Skip to content

The infamous “bad blogger” post

November 18, 2006

It’s so funny that we all say that, but when we’re on a roll, and posting all the time, we don’t title our posts “good blogger”. Go figure. Are we all too hard on ourselves sometimes?

What have I been up to? Well tons. I got wrapped up in the elections, making me long for my days as a political science major in college and not exactly regretting that I didn’t get to finish that major (took a minor and graduated with a psychology degree when I got pregnant with JT) but trying to figure out how I can get involved again. Unless I go back to school, the most I could hope for would be to find an activist position somewhere. So thinking about that too.

I’ve been doing alot of altered art projects, presents for friends, and I decided to take another Big Picture class after my first one went so terribly. I’m doing better this time around and might actually have a completed 12×12 paper album done by Christmas, for the first time ever, cool!! When I get some pages done, I’ll try to share them, but I’ve realized that my photography of projects is terrible, thus no pictures of the altered art projects. I’m also doing lots of Christmas cards for friends and co-workers. The designers really made it easy this year with all of the commerical card kits!! So I finally set up my craft space in the apartment, which I never did when we moved in here. I’ve always had a craft space, but with all the digital scrapbooking and computer things I’ve been doing this last year and half, I never got around to it. I have to admit it feels awesome to have that space set back up and organized, paper scrapping supplies easily accessible, tools out and ready to be used. Plus it keeps me off the computer and into other stuff, which is sometimes a good thing. I painted before mostly and only thought about paper scrapping, and I’m loving that paint is so popular in scrapbooking right now, all those supplies are going to get some good use out of them.

Layout time, wanna see?peaceonearth.jpg
Peace on Earth – Kit is Scraps of the Season – Peace by Dani Mogstad who is joining The Digi Shoppe, the Scraps of the Season collection is awesome! Unfortunately, I don’t have many Christmas photos. If it was just Joel and I we probably wouldn’t celebrate Christmas, at least not in the traditional American way of celebrating. We do put up a small tree and drag out some of my ornaments from when I was a child for JT. He gets one present from us and one from Santa Claus, and I let his grandmothers (who both live for Christmas) spoil him with the rest. Joel and I just feel that the holiday is too commercial and would rather not deal with it at all if not for JT, yes I know, just call me the Grinch, don’t worry I can take it, LOL!! So anyway, I thought the colors in this kit would be beautiful with this photo and I let the word art guide my journaling, and love the way it turned out. Basically the journaling talks about finding a place to get away from everything so that you can get closer to nature and be peaceful.

XmasShoot05.jpg

Here’s JT in front of our little tree last Christmas, he wanted a photo shoot and was giving me his best looks. Seriously, this is it for Christmas photos last year, and he was wearing an orange t-shirt, gotta love California!! LOL! This is a scraplift of Guest Dani Girl Melissa Lewis, you can read about Melissa and see some lifts that other Dani’s Girls have done on the Girl Talk Blog. I adored her layout here, she’s an awesome scrapper, check her out, tons of inspiration for pages of little boys, and you know I love those! for this layout I used Dani’s Scraps of the Season – Cheer at The Digi Shoppe.
HayRide.jpg

Jessica has a new kit out, Make Me Eclectic at Studio Jessica, and it is so fantastic!! At first glance, I wasn’t sure about it (as poor Jessica knows, still feeling really bad about that chica), but to be fair she kinda tricked me (love ya lady!), but now that I’ve gotten into it and used it, I’ve seen how versatile it is, I think it’s awesome! I’m also using the Quick Page Album she’s selling with the kit and I should have photos of that to show you this weekend too! If you want a sample stop by her blog. For the layout above I also used the Shabby Square Border by Dani Mogstad, a paper tear by Steph Krush, the Chunky Stamped Alpha by Karen Hunt and the Inking Action by Atomic Cupcake. The journaling is about JT, me and my Mom at the Pumpkin Patch the weekend before Halloween.

I guess my biggest news is that Lunafaerie.com is shutting down as of December 1st. BUT!!! I have opened a new website, called The Scrap Space. I was talking to some folks and was complaining that my site cost too much for what I was using of it (probably a 1/4 of the storage and a fraction of the bandwidth) and wouldn’t it be fun if we could all share a domain name and have our own seperate blogs. Well WordPress makes it so easy! So be sure to check out The Scrap Space and please consider joining us, cheaper than TypePad and better than blogger! So far, no one is up and blogging there yet, but we’re working on it. This is my last post here at lunafaeire, and from now on you’ll be able to read my blogs at Pixels and Glue. I’ll remind you for the rest of this month here that I’ve posted at the new blog, but after that, you’ll have to find me over there 😉 As you can see, I’ve had a ton of fun customizing those blogs! Getting pretty good at it too, LOL!!
Hopefully, I’ll get back into blogging now that I’ve finished some projects and life isn’t so busy! Have a great Saturday!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2006 4:11 pm

    Oh, you need to ask Melinda about photographing product – she’s the queeen! 🙂 The layouts are all wonderful. I’m basically a Grinch too, but dh just loooooooves Christmas, so we do it up pretty well. So glad you found a solution to your domain problem! What a fun idea! 🙂

  2. November 19, 2006 7:59 am

    I always set up whatever it is on my table right by the window for the natural light. And then you have to make a display out of it – add flowers and small props that look nice with it. Then shoot! 🙂 Hope that helps some…
    LOVE the hayride layout!!!!
    You make customizing the wordpress blog look so easy? Is it? Do you have to pay for the customizing option?

  3. November 19, 2006 2:48 pm

    How can you tease me with the thought of altered arts projects but not show me?!!!?? Try Michelle’s tips. Lighting is very important, and using props sound fun.

    Love all the layouts!!! JT is such a cute little ham. LOL!

    Christmas – for us, we put the emphasis on it being a time to be with family and to give them gifts from the heart. I refuse to give something that I did not put thought into choosing or care into the making of it. Santa Claus brings a bit of stuff for the kids, but the best stuff is from us. After years of religious debate between Jason and I, there are no nativity scenes here either. The holiday can be whatever you make of it, you know? I think what we have is really special, and although we’re always worried that the boys might be disappointed when they hear others brag about all the crap they got for x-mas….. I’m proud of them for surprising me every year!

    dang, I wrote a book, huh?

  4. November 19, 2006 2:50 pm

    by the way – I want to see your craft space, too! I have to drastically downsize soon, and I need ideas.

  5. November 20, 2006 8:15 pm

    Love your LOs as usual!!! I can’t wait to see your altered art things.. I’m jealous, I have NO altered art creativity skills!! LOL

    Great new site btw, love the design 🙂

  6. November 20, 2006 10:34 pm

    great new space! something wierd I”m seeing though here is that your sidebar stuff is all the way down at the bottom below the posts. I didn’t see it that way before 😦

    Yep, lighting is important for getting shots of those digicraft/altered things- I try to shoot mine in the afternoon when I’ve got lots of good light in my kitchen coming through the skylights. I usually still end up tweaking the lighting a bit in PSE, but not much. I just use a cheapo piece of white posterboard from the office area at Walmart (not even 50 cents!) as my backdrop usually. and I agree- not cool to mention altered projects and then not show us! I’d love to see your scrap space too 😀

  7. November 20, 2006 10:37 pm

    oh, and Jessica’s sidebar stuff is right up top where it should be 😉

Leave a Reply

