Skip to content

The Wind…and False Labor

June 5, 2007

Well, here I am, for those of you wondering if I ever meant to come back here and actually talk rather than just post layouts. Sometimes, there is so much to talk about, you never know where to start, and you just don’t. That’s kinda where I’m at, and I don’t like it, so I’m going to change that.

It is SO windy today. I wonder what’s blowing in? The weather is just wonky for late spring, early summer. I don’t like it one bit, and the wind is always just very unsettling for me.

So Sunday night I could not sleep, and all day yesterday I was exahusted. I think the combination of that and all the stress that we’ve been under, well it wasn’t good. I spent an hour dealing with some very painful contractions last night. I was *this* close to calling Labor and Delivery, but figured I’d call my Mom to come over and be with JT first. She arrives with some beer, gives me a small glass, like a breakfast juice sized glass, probably 6 oz or so, and what do you know, all contractions gone. No need for the hospital. Now I know I’m American, and well, we’re NOT supposed to have beer while pregnant, so no one call Social Services on me, k! But it sure did relax me enough that the contractions stopped AND I was able to sleep last night, which hasn’t been happening very often lately. 30 weeks is just WAY to early for Talula to be here.

Yep you read that right, Talula Jane is going to be this little one’s name, unless she comes out red-headed and full of spit-fire and then I’ll just say to heck with Joel’s name that he picked, and I’ll call her Tori whether he likes it or not, LOL! I got Tori Amos’s new album and I love it, can’t stop listening to it, she’s got her feathers ruffled a bit in this one, VERY different than the last two albums. Very cool! Oh yeah, back to Talula, LOL. So she is very spoiled already, with tons of clothing from friends (thanks! you know who you are!), a few peices that I’ve picked up here and there (see a few posts below), and then there’s my Mom, who is the world’s *best* shopper and well, I told her she has to keep it all at her house until I actually set up some space to keep all these girly clothes.

Which brings me to my next big topic of the day. We are moving, yep the first week of July. Since I STILL don’t know if I have a job, or paid maternity leave after June 30th, and I don’t qualify for disability, we thought it best to be safe. I won’t qualify for disability because I work for the State, and they haven’t been paying into disability insurance because they are supposed to pay it in case we become disabled, that is if they don’t lay you off! Anyway, we are moving into an apartment that is attached to a house that Joel’s friend just bought. We’ll be paying half the rent we are right now. There is less space in the apt. than in our current place, but there is a HUGE yard, and that is getting more and more important with JT’s age. He always wants to be outside and with Talula, there are times when I won’t be able to be out there with him, so a yard will be perfect. The thought of downsizing, cleaning out junk we don’t use or want anymore, is also very refreshing. There are things I still haven’t upacked, 2 years after we moved in here, that are going away, forever. And we’ll be able to use our fridge, which has been in storage for 2 years, and I *heart* that fridge! There is no dishwasher, but that’s okay, been there and done that. We’ll be sharing the washer and dryer, so that will be a change, I was going to do cloth diapers, but I think I might not, unless we do diaper service, I’m still looking into that.

My biggest concern about this place is where I’m going to put my desk. I can’t put it in my room where Talula’s changing table/dresser and hammock will be going, just not enough room. It won’t fit in the living room either, in fact nothing but the couch, chair, and TV is fitting in that living room. There is a little space by the front door that is elevated from the kitchen that could hold the desk, but the chair to sit at the desk is another story. And see, I have to have this desk, because if I haven’t told you already, I’m taking some online classes from our Junior College.

I’ve decided to go for a certificate in Web Design so that I’ll be a little more qualified when I start applying for jobs again after Talula gets here. It’s something I’m not too bad at already, and I enjoy, and could possibly let me work from home. And fun so far! I’m sure I’ll be showing off some of my work as I get farther along, and maybe The Scrap Space will go through some changes as I move along too. I’d still love to start promoting this place and adding some features, like private galleries, and some other stuff, to get more bloggers in here.

(okay, taking a break to clean the kitchen, brb…

K, Joel is going to finish up dinner so I can finish here, isn’t he a doll?!)

So where was I? Bob Dylan is playing on the radio and distracting me…oh yeah, busy, LOL! So quite possibly losing my job and maternity leave, big changes with Talula coming, moving, and there’s more!

Joel has applied to a police department that is looking for recruits. The township is Fort Bragg, CA and it’s about 2.5 hours North of here. It’s a cute Pacific Coast community surrounded by gorgeous California Redwood forests, heaven on earth as far as I’m concerned. Can anyone say more beach photos, LOL! If accepted they would pay for Joel to attend the Police Academy. Joel’s been wanting to get into law enforcement for a long time, but it’s hard to get hired without completing the academy first, which we haven’t been able to afford and is a big risk since it doesn’t neccessarily mean he’ll have a job when he finishes. This recruit position is perfect. The police academy is here in Sonoma County and is 6 months long, then we’d move up to Fort Bragg. Perfect timing! Wish him luck, k? We could really use some luck! He’s also applied to the Department of Corrections, not as ideal, he’d much rather be out on the street than in the prisons, but sometimes you have to start somewhere. Funny enough, correctional officers get paid more than police officers do, at least starting off. The Department of Corrections could take us anywhere in California, as there are prisons all over, some nice areas and some very remote HOT areas, but we’ve also lived in the desert, and it’s got it’s positives as well.

Mom is trucking along with her cancer treatments. She’s 12 weeks into her (final?) round of chemo and she has treatment tomorrow and then a break for 3 weeks, and then quite possibly her last chemo treatment. She’s been doing fine the last 12 weeks, but I’ve noticed her energy level is dropping and she’s starting to look sick again. Sallow and a little pasty. School ended today and we went to see her choir and band students in their final show of the year. That was adorable, love those K-5th graders singing and playing instruments, so cute! Can’t wait for JT to do that!

Well, I think that’s enough life stuff to gab about. I’ll end by saying that if you’ve been following the QOTC contest, you’ll know I didn’t make it to the finals, but I appreciate your support!! I had a lot of fun making those layouts! Since we have SO much going on, you might not see me making as many layouts as I normally do, but I have a TON of stuff to use for CT work, and those designers, always designing something LOL. Just kidding, you know I love you Jess and Kim, keep ’em coming and I’ll keep scrapping! Off to do some homework. Promise, I’ll catch up with all of your blogs soon!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2007 9:23 pm

    Thanks for the update! don’t apologize for not being able to keep up with everything, we certainly understand. It sounds like you are enjoying your first class, and I hope that the police department recruit thing works out for him! It would be great for him to be able to do something he really wants to! I hope the moving goes smoothly!

  2. June 6, 2007 10:09 am

    “Sometimes, there is so much to talk about, you never know where to start, and you just don’t.”

    oh my gosh that is ALWAYS how i end up feeling!!! 🙂

    thanks for the comment Tania!

  3. robin permalink
    June 6, 2007 5:20 pm

    Wow, chica you have a lot going on! I hope you’re all doing ok after the false labor. And it sounds like the move will be good – even if it’s less space. But saving on rent is a good thing! How exciting for Joel too! I hope he gets accepted!!!! 🙂

  4. June 6, 2007 6:47 pm

    Tania I don’t know how you keep it all together…classes, being pregnant, being a mom, and now moving into a smaller place! Wowza! I’m glad to hear your mom is doing okay too. I didn’t know she was a band teacher…very cool! My degree is in music ed, and you are right, seeing those little kids just starting out on instruments is so fun (except for clarinet players…they are a different story! LOL)

    Hang in there!

  5. June 6, 2007 7:26 pm

    Wow! So much going on! So glad the contractions stopped. You just tell Talula to stay put for a little while longer! I really hope the recruit position works out! And hope all goes well with the move!!! Now I need to get back to work, so you’ll be forced to scrap again. 😉

  6. June 7, 2007 10:47 am

    Oh Tania…false labor SUCKS! I was having regular contractions with Mallory from about 28 weeks and on…in the hospital every single week for stress tests and on bed rest. But it’s so true how everything is so worth it when you have that sweet little baby in your arms!!!

    Did I tell you how cool it is that you are taking classes? I wish I could handle as much as you can! There is no way I could deal with homework! LOL

    Oh and the police officer thing…cops are so sexy! Only the young ones though…not the habitual donut eaters. ROFL Oh and the correctional officer thing…have you ever watched OZ? Scary! LOL

    Now where’s the pic of you and Talula?

  7. June 7, 2007 10:46 pm

    Girl, it was good to catch up! You’ve got so much going on…really don’t know how you do it all. ((((huge hugs)))) and I’m keeping my fingers crossed for Joel getting the job he wants.

    Congrats on the new apartment, too! JT will love having his own yard to play in. 🙂

    love you, babe!

  8. June 12, 2007 7:48 pm

    Wow, Mamacita, you have been insanely busy! Good luck to Joel on the police recruit gig, and I hope your move goes as smoothly as possible. It sounds like a good solution right now, since you are so in-between on everything else. I can’t wait to meet little Talula (well, I can wait 10 more weeks!) so take good care of yourself. A little red wine before bed never hurt anyone. ((((hugs))))

Leave a Reply

