Skip to content

Hits keep on hitting

December 24, 2006

So another Bah Humbug post here. Maybe it’s my mojo, you think if I was a cheerful-holiday-lovin’-might-as-well-be-an-elf type of person, my holiday plans might actually go better? Hmm, I should try that.

I guess you all know by know that the CO was hit with a huge snowstorm last week and maybe you’ve guessed by now, but my flight was cancelled, JT and I never even made it to the airport. I got a call from United on my cell phone at 8pm on Thursday night saying my flight for the next day was cancelled and I was on the phone (on hold) until 1 am trying to secure another flight. Guess when the earliest flight was they could get JT and I on? Yep that’s right, Tuesday, the day after Christmas.

I went to bed at 2 am got up at 8 on Friday and called my Dad, who still couldn’t get to a road from his house anyway (wouldn’t have had anyone to pick us up) and then I proceeded to puke all day Friday. I think my fever peeked at 102 degrees. Joel had left for work before I got sick and my poor kid stayed home all day Friday and destroyed the house, it was awesome. He’d check on me every couple of hours and give me an update on the status of the house. Too funny. Can you imagine if I had tried to go to the airport on Friday and it turned out I was sick? I would have gotten on that bus to the airport and would have just been arriving at the terminal about the same time I first puked. Loverly.

So my Dad called yesterday and on Wednesday night, during the snowstorm, my Great Uncle Tony passed away. As far as I can tell the storm had nothing to do with his passing, he was on hospice care. He was the last living from his generation, all my Grandfather and Grandmother’s siblings have passed away (including my grandparents), and I think my Dad is very sad. I would give anything to be there with Dad right now. Everytime one of his aunts and uncles have died, he’s taken it hard, almost reliving the deaths of my grandparents. And with Uncle Tony, he looked so much like my Grandfather, they were so similar and my Pampo (what I called my grandfather) died the day after Christmas, it’s just a hard time for Dad.
So I’m feeling better today, yesterday I was able to feed and clothe my son, which was definitely an improvement, but today, I had some crackers and 7-Up and I’m actually on the computer and putting coherent sentences together. I have to decide wether to keep the tickets for Tuesday (returning Thursday) or get a refund. If we go, we’ll most likely have to drive down to Pueblo for a funeral. My Dad says we should just not come and take the money and get tickets for this spring. But there’s a chance the funeral will be in New Mexico rather than Pueblo and we wouldn’t make it back in time for our flight Thursday, which means my Dad would miss the funeral too. It’s all just too much for me to decide.

And you want to know what I cried about for two days? We’ve already opened all our presents, there is nothing to open on Christmas day, except for JT’s Santa gift. Santa brings him a book every year for his library and at least we have that.

I’m going to go take a shower, and try to drive somewhere and find a gift for Joel to open, and for JT from my Dad (since all my Dad’s gifts are still in CO).

Seriously, bah humbug. I hope everyone is having a much better Christmas than I am and please, send some vibes that my JT and Joel don’t get this stomach bug on Christmas day!

I promise a more cheerful post next time…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2006 10:26 am

    Oh nooooo Tania!!! What a mess.. both you and CO. I mean that in a nice way 🙂 I think I would wait until Spring to go, nicer weather and everyone will be healthy! I do hope you feel better and Here is some healthy mojo for Joel and JT 🙂
    Merry Christmas Chica! And Hugs!!!

  2. Robin permalink
    December 26, 2006 12:56 pm

    Oh Tania! I’m so sorry you’ve had such a bah humbug Christmas. 😦 I hope you are feeling better and that you enjoyed your Christmas with JT and Joel, even if it didn’t go as planned. I’m so sorry to hear about your uncle too. Big hugs!!!!!!

  3. December 27, 2006 1:59 pm

    Aw hun – that stomach flu stuff really bites. Hope the guys never came down with it, too!

    How was your Christmas morning?

    Sorry to hear about your uncle passing away. Sending prayers and positive thoughts for your family (((hugs)))

  4. December 30, 2006 3:23 pm

    Oh Tania, no wonder you aren’t feeling elfish!! Hope you are feeling better and all over that tummy bug now. sorry about your Uncle.
    I hope your Christmas day went better than you were expecting!
    You sound like me, just hanging out for the new year to begin! (((big hugs!)))

  5. tracy permalink
    December 31, 2006 9:12 am

    oh sweet baby…that sucks in the most major way.

    I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your uncle…hope dad is doing as ok as possible. lots of love on that front.

    did the boys get sick too…man can you imagine being in the airport or worse the air, when that started…yucko!

    this was not the greatest of holidays for so many…hears to 2007, eh?

    big love to you guys!

Leave a Reply

