Skip to content

Revisiting my One Little Word

March 31, 2010

I chose my one little word this year, ACT, because I was tired of wishing and dreaming and not getting anything done. It’s now the end of March, three months down, and I thought it was time to take a look at that word and give myself a reality check on how it’s working for me.

Here’s what I wrote in January:

(credits on this page can be found here)

So yeah, not so hard right? Just do it already, in other words.

I find that I’m still bogged down in the wishing, dreaming, being inspired by stage and haven’t really done (or rather) finished all that much. I think part of my problem is that I have started a lot of things, and for one reason or another, haven’t finished them. I have a friend who kinda poked fun at all the projects I’m doing when I fizzeled out taking one picture a day. (For the record, I am taking pictures nearly every day, I just haven’t really been keeping up with getting them off the camera, editing, categorizing, and sharing them.)

So I thought I’d devote my blog post today to writing out projects that I’ve fallen behind on, or abandoned altogether, and then coming up with some strategies for getting back on the ACT track.

Project 365 – I touched on this already. I had committed to taking one picture every day for the whole year. I have so many friends who do this, I really wanted to try and keep up. I typed up this whole long paragraph and realized I’m making tons of excuses about this. It might be the one project I table for now, although I hate to let my friends down who have formed a little support group.

The Art Journal Caravan is a self-paced class at ScrapbookGraphics. It has weekly prompts, inspiration, and tips/techniques. Despite the huge amount of resources that the course organizers provided, I’ve fallen way behind. I wanted a 100% hybrid album, meaning I wasn’t going to digitally scrapbook my pages and then print them out, but get messy with some glue too. I’ve already decided to relax that standard for the sake of getting these pages done. Hopefully I can crank some out now that we’re on Spring Break.

I’ve finished two spreads (here & here) of this six spread hybrid album. Inspired by Audrey Neal’s free blog class R3WiND, this was something I really wanted to do. In order to get this done, I think I’ll allow myself the freedom to see where the project takes me, without being fixated on following Audrey’s prompts to the letter. (I love following directions, but sometimes, I need to follow my own, especially if it helps me get something done, right?!)

In reality, all of these fun things I wanted to do this year, end up taking a back seat to my kids & hubby, my job, my creative team work, and the blog design (makeover) jobs I’ve been taking recently.

So keeping in mind I have the above obligations, and scrapbooking always comes first in terms of my fun projects, I plan on devoting at least 4 hours a week to the above projects, 1 for each. Maybe I’ll even track the time like I do at work. Keep myself accountable. 2 hours a night is pretty doable, 1 hour for blogs and scrapping, 1 hour for fun and still in bed by 12:00 am. No problem!! I’m thinking it might take me longer than 365 days to take 365 photos for the project. I might end up with an art journal of 30 pages, digital and hybrid, instead of 52 for the AJC. My R3WiND album might not be exactly like Audrey challenged us to do. These things will still tell my story, and that is my ultimate goal.

I haven’t strayed to far from my word after all. Looking back, I might have gotten a little stalled in March, but I’m still Acting on the things I want to do. That is good progress. Hopefully I’ll come back in June and be able to show off more accomplishments.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    March 31, 2010 3:05 pm

    And don’t forget your the little league team manager and boy scouts and how much you read with your kids every night and homework and science fairs….I think you are being too hard on yourself…for 3 months you have gotten ALOT of things done and have inspired me to do more!!

  2. robin permalink
    April 1, 2010 3:11 am

    I need to crack down on my goals too, Tania. I feel like I’m always behind and I just want to snap out of this funk I’ve been in and become one of those people who gets things done. That’ll be the day!!!! 🙂 Good luck with your goals!

  3. April 1, 2010 6:37 pm

    It seems like these are all projects that are supposed to be fun, but they’ve become a source of stress or guilt for you. I think you’re on the right track with reshaping them a bit to find what works for you. Do what makes you happy. 😀

  4. Jill permalink
    April 2, 2010 8:55 pm

    I was just wondering about the 365 project last week! I really liked that project and wished I could have done it myself…I already knew I couldn’t keep up! You are the busiest Mom I know!

Leave a Reply

