but just now publishing, I’m behind on everything right now!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2010 7:46 am

    Wow, Tania. How scary!! I am glad everything is okay but I am sure it shook up everyone involved. It is good to know that people in that neighborhood are looking out for each other. Give JT lots of love from us and I hope that Kyron is found soon and safe.

  2. July 1, 2010 8:28 pm

    Oh, my. I can’t imagine what that must have been like! I hope Kyron is ok and will be found soon!

Leave a Reply

