Skip to content

Art Journal Caravan

February 5, 2010

So far I’ve completed 5 pages for my art journal. It’s been a lot of fun to explore a messy side of me. I’m a very linear and organized digital scrapper. My hybrid projects are pretty clean edged. This art journal process is a whole new experience and so far I’m loving it. My desk is cleaned of all it’s clutter and now holds my current projects. I doodle something just about every day, and I’m even painting. I haven’t painted since 1996!

Here’s what I’ve done so far.


I was inspired to do a Calendar for each month and journal on it, and also to organize my book my months, this is January’s divider page. Technique. Digital Paper and Alphas arranged in Photoshop, then printed out. Tree branch and quote printed out separately, then cut out and pasted onto background. Credits include Patterned Paper by Emily Powers from Kabloom, Tree branch shape by Emily Powers from Falling for Fall, Salvaged Spellers Back in Black by Rachel Young from Scrapartist.

“Act” is my ‘One Little Word’ for ’10.

Technique. The backgrounds and following elemets were layed out in Photoshop. Printed on Epson Presentation Matte Paper and then the doodling and journaling was written over – with the exception of doodled face. I doodled the 2010 face with New Years Crown on NYE. I didn’t like the body, so I took a pic of her, and then removed the doodle parts I didn’t like in photoshop and added her to my page.

Here’s the rest of my credits: Black Fog Alphabet by Rachel Young ; Green and Purple papers from Freestyle Solids by Rachel Young; Messy Machine Alpha by Rachel Young (used in numbers); Beaded Outline Alpha in Dk Purple by Rachel Young; Beautiful Basic Alpha (black cut) by Rachel Young; Pink Starburst paper, fastener, painted scallop border, and butterfly wings from Beautiful Mess by Pixelworks; Doll body (removed head and used my own doodle) from Friday by Christine Honsinger; Black Notebook Paper, & Striped Paper from Colorful Sunset by Amanda Rockwell; Buttons from Memory Makers | Paper from Epson | Various Pens – including Sharpies and Univision Waterproof/Fadeproof Fines.

So, if you give a fairy freak the word “believe” to journal about , this is what you get.

Technique: Layout printed on Epson Presentation Paper and Journaling and some elements added in pen and oil pastels. Journaling in Pen “Uniball Singo” and some definition on background added with Oil Pastels.
Other Credits: Background Paper from Freestyle Solids by Rachel Young; Alpha, Flower, Fairy, and Bird from Rachel Young and Jacque Larsen’s Fairy Garden collab.

Journal prompt for week 2 was Acceptance.
Technique. Digital Paper, Alphas, ruler and branch arranged in Photoshop, then printed out. Heart was cut out of a piece of digital paper that I printed out then doodled onto. Used sharpie, colored pencil, and some oil pastels to add texture to the background. Journaling done in X-Fine Sharpie. Words Accept and Grow were stamped with Memory Makers alphabet stamps & black ink.
Credits:
Background from A Beautiful Mess by Pixelworks at Scrapartist.; Alpha by Kate Hadfield (I can’t remember the name of the Alpha and not available in her store any longer, sorry.); Painted leaves and stem, ruler stamp, mail stamp from A Beautiful Mess by Pixelworks at Scrapartist.; Messy Machine Stitches by Emily and Angela Powers; Diamond paper (used in heart) by Tiff Brady from Bird Seed

Our journal prompt for Week 3 was mend.

Technique: Background and dandelion paper were printed out separately, dandelion paper was crumpled, distressed with red ink and cut into strips and then glued to background. Background was glued onto painted canvas paper. Alpha was placed on a digital paper, printed & cut out. That is a digital cardboard heart with stitched ribbon, printed out. Photos were used to make the silhouettes and then filled in with colored pencil, love how the background still show through a little bit. I used sharpies for the journaling. I think I really need to work on my handwriting, ssssllllloooowwww down, LOL. Ugg, it’s so ugly.
Other credits: Background with hearts – Emily Power from an old kit Tutti Fruitti; Yellow paper – Emily Powers from an old kit Tutti Fruitti; Cloud and dandelion paper – Emily Powers from an old kit Dandelionwine; Slop Alpha – Tiff Brady (no longer available); Cardboard Bits Broken Hearts by Kim Jensen from ScrapDish.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2010 3:36 pm

    These are amazing, T! I love the way you’ve integrated the digital with the “real” stuff. I could look at these for hours. 😀

    And your handwriting is not ugly! 😀

  2. jtlulumom permalink*
    February 6, 2010 5:17 pm

    Thanks Kim!

Trackbacks

  1. Revisiting my One Little Word « Pixels N Glue

Leave a Reply

