Skip to content

Bye bye camera

July 22, 2008

We’ve been having lots of fun adventures around here. Last weekend seems especially full. JT returned from a family reunion trip with his grandparents last Wed evening and had fun at PreK Thurs. and Friday mornings. We didn’t do much Friday evening. On Saturday morning my sis took me to see The Dark Knight. Good lord, that was probably the best movie I’ve seen since Fight Club. Awesome script, unbelievable acting, suburb directing, and hot guys! Yeah, I’d say it was pretty awesome. I stayed during the credits so I could say my silent goodbye to Heath Ledger, who’s performance was legendary. I remember the first time I saw him in a film, The Patriot, he stole that movie out from under Mel Gibson and I couldn’t concentrate on the story because he just was too adorable. He’s always stolen the show in movies in my opinion, so sad and tragic that he left us so soon. Anyway, if you had doubts about The Dark Knight, see it! You must! I’m going again this weekend with my hubby πŸ™‚
On Sunday I took the kids to the Oakland Zoo, one of our {stay}cation trips for this summer. We didn’t go on Friday because we were waiting for some montey to come in and Saturday I had plans with Sis. Sunday worked out perfectly. We had lots and lots of fun!! I unfortunately don’t have any photos to show you yet, because at the end of the day, my camera was dropped by JT on it’s lens and the zoom lens is destroyed. The camera won’t turn on, it won’t upload the photos to the computer, it’s ruined. Rebecca took my memory stick and used her camera and computer to burn a CD for me, but I haven’t had a chance to go through them.
Of course this leaves me with the digital camera that my Dad gave me 6 years ago. The one that takes 11 pictures (I guess I could go get a bigger memory card for it) and shoots at 2MP if you can believe it. While it will catch some important moments, it’s going to be hard going back to that. We think the camera might be under warranty with Best Buy but Joel will have to take it in and he probably won’t get to that until the weekend. We also have the film Rebel which took any good shots you have seen in my photos and layouts, but it’s been really nice to not have to develop film for the last 7 months! If the camera isn’t covered under warranty I’m faced with a decision, get another point and shoot or get a dSLR. I briefly considered getting a P&S with great zoom (this is a must have feature for me, my T-Ball photos were so disappointing) but the ones with great zoom are almost as much as the lower end dSLRs. I think if I can find a Rebel XT (the one with 8MP) it would be affordable and well within the specifications that I need since I’m by no means a photog. Thanks to Michelle for the great advice and I now know that the two lenses we have for the film Rebel will be compatible with the digital too. So it’s almost a no brainer, it’s just the financial commitment that we have to decide on, and figuring out how we can afford it. Until then, you might not see too many new pics. See how I went from warranty to new expensive camera? I need retail therapy.
I’ve been on a scrapping frenzy lately, with lots of new layouts to show. Clicking layouts will take you to up-close views. If you wanted to see more you could always click my link in my navigation bar and leave a comment or two also.

That’s about it really, we’ve all recovered from the flu, Joel got some MUCH needed sleep on Sunday and has an interview with the County Sheriff’s Dept. on Thursday! Everyone think good thoughts for him.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. robin permalink
    July 22, 2008 4:58 pm

    Oh no about the camera! I hope you can get it replaced or fixed even. Hope Joeld does well!

  2. CathyRose permalink
    July 24, 2008 8:06 pm

    Oh, bummer about the camera. I hope you can find a reasonable replacement. Once you go digital, I don’t think you can go back.
    Your layouts are really too fabulous, you are on a roll, girl!

  3. Kim Jensen permalink
    July 26, 2008 10:55 am

    Oh, that’s a bummer about the camera!! I hope the warranty will cover it! Hope Joel’s interview went well!! Off to check out layouts! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

