Skip to content

Pigtails

May 18, 2010

I love ’em, aren’t they cute? It’s been 10 months since I had to cut her hair, and they are finally back. JUST love em!

Photo of Lulu in Pigtails

The week after interNational Scrapbooking Day I spent commuting to Solano County for a training I do every six months. I had to be there at 7 and didn’t get home till about 7 each night, so I was a bit tired out. It took me over a week to recover! I’ve done a ton of reading the last week, finished 3 books, and a bit of scrapping too. Sorry I neglected the blog, but really, there is only so much I can do. Coming to terms with that is so hard for me, I know. I want to do so much, and just don’t have the time.

So, I finally finished reading the Kite Runner, such a good book. I read the author’s second book first, A Thousand Splendid Suns, and I actually liked that one better, maybe because it was about women.

Last night I started and finished A Swift Pure Cry by Siobhan Dowd, and Irish writer. It was a good book, the character and events really broke my heart. I’m a little indifferent about it, maybe because I finished Jellicoe Road by Marlina Marchetta last Friday and it is still haunting me. One of the best books I’ve ever read, in any genre, hands down. I was totally caught up in this book, loved every moment. Some people said it starts out slow, because it’s hard to follow what’s happening since it drops you right into the action. I actually liked that, and the sewing up of the seams that she masters to make everything fit by the end. Amazing. I am definitely looking for more from this author soon!

Currently, JT and I are making our way through the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. He loves them. They are a bit too fast paced and action oriented for me, which is fitting since the main character has ADHD and is the son of a Greek God defending the world, haha. Definitely not as easy to read aloud as Harry Potter, that is FOR sure. We’ve finished the first one, The Lightening Thief and have moved onto The Sea of Monsters.

So here are some pages I made last week. The first three are stuff from The LilyPad:

scrapbook page of baby Lulu in a dress

Lulu has a purple mommy

you might recognize the journaling on this next one, taken straight from my blog:a page about me

And here’s a page I uploaded yesterday with Danielle’s newest papers. It made the Gallery Standouts Blog! Yippie!

a scrapbook page of Lulu

So hopefully I can get back to a more regular routine here posting!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. robin permalink
    May 18, 2010 6:35 pm

    I need to check out these books! 🙂 Are we friends on Good Reads? I can’t remember and can’t get on the site either right now for some reason. Anyways, I love your pages – so cool – and those pigtails are adorable!!!

  2. May 18, 2010 10:29 pm

    I loved the Percy Jackson books! so did Bryce and Beth 🙂 (Bryce actually read them first of the 3 of us.) I need to get Carissa to read them now! We still haven’t seen the movie- hopefully once school is out and I can get Grandma to watch the little people since I don’t think they would like it. Will have to check out the others you recommend- I’m always looking for new stuff to read!

  3. May 23, 2010 8:11 am

    That shot of Lulu is adorable! 😀 Wonderful layouts… awesome use of color, composition, and depth! And I love the journaling on the last one. 🙂 Congrats on GSO!!

  4. Jill permalink
    May 25, 2010 2:52 pm

    I love it! Especially the pigtails and Purple Mommy. That is awesome! Also…I am going to have to look into that book. I only have two left in the Outlander Series!

Leave a Reply

