Skip to content

2 Days

September 15, 2006

Funny, my last post was “Where’d the fall go”. Well, it’s only been 2 days and it’s back already. I tend to be so fickle when it comes to weather, I’d rather it be any other way than it is right now, LOL!!

So, Lukas won Supernova!

202a_lukas_084.jpg

Very cool! There seemed to be quite a bit of sore loser going on at the Supernova Message Boards with fans of the other 3 contestents (well 4 if you count those Storm Large fans who never give up). I stand by what I said (I know I said alot), I liked Lukas from the begining, but question whether the band liked him or he fit in, but I guess I was wrong. Great job Lukas, you worked hard! No one can deny that boy had a goal and he made it. Feel kinda bad for Toby, I really think that he thought he would win. Hope he finds himself a band 😀 I would LOVE to see more of that cute Aussie!

head_toby.jpg
Well, it’s official, as of October 1st, I will not be selling digital scrapbooking products at Scrapdish or Digital Freebies. I love all my friends at both sites dearly and wish them all the best. Tracy and Jeanine took a shot at this no name designer and I can’t thank them enough! I’ve just gotten too far out of it to get back into it, and if I ever come back, I want to bring something totally unique to the table and be able to put the time into it that I think it deserves. Besides, I like being on CTs much better, LOL!!

Speaking of CTs, I really need to get some CT work done, been slacking in that regard lately. Looking forward to using more of Dani’s beautiful September kits and I’ve got tons of product to use for Karen!

JT woke up last night with terrible croup. Joel thought it was a dog barking outside, but you know how you just know it’s your baby? I was in that room in a second and had him in my arms. We spent 20 minutes in the bathroom with the shower and steam and he was able to stop coughing. He fell back asleap an hour later. So I took the day off and honestly didn’t do much more that read the forums at DST, which I haven’t done in forever! JT is doing much better and fell asleap about a half hour ago.

One thread that was quite controversal at DST and I hadn’t seen yet was the post about the market being oversaturated. I posted my thoughts there, but since I came in at the end of the conversation, most of you probably won’t see them. This is something that didn’t necessarily contribute to my decision to stop designing (more of a feeling that I just can’t contribute right now, and the stores need to make room for someone who can), but I have often thought about it.  In fact, chances are, if I’m complaining on here about being overwhelmed by this industry, this is what I’m thinking about. There are a TON of designers, and I actually think this is awesome, there should be, and I begrudge no one their chance at doing something they enjoy and might make some money at. I don’t think the market is oversaturated because of too many designers (nor the quality, I really don’t understand how that topic got into that thread since the OP had nothing to do with that). I think it is oversaturated because there is too much product. With over 300 designers who put an average of 2 to 3 kits a month out there (that’s not an offical number, just put that up to get my point across), no wonder the majority of designers arn’t making any money. And the stores are actually encouraging the designers to do more and more, they have to in order to compete. I understand that the digital medium lends itself to low overhead and production time (compared to paper designing), but I don’t think it’s unintentional that the paper markets tend to have seasons and collection releases. You need to get people excited about a product before it’s released, spend time advertising it, marketing, and then give the product time to saturate before you release the next. Seriously, if a designer is churning out product after product like there is no tomorrow, I’m probably not interested. Slow down! Give me a chance to buy it before you move onto something else, otherwise I’ll just assume you weren’t very commited to the product to begin with. JMO. Hope I didn’t offend 😀 I’ve said this before, and I’ll say it again, my favorite designers have been and always will be the ones who have a more spontaneous release of products, rather than a set schedule. They put out great things every few months, and I gobble it up when they do. If you’re putting out a multitude of things every week, I’ll probably only pick up one thing from you. And that’s all that this former designer and addicted kit collector is going to say about that 😉

I’m hosting a challenge at the Girl Talk blog, Dani and Shawna’s Carpe Diem kit is probably one of my favorite in recent memory, so if you’ve snagged it (or if you haven’t go get it!) use it and show me, and you might win a gift certificate from Dani 😀

Hmm, what else, Oh YEAH, pictures of JT and Mady last weekend go-cartin’!!

Both-GoCart.jpg

JT-GoCart.jpg

Mady-GoCart.jpg

That last picture is pretty good huh! isn’t the way JT looks at Mads the cutest thing, I think he’s in love 😀 LOL

Night!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2006 7:04 am

    i agreed with you totally about lukas tania! thought he was fabulous, but wasnt quite sure he would fit in with that group or if they thought he would. i was wrong too, lol! sorry to hear you wont be desinging anymore but you sound pretty happy about it so maybe i should say congratulations!!! and as always i love to hear your views and comments. always so well done! 🙂

  2. September 16, 2006 7:27 am

    So, Lukas won, huh? Not my 1st choice, but the few times I watched, it seemed that it was going in that direction…
    Hope JT feels better – croup sucks!
    And you know, the thing about designing, it’s not as if you can’t pick it up and do it again later if inspiration strikes you! 🙂
    Am thinking about you guys and your mom!!!!!

  3. September 16, 2006 6:44 pm

    How cute is JT on the bike! 🙂 I hope the little guy is feeling better. I am 😦 that you are leaving designing because I think you are so awesome, but I totally undertand what you are saying. I wish I didn’t have to churn out so much stuff!!!!! Hugs girl!

  4. September 16, 2006 6:46 pm

    Just remembered something else! LOL! I used Carpe Diem today too. So cute – you totally enabled me on that one!

  5. tracyb permalink
    September 16, 2006 7:20 pm

    hey baby…caught up on your ole blog…not much to say on a lot since I am not in a really great spot and really tired, but wanted you to know I am here and reading! Great to be able to read your ideas and thoughts. wonderful pics and layouts!!! love and hugs.

  6. September 16, 2006 10:48 pm

    So you’re saying it’s actually a GOOD thing that I can’t get product out?? LOL! I will miss you as a designer, but I totally understand your decision! I hope JT starts feeling better soon. Don’t be a stranger! 🙂

  7. September 17, 2006 3:04 pm

    Oh I’m so sad to hear about you leaving the desiging.. but I understand. And I agree 100% with what you said about the designing market.

    I’m glad Lukas won. He has a great voice!

    JT is adorable!!!

  8. Melinda permalink
    September 18, 2006 10:18 pm

    Totally agree with your assessment of the digi design market. And that is exactly why I won’t start selling (well, that and not wanting to hear Mark complain about form C from the IRS ever again!). If I make something I just want to share it and not worry about the whole marketing thing and whether it is worth my effort and my time for a small monetary return. It seems like just about any idea/color combo I come up with is already being used in some form by 3 other people (or more) lately. Ash Olson was talking about this on her blog not too long ago too.

    Sorry to hear you say that you won’t design again- maybe I can just hold out hope that you won’t sell again and that you might grace your old friends with a surprise now and again if the muse ever returns? I’ll treasure my little Tania folder and all of it’s stored goodies 😀

    Oh, I had to go get Carpe Diem and a few other things. I’ve spent my quota at Dani’s now for the month I think- well, I might splurge on her new CD during the sale the last week since I don’t have that yet (I have just about everything else now LOL). I got Shawna’s techno grunge too and borrowed some cool diving pics from my neighbor- now if only i can find the time to actually do something with them.

  9. September 19, 2006 2:12 pm

    Hey Tania…I finally found you! I think your observations about the digi market are well stated. Could you start a movement to get everyone to please slow down? LOL

    Cute layouts…that Jaffa thing is fun. I learn something new every day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

