Skip to content

Today…

November 23, 2006

I know I don’t often talk about my Mom lately, and her cancer and her recovery. It was a very hard, very hard, summer. In August, she spent two weeks on life support, with a feeding tube. She had to have a second surgery to correct damage that radiation was doing to her digestive system. It was the scariest two weeks of my life, without a doubt.

Today, I was thankful to have my Mom over for dinner. She ate a full plate of food, something she hasn’t done since my step-father died of cancer complications in 2001. She had spicy pumpkin and sausage soup, turkey & stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy, green been casserole, bread rolls, and my pumpkin cheesecake for dessert. We always take a moment during dinner to turn off the football and tell each other what we are thankful for, my husband made us all blubber like babies when he said he was thankful my Mom was with us and thankful she was able to eat. Up until that moment, it was like that was the silent 800 pound elephant in the room, we all knew it, but we didn’t want to talk about it, he broke the ice, and that is why I love that man. Regardless of the outcome of another round of testing in January, we are all so thankful to have this wonderful holiday season to share with her.
Well, I love him for that fantastic spicy pumpkin and sausage soup too!!

Happy Thanksgiving!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2006 9:28 pm

    What a wonderful thing to have Tania… Congratulations to you and your family

    {{hugs}}

  2. November 25, 2006 1:20 pm

    I’m so happy you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving together. ((((hugs))) for you sweet lady…

  3. November 25, 2006 9:12 pm

    Oh that is so awesome that you had such a good day Thursday! and a what a sweet guy to know just how get that elephant out in the open. the spicy pumpkin soup sounds wonderful!
    I threw together a squash soup a couple weeks ago that I will have to try again- it was really good! Beth loved it. I’m glad I wrote down what spices I put in it so I can attempt to make it again 🙂

  4. December 9, 2006 5:57 pm

    It sounds like you had an awesome thanksgiving – and I was lol about you loving him for his spicy pumpkin and sausage soup too!!

Leave a Reply

