Skip to content

31 and counting

October 6, 2007

So last year I had lots of deep thoughts to share with you on my birthday, tonight I’ll reminice a little.

It was 10 years ago as I type this (I almost said as we speak, LOL) that I was at my 21st birthday dinner having margaritas with a few of my favorite people. One of those people was a good friend named John, and coincidentally, John and I share a birthday. We had a lot of mutual friends; Jen, Ryan, Jeremiah, to name a few. We all went out to dinner at a restaraunt called Santa Fe Grill where Jen was a waitress. I invited my Mom out to dinner with us too. She sat next to a friend of John’s that I had only met once, and our first impression of each other wasn’t too great. I thought he was arrogant and he thought my skirt was too short. That night, my 21st birthday, was the second or third time we had met. He was in the Navy with John and I didn’t know a whole lot about him. I was way across the table, but I noticed that he and Mom seemed to have had some pretty good conversation. At the end of dinner we had plans to meet at Jen’s and continue our celebrations, my Mom gave me a hug and told me I should get to know that guy a bit more. So I did. He’s putting my son to sleep right this moment. That was my favorite birthday ever, and I can’t believe we have been together 10 years. 10 years, 2 kids, and more grey hair, but today he told me that I don’t look a day older than I did then, and that made me smile. Love that man! It was a good birthday, again.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2007 10:13 pm

    heehee- moms know best! my mom likes to tell people she knew Mark and I would get married after the first time he came over for dinner at our house- we had gone out a couple of times during the previous month at that point.
    So glad you had a wonderful birthday today!

  2. October 7, 2007 7:03 am

    So sorry I’m late with the birthday wishes. Yesterday was crazy, and I kept thinking about ya all day, but crashed as soon as we got home.

    ((((super big birthday hugs)))) even though they’re late! I hope you had a great day! love ya girl!

  3. October 7, 2007 7:29 am

    Happy Birthday, dear Tania!
    That’s a great “meeting” story and how totally sweet he is with his words! 🙂

  4. October 7, 2007 1:47 pm

    Happy birthday, Tania!! Your story is so sweet. I’m glad you had a good birthday! 🙂

  5. robin permalink
    October 8, 2007 2:43 pm

    What a sweet, sweet story! 🙂 Hugs to you and I hope you had a fabulous birthday chica! Love you tons!!!!!

Leave a Reply

