Skip to content

My Eyes

May 13, 2008

I wear glasses, I’ve worn glasses since I was 4 years old. I’ll never in my life forget the taunts and assumptions that people made about me because of my glasses. Every time I go to the optometrist I ask about contacts and every time I’m reminded that I have severe astigmatism and that I will never have clear vision with contacts and I end up keeping my glasses. I guess I’m finally used to them after all these years.

So it’s funny that it never occurred to me that my perfect children might inherit my not-so-perfect eyes.

JT had his kindergarten entrance exam today. He didn’t do well on the eye test at all. 20/50 and 20/40 actually (but that is about what I can see with my glasses :()

I can’t believe I’ve missed this, I can’t believe I didn’t expect it, I can’t believe my perfect little boy will have to hear those taunts. Part of my brain says that kids today are much more tolerant, but really, are they? Will he start kindergarten and be known for his personality and wit and athleticism, because that’s how I see him? Or will he be known as the kid with the glasses?

I’ll make an appointment with an optometrist tomorrow and hopefully we’ll find out some more, maybe I’m over reacting?

Good news is…hearing is perfect, and he was a brave little boy who did fantastic getting 4 boosters and that terrible TB test. JT’s my hero!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2008 5:18 pm

    Two of my kids wear glasses now, and they have never mentioned being teased about it. I hope that is true for JT too. I’m sure he will be fine. I think it is just in our nature to worry excessively over these sorts of things as moms. I bet he will think he is cool!

  2. robin permalink
    May 14, 2008 5:37 pm

    I bet kids are a lot different now! I had to start wearing mine when I was in third grade – so I went through a lot of teasing. But I bet he will look super cute with them! 🙂

  3. May 14, 2008 8:34 pm

    Awww JT! I agree with Robin. I think he is gonna look super cute in them. They have all sorts of cool glasses for kids so hopefully it’ll be a positive experience for him and not something he ends up being made fun of about. Jared had to start wearing his in fourth grade, and yeah, some of his classmates teased him a bit. I think younger kids are actually a lot nicer!!!

  4. Rebecca permalink
    May 15, 2008 9:55 am

    Are you sure he will need glasses right away? Sometimes their vision isn’t fully developed at this age, at least that is what they said at Mady’s vision test, although she was a little younger. Even if he does need glasses, I am sure you can find something that looks really cool (not cute of course).

    You know I have the same worries for Mady and the looming idea of her future shoe lift. All we can do is give them our love, build their self confidence at every opportunity, and hope that confidence gets them through these types of things.

  5. Jill permalink
    May 15, 2008 10:19 am

    I agree. So many people wear glasses now and they have so many COOL designs these days. Kids will always tease other kids about something, but I think JT will look super cool in his new glasses. Hopefully the more people that tell him that they less self conscious he will be : )

Leave a Reply

