Skip to content

Carpe Diem

August 31, 2006

First off, result show recap.

Interesting turn of events having Lukas sing the new single with the band. I was highly impressed, I have got the feeling all along that Lukas was not a favorite of the band, that he had no chance really. But Lukas has a cult following, and is actually the favorite to win on the Rockstar.MSN message boards. Maybe the band is considering that.

Toby got the encore, and it wasn’t as good as the night before. The crowd wasn’t as helpful as they have been, not making room for the singers to move around, he got stuck in the crowd and didn’t make it back up to the stage for the end of the song, kinda taking away the power of it. Too bad.

The only one who wasn’t in the bottom 3 during the voting at all was Magni. I didn’t see that coming. Good for him!!!! I also didn’t see Dilana in the bottom 3, and she was. Hmmm. So it came down to Storm, Dilana and Ryan Star. All three performances were awful. Ryan was trying way too hard to be a rock star, where clearly, he is most comfortable behind an instrument, more on that in a bit. But it took him forever to climb up the amplifiers and he just didn’t look the part. Storm ruined Helter Skelter, one of the best songs ever written. She just sucks. And Dilana obviosly took a hit from all her craziness of the last few weeks and really needed to tell her fans, you know, I’m still normal, despite all the drama. Instead, she reached deep into her crazy bag of tricks and pulled out an awful song, which she sung well, but singing isn’t everything.

So the band decided to send Ryan home. And he kicked major butt the last few weeks. But they, and he, are right. He will do better as a solo artist. So goodbye to the Dark Horse, I’m sure we’ll see you soon with your own album, and please, don’t call yourself Ryan Star!

If Storm makes it through one more week I’m going to freak out.

I have a layout to share. Dani Mogstad and Shawna Clingerman are teaming up with this new gorgeous Carpe Diem kit. I LOVE it! Here’s my first layout with it.RocksByTheSea_CarpeDiemB.jpg

Look at me getting all fancy with the string, LOL!! Just thought the colors were perfect for these photos.

Mom is home from the hospital and is starting to recover nicely. She got a nasty infection from the incision and has this awful open wound that needs to be “packed” full of wet antibacterial cloths. Discusting, and luckily, she has nurses coming twice a day to help her dress the wound. I am so not into that kind of thing. I really give so much credit to nurses, they are amazing people. I think Mom will do better at home and not be so depressed. She told me last night, she’s done with treatments, regardless of the doctor’s recommendations. Which, in a way is fine, I’m not sure if she can take any more anyway. If I believed she would make steps to improve her health on her own and prevent the cancer from returning, I’d feel alot better about it. But I walked into her apartment last night, and she was smoking. Windows closed, shades drawn. JT started choking it was so bad. That really gets to me.

Last night was the last night of the summer Wednesday Market downtown. JT and I had so much fun, I did manage to take some pictures, and JT rode a horse! He’s ridden a pony but he chose the real horse this time! If you’ve followed alot of my layouts about JT, he’s not too keen on trying new things without being encouraged, he hates heights, and he crawls along play structures rather than run like most kids, literaly crawls, on his hands and knees. So him chosing a horse taller than me was awesome! And he didn’t want me to come with him. He sat up there perfectly, moving right along with the animal, totally at ease. So I think we might have found something that JT isn’t afraid of, and I’m going to jump right on this! Task of the day, looking for riding and grooming lessons!

Tomorrow is my first travel day at work since June. They gave me a little break from traveling with Mom being in treatment and everything, but we’re down to 2 full-timers on my project now that my friend is on maternity leave, and can’t really afford to have me not traveling any longer. So, back to reality. Don’t think I’m weird, but I do miss the hours of driving alone with my thoughts. I’m a lot like my Dad that way, we love to drive in silence, and can do it for hours at a time.

And, now that I’m thinking of work, my 15 minute break is creeping up on me, and I need a cup of tea. So, have a great day! And tomorrow I’m sure I’ll have some layouts to show off 😀

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2006 5:34 pm

    That’s awesome that JT had so much fun with the horse! He and James would probably love each other at playgrounds – James is the quiet, watchful boy too. I’m sorry to hear about your mom, but it sounds like you all feel at peace about her decision. I hope her sore heals quickly! Hugs for you!

  2. Melinda permalink
    August 31, 2006 11:27 pm

    It does sound like you are OK with your mom’s decision. That’s a good place to be. thank goodness for homecare nurses! I have always admired nurses too, as a lot of what they do is so unpleasant.

    Good for JT and kudos to you for letting him try the horse this time despite concerns that he might not like it. I hope you can find some affordable riding lessons and that he loves it!

    I used to drive almost an hour each way twice a week to a volunteer job I needed for an application/recommendation. I liked having that time to myself in the car; I even wrote a college essay on it once. I don’t think the teacher ‘got it’ based on my grade LOL I hope you have a great trip!

  3. September 2, 2006 7:44 pm

    Happy to hear your Mom is home and recovering. Hope everything is going smoothly for all of you.

    WTG to JT! I sort of wish my kids would crawl over the play structures. LOL! Being cautious isn’t always a bad thing! (yeah, I am a worrywart)

  4. September 5, 2006 9:31 pm

    Oh, I’m glad you are feeling better about your Mum, but I guess its still hard to watch her do stuff – like smoking when she shouldn’t. – but she’s an adult and has to make her own decisions I guess.
    LOVE that layout – perfect for those photos – and I really like the fancy string lol!
    I know what you mean about the driving – I used to travel 1/2 an hour to work on my own and it was great – like ‘me’ time and I could arrive at work all relaxed after leaving the morning rush at home!

Leave a Reply

