Skip to content

The things you think the day you turn 30…

October 6, 2006

yep, you read that right, I turned 30 today. At 9:06 am Mountain Standard Time. It’s been a good day, and the night has just started.

I spent a lot of time thinking today, I thought about how lucky I am to be here, and how I hardly take the time to appreciate all the wonderful things in my life; I thought about my wishes for the world, for my family, for my son; I thought about my father, and the sacrafices he made for our family; I thought about my mother, and the stuggles she has faced, often at her own doing; I thought about my brother, his hopes and dreams, and how I hope he can make it all work; I thought about my little sister, and her growth and the challenges she has ahead; I thought about my big sister, and her family, seperated and longing to be together; I thought about my grandparents, the things they stood for, the things they accomplished, from farmworkers in Southern Colorado, to home owners, raising 5 young men, all of whom served in the U.S. Armed Forces, went to college, and raised their families out of the poverty their parents knew; I thought about my cousin Mitchel, just 35 when he was killed; I thought of my cousin Denny, who has fulfilled all his dreams but one, true love; I thought about my husband, and not having a father, until this year; I thought about my son, and how lucky he is to have his father; I thought about my education, and now my career, how lucky I am to have them both; I thought about my mistakes, my regrets, and how I’m learning to move past them; I thought about our future, where I’d like us to go; I thought about the faith that we need to find, the love that we can share, the wisdom we can spread.
And about 30 minutes ago, I was getting ready for dinner, putting makeup on to cover my not-so-adolescent-anymore-pimples, wondering exactly when they’ll go away, and pondering how I can still have them at the same time that grey hairs are popping up all over my scalp…

Time for my one and only girls night of the year, night all! I’m sure I’ll be nursing a hangover tomorrow…

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2006 8:40 pm

    Happy Birthday Tania! You’re 30’s get even better and things become even clearer – trust me 😉

  2. October 6, 2006 9:11 pm

    I hope you are having a fabulous birthday, Tania! Enjoy getting hammered with the girls. 😉 I wish I could be there to spend some time with you, but I want you to know that I’m thinking of you! I hope 30 is a fantastic year for you. {{{HUGS}}}

  3. Melinda permalink
    October 6, 2006 9:43 pm

    Happy Birthday, Tania! I hope you had a great day and evening out!

  4. October 6, 2006 11:15 pm

    Your BIRTHDAY!?!! HAPPY DAY DARLIN’!!!!!

    Hope you’re down right smashed by now! (((((HUGE HUGS))))

  5. October 7, 2006 12:31 am

    Happy, happy birthday Tania!!!! Hope you enjoyed the girls night out and hope the hangover isn’t nearly as bad as mine was! You are dealing with 30 much better than I have been and you’re inspiring me to look at things differently. Love you girl! Stop by my blog 🙂

  6. October 7, 2006 7:22 am

    I’m a day late, of course! I hope that you had a wonderful birthday and an awesome night out!!! 🙂

  7. October 7, 2006 8:22 am

    Happy Birthday! 😀

  8. October 7, 2006 12:58 pm

    happy belated birthday. (whispering in case you do in fact have a hangover.) hope you had a wonderful day and night. i love the 30’s. so much better than my 20’s. hope you have a rockin’ fabulous decade. 🙂

  9. October 7, 2006 2:29 pm

    Happy belated birthday to you! I’ll be the first to tell you that those pimples don’t get any better any time fast. I just turned 39 and my face is totally broken out. So sad. I had no breakouts when I was a teenager. I think somebody somewhere is getting back at me for being so lucky then… ha ha.

  10. October 7, 2006 5:50 pm

    Happy Birthday Tania!!! Hope you had a fabulous night out!! LOL about the pimples and grey hairs – I too wonder about that…..it must be a 30’s thing!

  11. October 7, 2006 7:34 pm

    Happy Birthday girl!!!

  12. Raji permalink
    October 8, 2006 3:25 pm

    Happy Birthday Tania, hope you had a great day:)

  13. October 9, 2006 6:21 pm

    happy belated bday tania!!! i had a lot of deep thoughts when i turned 30 a few years ago too, lol. Must be some hangover tho, cuz it has been 4 days now, lol!! hope you had fun!!

  14. October 9, 2006 8:38 pm

    30??? I am feeling so old my dear! My 30s were fabulous, still are!

    Happy Belated Birthday 🙂

Leave a Reply

