Skip to content

Supernova Tonight

August 22, 2006

Well, it’s Tuesday, which means it is Supernova night! Yay!

So thanks everyone for your comments, I really appreciate them. I write those posts and I’m so caught up in the moment, and I always feel really weird about posting them, but I figure it’s real life, and I need somewhere to share it all. Knowing you are all out there and a part of my life really does make me smile and I’m so happy to know you all! Mom is out of ICU and she finally understands what is happening, so I’m taking that as she is on the mend.

Yesterday was our 8 year anniversary. I met Joel a couple times in the weeks leading up to my 21st birthday, just 9 months out of the biggest heartbreak I had ever had. I didn’t seriously date anyone in those 9 months and really wasn’t looking for a new relationship, and the couple times I met Joel it was brief and we didn’t really get a chance to get to know each other. So then, a mutual friend of Joel and I, John, shared the exact birthday as mine and we had a dinner party. Joel, who was there as John’s friend, sat across from my Mom at the dinner party and he charmed her of course. Following the party, was my big night, since I was finally legal and we all went out to some bars. We ended up at my friend Jennifer’s house (who I’ve been chatting with a bit lately, hi Jen!) and Joel and I spent the night chatting away until the sun came up. I saw him again a few nights later at our friend Jeremiah’s (yes, that is where we got JT’s name) and we watched Trainspotting. I think I really fell for him the night that we were at my friend Ryan’s watching Legends of the Fall (yes, that’s where we got JT’s middle name Tristan). We watched a lot of movies I guess, but there’s not much else to do at a Naval Air Base in the High Desert. Well, drink and party, but you can’t do that all day, LOL. I was finishing up my last semester of Junior College and applying to universities (if you’re wondering what I was doing in the middle of a military base in the California Dessert, my step-dad used to work for the Department of Defense there). Joel and I were practically always together from the moment we started dating. As it got closer to me leaving for school, he visited campuses with me, helped me through my step-dad’s cancer. I actually packed everything up, and moved to Northern California to attend school. Joel took a month’s worth of leave to join me, and we were staying at his Mom’s who lived an hour away from my campus. I actually moved all my furniture into her condo and was looking for a place closer to campus to move into. 2 weeks into that month, we got a marriage license and were married at the Palace of Fine Arts in San Francisco by his best friend Ed who had sent away for a mail-order minister’s licence years before. Our wedding was witnessed by Ed’s girlfriend Brenda. I left all my furniture at my new Mother-In-Laws and went back to the base with Joel. I can’t believe it’s been 8 years since. We dated for 10 months and have been married for 8. Crazy! It hasn’t always been perfect, but what’s a marriage without hard work, eh

So yesterday Joel and I took JT to daycare and went to see Pirates of the Caribbean, which was great laughing therapy for me! Haven’t laughed that much in a while. We picked JT up and drove to my Mother-In-Laws (she still lives about an hour from here, where I ended up going to school anyway 2 years after Joel and I married) and dropped JT off and then we drove to San Francisco where we were married, had a slice of pizza and 32 ounces of Pyramid and went to the Giants game. So much fun! It was a gorgeous night in the city, not too cool, and it was Irish Heritage night, so the Guiness was keeping me warm anyway. J and I haven’t spent a night just the two of us in 6 months or more. So wonderful. Perfect really.

Here’s a layout I posted at DST yesterday before we spontaneously left for the movies, I still need to post at a couple more galleries and I have another not yet posted anywhere.

Here’s Mady reading a book, Mad’s little brother should make his world debut sometime this week, we’re really looking forward to his arrival around here! Still no name either!

MadiBook.jpg

Using Karen Hunt’s Snuffy paper pack Paper Piecing flower, and Craft Paper Pack at PDW and the ric rac, stitches, & button are from Karen’s Sewing Box collection at SBB. The binder clip is by Gina Miller and the stamped alpha is by Dani Mogstad from the This Love CD.

I have to give a shout out for Karen’s Paper Piecing sets here. They’re just like the super popular templates but they are elements like flowers and doodles, fully customizable! So neat! She has 3 sets of flowers, and a Home Sweet Home set, check them out!

SmileMe.jpg

This second page is me of course šŸ˜€ Everything by Karen Hunt again, except the stamped alpha by Dani Mogstad and the brush by Kim Crothers. The paper pack and flower are from Chirpy, and the craft paper are all from PDW. The grossgrain ribbon and stitches are from the Sewing Box again from SBB.

And that’s about it, Joel’s biological dad is in town again and visiting tonight, where everyone is expected at Ed’s (yes, the one who married us) for a barbeque. I didn’t get anything done today! Back to work for me tomorrow, I’ve been taking some time off while Mom was in the hospital, but I feel like I need too get back to the grind, and I’m running out of sick time too.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2006 4:59 pm

    Yay on your Mom!!!!
    So glad you had a wonderful anniversary date! And Happy Anniversary!
    I really like that photo of you too! šŸ™‚

  2. August 22, 2006 5:17 pm

    happy anniversary tania!!!! sooo glad things are looking up for your mom! maybe things will start getting better!!
    good to see you doing a layout of yourself!!!

  3. August 22, 2006 10:01 pm

    Happy Anniversary!! I’m glad you two got some alone time šŸ™‚ Love the LOs! I actually watched supernova tonight and thought of you!!! How crazy were those pink eyelashes!! LOL

  4. August 23, 2006 6:28 am

    So glad your mom’s doing better. And sounds like a really terrific day on Monday! Happy anniversary! Wonderful layouts – such fun colors! šŸ™‚

  5. Melinda permalink
    August 23, 2006 11:06 am

    I am glad your mom is out of the ICU and doing better.

    I want to see Pirates… Mark and I haven’t had a night out alone since before Sarah was born, and then I ended up coming down with a stomach bug that evening that made the evening less than enjoyable. I guess I need to break down and ask someone to babysit. Sarah fusses when I’m not with her at the moment though and I hate to subject people (even Mark) to a baby who won’t calm down because all she wants is mom.

    I love that pic/LO of you!

  6. August 23, 2006 11:36 am

    Glad your mom is doing better! It is so nice to see you smiling on that page!!! šŸ™‚ And happy anniversary! Glad you had a great day together!

  7. August 23, 2006 4:54 pm

    Hey sweetie..happy to hear your Mom is out of ICU. I’ll continue to keep you all in my thoughts!!

    Happy belated anniversary!!! The date sounds like a lot of fun!!

    Love your layouts – so fab, as usual! Really loving the bright colors and and it is great to see your smiling face!

  8. August 26, 2006 5:59 pm

    So happy to hear good news about your mom!!

    I just love hearing the DH meeting stories. Come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve heard Jess and Emily’s..hmmm…

    Date sounds like a blast. Ya gotta spend some alone time with the hubby—even 2 hours alone goes a LONG way!! Of course, sometimes I’d rather be scrapping!! LOL.

Leave a Reply

