Skip to content

Reading

September 11, 2009

Oh wow, it’s been about a month and a half since I’ve been here, that’s probably a record for me. SO sorry!

OK, let’s see, last time I was here I was complaining about a bored six year old who never stops saying “Mom”…well that six year old is doing so much better. School started August 19th and he’s been loving it.

I knew around January last year that we absolutely had to get him into another school. He made lots of friends in Kindergarten and it was in general a good experience, his teacher adored him and she was so warm and sweet. But he would come home saying things like “I can’t read!” “I’m not smart enough” “No one likes school” “This is too hard”. It broke my heart into a million pieces each time. We’ve always encouraged learning and reading at home. It’s not like we’re the type of family who never cracked open a book. The only present that Santa brings on Christmas morning is a new classic children’s literature novel for goodness sake. We’ve read everything from $3 small paperbacks we pick up at the grocery store to full fledged novels like The Jungle Book, Peter Pan, and now the Harry Potter series-EVERY NIGHT since he was about 1 year old. So to hear him be so negative about school, reading, and learning, it was really hard. He had about 5 hours of homework a week, in Kindergarten! We’d struggle and fight and it was not fun. And the school was ranked at less than 50% the national average. I was afraid that the atmosphere there was depleting his natural desire to learn and succeed.

So we moved to make sure JT was in a better school and in a community that really values education. It’s been a financial burden, to say the least. Yet, I haven’t regretted a moment of that move, as hard as it’s been, and JT has gone through the most amazing transformation. Last night, my kid read a book to me. From beginning to end. I helped with hard words, but he got all the small ones and sounded out quite a few he didn’t know. It took almost an hour but he read about 20 pages, with 10-15 words on each page. He kept saying “I can read!” over and over. I wanted to cry in joy and pride. Then this morning, while he was getting ready for school, he took the book into the bathroom, and was reading while he was supposed to be brushing his teeth. I could hear him sounding out the words just like last night, except this time to himself, clearly ecstatic that he can do it. Then he said he couldn’t wait to get to school and tell his friends he read a book, with lots of words and lots of pages. Last year he wouldn’t have wanted to tell his friends that. We made the right decision. It’s all good.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. robin permalink
    September 12, 2009 12:16 am

    Oh I want to cry too! I’m so proud of JT!!!!

  2. September 12, 2009 12:46 am

    Me, too! The tears were starting to spill over. JT is so lucky to have such an amazing mom!!

  3. September 13, 2009 2:35 am

    Oh, wow, Tania, that’s just awesome!!! I’m so happy to hear that he’s come around in such a big way! 😀

  4. September 14, 2009 2:33 am

    What a neat mommy moment! WTG JT!
    I’m still waiting for the day Brenna will enjoy reading and want to do it. She is actually doing quite well, but when asked she will say she doesn’t like to read. I think it just doesn’t come easily to her yet and that is what it will take for her. It will come eventually.

  5. robin forman permalink
    September 14, 2009 2:03 pm

    Tania, what a gift you have given him- any financial hardship is worth knowing you did the right thing. Congrats to your reader!

  6. Jill permalink
    September 15, 2009 11:30 pm

    What a wonderful thing to hear your son say!! I am so proud of JT! And I am so glad you guys made the move. I knew it would do wonders for you all. GO JT!

  7. September 18, 2009 12:17 am

    Awww, that’s so awesome to hear about JT getting off to such a great start this school year, and as you said… I’m sure any sacrifices you had to make to get him there are totally worth it!!! We are big readers (and PROUD of it!!!) here, too.

Leave a Reply

