Skip to content

What I’ve been doing

September 16, 2006

So, seeing all the cool things that Jess is up to with her paper scrapping and altered art, I’ve been itching to try some altered art things myself. I got some good tips from her and the other paper scrappers who are on Jess’s CT and well, I’ve been a little obsessed actually.

Lots of trial and error going on, getting a sense of what the products do. How things react to the glue, how it all reacts together. Fun!

Well, here’s the first thing I’m willing to show off. Shabby Miss Jenn did some shabby altered initals with SP’s paper line and posted them at the Shabby Shoppe last spring. I fell in love with them. I asked her where she got the initials and ran and picked up some for myself (did ya’ll know I had the pleasure of living close by Miss Jenn for a bit? I miss my random Target spottings of her and her shabby family :D). The intitals been sitting on my desk ever since, and I finally got some done!
JT.jpg

The blue and striped paper and cardboard star are from the paper line Kaledescope. The ribbon is from Wild Asparagus. The orange brad is Memory Makers. I also used orange adhesive cardstock from the Fall Matstack and lots of orange acrylic paint. The wood initials themselves are from Michaels. And at the recommendation of Jess, I used LOTS of Modge Podge! DH had to stop me from adding another coat. Too funny, she did say I’d become obsessed with the stuff. LOL! The J and t are actually attached, glued right now and drying, dh is going to nail a wood tack through them to make sure they stay together. I’m not good with a hammer. Probably should have done that after the first coat of paint, but well, didn’t think about it. Now I know.
I’m going to add a strip on the “t” with “jeremiah tristan” spelled out. I tried a strip with these cute stamps I found, but I’m not very good at stamping yet. So maybe I’ll look for a mini alpha or something, maybe even do it digitally. But I was so excited about what I finished, I couldn’t wait to show it off πŸ˜€

And now ya’ll know what those commissions I got last month with my clearance got me πŸ˜‰ Lots of paper goodies, LOL! I did pick up some digital things too, Dani B’s Digital Graffiti, Kim Christensen’s RAD collection, and a few kits here and there from some of my regular stores. I have over 20 GB of downloads (not counting what I downloaded in year 1 of digiscrapping, and of course all the RAKs stuff, that’s a whole other folder), and probably only 1 or 2 gigs of that has been used, so I’m putting myself on another spending resitriction until I get into my reserves, but I don’t imagine that will happen until my term as a Dani’s Girl ends.

Today I dedicated some time to working on a couple layouts for Karen. She came out with this awesome kit for Australia’s Father’s Day called Jaffa (few weeks ago, I’m such a slacker!). I learned from her and Pri that Jaffas are Aussie chocolate balls with an orange candy coating. Great name for the kit! And I really wish I had some of those Jaffas!!

RaceCarYaYas.jpg

(Extras: Paint brush stroke – Kim Crothers Flower Seed, “06” Stamp – Dani Mogstad’s Old School at ACOT)
MakingFaces_KimLundTemp.jpg

This second layout uses a template by Miss Kim (Kimberly Lund) and another paint stroke from Kim Crothers Flower Seed kit.

Well, tonight marks Joel and I’s first “Lost” night, so I’m gonna jet. Have a good Sunday!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2006 2:59 pm

    I love those initials!!! They look so great! I haven’t done the alterted stuff yet.. too afraid I might love it and get lost in it! LOL

    And as always great LOs!!

  2. September 17, 2006 5:57 pm

    Wow Tania – those initials look FABULOUS….

    I bought all the letters to make both of the boys names a couple of months ago, now i have NO idea what to do with them lol… but yours look totally COOL!!! and so do your layouts. Gotta love Jaffas πŸ™‚

  3. September 17, 2006 10:32 pm

    Love your altered letters Tania!!! Those look like so much fun! You did such a great job on them. So what’s the next altered project on your list? I know you have to have something in mind…you do one and then your mind is whirling with ideas. LOL

  4. Amandagale permalink
    September 18, 2006 12:33 pm

    I had to leave you a coment because (1) I LOVE the letters!! I have a stash of letter spelling out Abigale that some how keep missing my to do list! and (2) I LOVE that you used CAKE lyrics!!! I use to torture my room-mates in college by playing cake over and over and over again!!! πŸ™‚

    Have a great day!

  5. September 18, 2006 8:01 pm

    i just love your letters tania! looks awesome!! where you find the time…… πŸ™‚

  6. Melinda permalink
    September 18, 2006 10:00 pm

    Love love love the altered letters!!! I should let the girls do that with some of my old paper stuff. Beth has been wanting to ‘scrapbook’ lately- of course she wants to use my computer. I’m not ready to share that though. I have a box of old paper supplies I am willing to give up (been saving for the occasion since it is stuff I wouldn’t use myself). They would enjoy doing the letters with lots of glue I am sure!

  7. September 19, 2006 8:49 am

    beautiful layouts tania! Really.
    But, i really wanted to drop in and give you a big fat hug. Thanks for visiting our blog, and thanks for the sincere and genuine post. You’re a sweetie.
    xoxo
    josie

  8. September 19, 2006 6:04 pm

    How cool Tania!!! Love the initials! πŸ™‚

  9. September 20, 2006 12:41 pm

    The altered letters just ROCK, Tania!! Now, I really wish I had some of my own. Will be on the lookout for different wooden fonts πŸ˜€

    Gorgeous layouts, too! The candy sounds yummy and the kit LOOKS yummy! Awesome job!

    Looking forward to seeing more stuff from you. I knew you’d love the taste of glue, LOL!

Leave a Reply

