Skip to content

This political junkie…

February 8, 2008

Many of you may not know that I’m a political junkie, I spend hours a day reading political blogs and watching CNN and listening to NPR.Having a viable woman candidate and a viable minority candidate running for president is so exciting, and I decided awhile ago that I am supporting Mr. Obama.But, I’ve been having a hard time really putting into words the conflict I had over the decision. I just read this on Salon.com this morning, and I couldn’t have said it better myself. The following is quoted from the article by Kate Mitchelman:

“…saying that those women who don’t vote for other women are turncoats — is tantamount to saying that women who exercise independent thought haven’t the right to do that either. Could there be a more anti-feminist contention?
When a presidential candidate’s core values are unity, equality, opportunity and creating an atmosphere of respect and harmony, both nationally and internationally, then that candidate’s vision aligns with the best hopes and dreams of the women’s movement. And that is precisely Barack Obama’s vision.For me, the choice between supporting Barack or Hillary was the choice between supporting someone who I know would be very good, Hillary Clinton, or supporting someone who I know could be truly great. And right now, on those causes that define me and millions of other women, we shouldn’t settle — and I won’t settle — for anything less than ‘great.’ “

If you haven’t seen Will.I.Am’s music video set to Barak’s victory speech from South Carolina, I suggest you check it out, it gives me chills.

People speak of supporting a candidate that they believe will get the work done, but lets be honest, the leader of the free world should inspire people, should give people hope, the work isn’t done by that one person alone, that’s what the cabinet and advisors are for. I truly believe the person that can inspire and lead the best is Barak Obama. And I’m confident he will surround himself with people who know how to get the job done.

Not sure what inspired me to share my political ideas with everyone today, and thanks for sticking with me if you read this far, so now back to our regularly scheduled programming…scrapbooking…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jennV permalink
    February 8, 2008 1:42 pm

    oh…me too. During election time I’m like the 24 hour news channel!!! I drive DH crazy with my soundbytes….good thing I can talk about this with my mom, who is only more informed cause she doesn’t have us kids at home anymore!!!

    Go O!!

  2. robin permalink
    February 8, 2008 6:22 pm

    Even though I voted for Hillary, I’m still really excited about both candidates. It was tough to make a choice! šŸ™‚

  3. February 9, 2008 4:08 pm

    I’ll admit, I haven’t been following anything lately – I’m kind of politicked out – but I do have to say that was a damn fine speech and a great video by Will.i.am. chills is right!

Leave a Reply

