Skip to content

A Conversation about Steve

September 5, 2006

Monday morning, JT and Joel come home from fishing, I’ve got the TV on as background noise, set to the Today show. JT hears Steve Irwin’s name and comes running to the TV.

JT:”I wanna see Crocadile Hunter! That’s Steve Irwin! Hey, that’s not ‘Crocodile Hunter!'”

Joel: “No Boo, it’s just news about Steve Irwin”

JT: “Why’s Steven Irwin in the news?”

Joel: “There’s been an accident”

Silence, then quietly JT: “What kind of accident?”

I’m looking to Joel to see what he’ll do, we already discussed that we weren’t going to tell JT, he’s too young, he won’t understand…

Joel: “Steve got hurt by a sting ray.”

JT: “In the ocean?”

Joel: “yeah, buddy”

Silence, quietly JT: “Is he hurt bad?”

Joel: “Yeah, buddy, Steve died.”

JT: “Died?”

A Long Silence

Me: “JT, are you okay, do you understand what Dad just said?”

JT: “I’m just sad mom, Steve Irwin is dead.”

Me: “Yeah, buddy, Steve Irwin is dead, I’m sad too.”

More silence

JT: “Can I still watch Crocodile Hunter even though Steve died?”

Joel and Me: “Of course buddy, we’ll always get to watch Steve on the TV.”

May he RIP, and may his family find comfort in the joy, passion, education, and just plain spunk, that he gave to the world. Thank you to his family for sharing him with us, and thank you for this amazing sacrafice. He will live on forever in the hearts of this family, who are so greatful that we can see him still on our TV. I am so incredibly sorry for their loss of such a great man.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2006 8:28 pm

    Oh man, Tania. This made me cry!! What a sweet boy you have, and it’s no wonder having two awesome parents like you and Joel.

    (((hugs)))

  2. September 5, 2006 8:36 pm

    Makes me want to cry too! JT is such a sweetie.

  3. September 5, 2006 8:42 pm

    Oh – how sad and how sweet, Tania! Hugs to JT! 🙂

  4. September 5, 2006 9:16 pm

    Kudos to you and your dh for raising such a sensitive little guy.

    I was never a fan of Crocodile Hunter (those animals scare the daylights out of me), but I am definitely a fan of Steve Irwin. His enthusiasm for life and learning always inspired me.

  5. September 5, 2006 9:35 pm

    Definately a very tragic thing to happen – my kids weren’t too fussed, but one of the girls I work with, her little boy (8yrs) was really upset and crying.
    I think you and Joel handled the situation fantastically!! (is that a propper word? lol) Its always hard to know how to deal with death and kids – but it sounds like JT coped well.

  6. September 12, 2006 10:11 am

    what an amazing little kid and what a tragedy. I was so sad!

Leave a Reply

