Skip to content

Staycation – Summer of 2008

July 7, 2008

As I briefly mentioned in the post below, our family will be having a Staycation this summer. The Urban Dictionary defines Staycation as “1. A vacation that is spent at one’s home enjoying all that home and one’s home environs have to offer” & “2. A vacation spent close to home”. A quick google search results in 100’s of listings on such sites as MSNBC, Newsweek, and others, saying that Staycations are the IN thing in 2008 since gas and food costs are soaring and American’s are cutting costs.

This idea started for me when Rebecca mentioned that she was going to take Friday’s off for the summer. I thought, I have got to do that too! Well, I only have 4 vacation days left (new job and everything) so I’ll be taking Fridays off in July and then we’ll continue our staycation on Saturdays and Sundays in August until JT starts school.

Then, in a perfect storm of coincidences, my new favorite digi-store, {we are} storytellers announced that it was having it’s first blogshop (free workshop on a blog). The theme would be none-other than “staycation”! Yipeee!!

For week one of the blogshop we needed to do some planning for how we are going to document this vacation close to home. I decided to do a 12×12 album, mostly because I’ve never in my life finished one, and also because Melinda always documents her vacations in the most splendidly perfect ways! Taking inspiration from her (also also getting good use out of her multi-photo templates), I want this book to focus on the photos and journaling. The embellishments will only add to the journal, not distract.

I plan on using Shutterfly to print the pages in a bound album when I’m done. Mostly because I’ve never done that either, I’m always late to the game 🙂

So without further ado, here’s my cover to the album
Staycation cover

The journaling reads: We are planning a staycation this year. Dad and I are busy with work and gas is so expensive these days. So here’s the deal, I’m taking Fridays off for the entire month of July, and we’re going to spend those days doing something really fun. We’ll finish with an unforgettable day at 6 Flags, our first time! Then in August, I promise to spend as much time on Sat. and Sun. enjoying the last two weeks before JT starts Kindergarten!

Our plans include, Family Fun Night and Movie in the Park at Howarth Park, a trip to the Exploratorium, spending time with Mady, Noah, and Rebecca, Taking the Ferry to Pier 39, and of course as I mentioned on the cover page, going to 6 Flags Discovery Kingdom. One of my favorite memories of summer as a kid was our yearly trip to Elitch Gardens in Denver (which became 6 Flags Elitch Gardens and is now just Elitch Gardens again). What I love about 6 Flags Discovery Kingdom in Vallejo is it’s not only a thrill-ride park, but there are plenty of animals too for me and Lulu to enjoy while JT can have fun being an older kid! (Plans are flexible, so please don’t hold me to these adventures, I do have an 11 month old to consider!)

My only regret about this little staycation is that Joel will not be able to join us on most of these adventures because of his work schedule. I know he’ll enjoy the extra sleep he’ll be getting, but for us it’s a huge disappointment that he won’t be able to tag along (or lead the way actually). Whenever we leave on the weekends for a fun little outing, Joel always says, take some pictures for me. So he’ll not only have pictures, he’ll get an album to enjoy too.

My lunch break is over, so I better get busy. I have to fly to San Diego tomorrow for a 9:30 meeting, which means I’ll be leaving the North Bay by 4 am to catch my 6 am flight in Oakland. That is going to make one very LONG day. Ick!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2008 3:28 pm

    Sounds like a great plan to me! 🙂 Now if only I had my vacation 2006 photos done, since we are leaving for vacation 2008 in 6 days! I’m only about half-way done with them- which is really sad LOL Oh well, at least I won’t ever run out of things to scrap 😉

  2. Rebecca permalink
    July 8, 2008 12:18 pm

    Wow – what a great plan! Can’t wait to spend some time with you guys – sounds like your Fridays are filling up quick – I wish I was a planner.

  3. Jill permalink
    July 8, 2008 3:10 pm

    Did I mention how excited (AND JEALOUS) I am about you and Rebecca taking Friday’s off to do fun things with the kids?!? Staycation is such a great idea. I can’t wait for Shane to get a little older (eeek, did I just say that?!?) so he can appreciate those types of outings. FUN FUN FUN! Maybe we can meet up at Howarth Park since that is right by us now…

    Jill

  4. robin permalink
    July 9, 2008 4:44 pm

    Sounds like you have so much fun planned! Love the idea of a staycation album! 🙂 And I’m sure Joel will be able to enjoy all your pages since he won’t be able to hang out as much. Isn’t that such a great thing about scrapping!

Leave a Reply

