Skip to content

The Knitting Bug (and other stuff)

November 18, 2008

I have a new crafty obsession. I have discovered the joys of knitting. My friend Rebecca has been knitting for a couple of months and the stuff she makes is just so darn adorable. Then Jill started crocheting too, and well, I had to join in!

I think it took me all of a week to become completely obsessed! What I wouldn’t give right now to have an unlimited amount of money to spend on handspun yarns like these at Esty. Or even learn to dye and spin my own yarns, oh my oh my, wouldn’t that be fun!

So yes, dear family members, you can expect your own handmade goodies this Christmas!

In other news, the kids have been battling a pretty nasty cold, JT got sick the weekend before last, Joel had it most of last week, and now Lulu is pretty miserable with a slight fever, cough and a yucky nose. So far, so good, for me, and taking Airborne to keep it that way.

JT has decided to stop taking Aikido for right now. I’m hoping we can find a martial art later on that he might enjoy better, but he was looking at it like a chore and not really understanding all the lessons, so I think it’s probably better to wait until he matures a bit more.

So we decided something fast paced would be better for him. Basketball started last week and he loves it so far. The coach keeps the kids involved for the whole hour, there’s no downtime except for water breaks, and he leaves sweaty and tired, which is awesome for a 6 year old! He’s doing okay with dribbling, but we’ve discovered that he is not a very good Simon Says player. He’s one of those kids that is so eager to please that he does what someone tells him and never listens to the Simon Says part, LOL. Should I really have a problem with that? LOL (Okay Dad, before I get a lecture, I know it’s important that he follow directions!) So I’m looking forward to the nice weather this week and playing some basketball with him and working on his dribbling, shooting and a little Simon Says.

I should get back to work, so I’m going to jet but I thought you might enjoy this gem of a photo of the kidlets. That is a hat Rebecca made, cute huh, can’t wait to show you my knitting projects.

my kids

my kids

Oh and feel free to check my photobucket for the latest and greatest in scrapbooking creations, there’s probably about 5 to 10 new layouts that you haven’t seen yet. (I’m still waiting for Photobucket to support WordPress slideshows, I’ll be a happy camper when that happens :))

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2008 6:26 pm

    Oh wow! SO many new layouts! I really love the Growing Love one. Your kiddies are so cute!

    Can’t wait to see your knitting creations! After the holiday rush is over, I’ll be knitting away with you both ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. robin permalink
    November 19, 2008 2:01 am

    I can’t wait to see what you’ve made! That hat is so cute! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Jess permalink
    November 20, 2008 12:42 pm

    Aw man, I’m jealous! I have always wanted to learn how to knit, sew, or be generally crafty with something other than paper. ๐Ÿ˜› Looking forward to seeing the things you’ve made when you’re ready to share.

Leave a Reply

