Skip to content

New Art Journal Pages

June 3, 2010

I’m enjoying Art Journaling so much, I love the mess, I love the process. It’s been a very rewarding thing for me the last few months. As Elsie and Rachel’s Art Journaling class at Red Velvet Art comes to a close, I thought I’d share some of the pages. Some pages are pretty heavy and I won’t share, and of course I’m way behind, but here’s a few:

Art Journal Page Summer Season

I used some scrapbooking paper to make a tree and water color pencils and sharpies for the rest.

Art Journal Page Today I felt and Stay Calm

Art Journal Page

For this two page spread, the prompt was to journal about some feelings for the day. I was having kinda a rough day. In the journaling I really resolved a problem I’ve been having, and the resolution was to “stay calm”. On the left side I covered the journaling block with a piece of transparency paper I printed from a digital scrapbooking file I had on my computer (design by Emily Powers). I just stapled it on top and it can be lifted to read the page below. I painted the other side in acrylics, layered some scrapbooking paper on top and then used old chipboard that had letters punched out as stencils to paint “stay calm”.

These next two pages were actually two different prompts that went nicely next to each other.

On this left side, the top part of the page is some scrap fabric I had laying around. The bottom half is a matching piece of cardstock. I stamped the leaf pattern with acrylic.

This page was a lot of fun. I made a checkerboard stamp out of some E-Z Cut Blocks for printmaking and used some distressing ink. I layered some masking tape down for texture and in the middle to leave the space. Just used some pencils to color in and a scrap piece of paper to tie the two pages together.

Here’s a page I covered up that I didn’t like. I just lathered brown acrylic over the top of the page and then used a white gel pen to add the journaling. I really had fun going back over a spread that I didn’t really like and doing it again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

