Skip to content

Being mom, and other stuff

July 30, 2009

I’ve gotten to the point, with a six year old in the house, that the word “Mom” sets off whatever nerves haven’t already been frayed for the day. He says it almost constantly, and it’s almost always followed with one of two phrases: “can I have…(insert whatever he’s already been told he can’t have here)” or “Tallulah is…(insert whatever two year old habit annoys six year old here)”.

I know, however, that my time with him is short, and that was never so evident as when I found this photo on my computer yesterday, it was taken in Jan of 2008, so it’s only been a year and a half. He is so different than he was then.

Last night I went to cover him up and turn off his light after he fell asleep, surrounded by his picture books, reading himself to sleep. His “Tiger” held tightly in his arms like a toddler with a grown up kid face. Hands and feet like a puppy, the kind of puppy that grows really big, so that they are disproportionate to the little man laying there sleeping.

He starts 1st grade in two weeks, and I’m rather amazed by that. My little man, who drives me bonkers, and fills me with a love I’ve never known, all in the same moment of uttering that word-“Mom”.

***
I’ve been busy scrapbooking of course!

First up, I’m one of Jessie’s Girls, in the Battle of the Creative Teams at digiscrapaddicts.com. It’s been a fun contest so far, coordinating with other CT members on the layouts. Here’s my first two week’s of entries, everything in these layouts, I mean everything except the photos and fonts, are by Jessica Bolton.

I don’t think she’s made an announcement, but since I’ve done two layouts already, I might point out I have a new rockin’ awesome blinkie there to your left. I’m now creating pages for Rachel Young at Scrapartist! She’s another of my favorite scrappers and I’m honored she’s letting me create pages with her wonderful products! Here’s my first two layouts:

I have two new layouts for Shawna’s team since I was here last:

So I don’t think we have to be too concerned about me keeping up with my scrapbooks now that I’m designing, I think I’m working a good balance. I could probably do a bit better getting new product up, but it turns out, I’m pretty slow at designing.


Speaking of designing, I have two new products up for the end of July.


A full kit, inspired and created for, my friend Amy.

and I put up some pieces of my favorite of the So You Think You Can Design competition kits, Hold Your Hand (which I used in that first layout up above).

and this just about made my day, my first advertising banner 🙂 I still haven’t closed that tab, haha, just lettin’ it blink.

ad on MSA

–soooooooo….–
I’ll be back soon…in the mean time, keep up with me on FACEBOOK, I post there almost everyday, and starting soon, I’ll be sending out coupons for my store to my Facebook Friends once a week – (shh!, Wednesdays). Don’t miss them! (link on sidebar)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2009 1:01 am

    Aw, what you wrote about JT was so sweet! The growing up part, I mean! 🙂 LOL about the “Mom…” stuff though. I can SO relate.

    Fabulous layouts! And congrats on the new CT gig!!

  2. August 3, 2009 12:27 am

    great layouts and I am seriously still in love with the Amy kit. I just got through a whole weekend (actually 4 days) of Mom can I have… but from both my kids! can’t believe first grade is coming up either.

  3. robin forman permalink
    August 3, 2009 9:27 pm

    I think all of us “moms” can relate to the occasional irritation with the word- powerful connotations, that mama word, but still grates on the last nerve when used improperly! LOL!

Leave a Reply

