Skip to content

New Art Journal pages

February 19, 2010

In January I started the art journal caravan at Scrapbookgraphics, it’s been a great creative boost for me! I bought paint and actually painted for the first time in a long, long, time. My first pages were mostly hybrid, using printed out digital products and put together like a traditional scrapbook page with an art journaling twist.

These latest two pages are mostly (and the last one) all paint and traditional products.

Here’s my take on Color. Color to me is just pure beauty. This is my color fairy, inspired by a lot of different artists I’ve been finding lately, mostly Elsie Flannigan. I have the hardest time drawing hair, and I love Elsie’s hair in her cute girl paintings. Hopefully, with lots of practice, I can find a style of my own again, but I felt it was pretty darn good for a painting since I haven’t done anything like this since 96 or 97!

The only digital products were a paper by Emily Powers from an old kit inbeTWEEN (probably my favorite paper ever) that I printed out and cut into wing shapes using wings from Amanda Resende’s kit Wings of Imagination.

Week 5 we were prompted to do something “simply me” or make a page on the verb simple. I thought hey, I could do that! 25 layers of paint later I was reminded how hard it is to create texture and depth while painting. There’s no digital products used here at all. The flowers are from Mulberry Press and come ready for altering and adhered with a brad.

I hope to share lots more of my painting as I get used to brushes and paint again.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Robin permalink
    February 19, 2010 3:31 am

    Tania, you know I love your designs and scrapping but I had no idea you were such a fabulous painter too! I am in awe of your creations!!!!

  2. February 19, 2010 3:35 am

    Gorgeous work my friend! I adore these! Especially the girlie with wings!! 😀

  3. April permalink
    February 19, 2010 6:16 am

    These are gorgeous Tania!

  4. February 19, 2010 3:25 pm

    They look great, T! Love your girl, and her hair 🙂

  5. February 19, 2010 7:43 pm

    You are awesome! What crafty thing can you NOT do? I’m totally loving your latest works. They are so you, yet a new side of you (to me) that I like seeing. 🙂 Keep up the amazing work, my friend!

  6. February 19, 2010 7:44 pm

    By the way – I love your new header, too! Well, it might not be new, but this is the first time I’m seeing it. 🙂 You rock!

  7. February 24, 2010 5:01 am

    These are so cool, Tania! I took art classes all through school, and could never get into painting. I wish we’d had some inspiration like these… it would have been a very different story. 😀

  8. February 25, 2010 7:56 am

    That’s a really lovely painting!I like your girl very much and by the way, I think you have made her in your own style, it doesn’t look like Elsie’s at all. I’m trying to find my own style too in painting, but I haven’t give it a serious try yet.

Leave a Reply

