Skip to content

Supernova

August 16, 2006

So some of you may know this about me, but I adore music, specifically rock music. I’ve broadened my music horizon’s since I was a tween and teen, but I have to say it all comes back to ROCK for me. So Rock Star: Supernova is soooo super cool to me. I’m totally addicted and can’t wait for the results show. If you haven’t been keeping up, here’s the low down. Supernova is a band with Gilby Clark (played with GNR-that’s Guns-N-Roses in case you didn’t know, and interestingly enough played with Heart at one point, he’s an awesome guitarist), Tommy Lee (please don’t tell me you don’t know who Tommy Lee is), and (holy crap) Jason Newstead, only the best bassist EVER (Metallica). So the story is, they are looking for someone to front their band. And so far, no one I’ve seen on American Idol even comes close to these people. Maybe it’s because some of these singers are professionals and most people on American Idol are amatures, or maybe it’s just cause I love ROCK, but there’s only a few that have totally stunk so far.

Last week Josh got voted off the show, and I was really bummed about this. Not only did he give a killer performance of one of my all time favorite Stone Temple Pilots tracks, he was CUTE!! But I’m sure this kid will be hitting the big time soon, more along the likes of an Emo Singer/Songwriter like my boy Matt Nathanson though. He was just way to mellow and cool to front this band.

So my favorites that are left. First off, Lukas.

202a_lukas_084.jpg

Last week Lukas rocked my WORLD with Radiohead’s Creep. That song gives me chills and Lukas totally pulled it off! Plus, I just love his punk look. Not so much a looker, and he is kinda short, maybe not a Rock Star Frontman? But his vocals are to die for, and if he makes it I won’t be disappointed! This week he sang Hero, and damn he nailed it! Seriously, boy’s got some vocals!!

Okay, wouldn’t it be AWESOME if a WOMAN fronted this band? Dilana is so amazing!

head_dilana.jpg

Most of the girls on the show are pretty and fun to look at but I’m not sure they have it, all except Dilana. She’s not drop dead gorgeous, but she definitely ROCKS. God her voice reminds me of Janis Joplin, and I just love Janis, bluesy, raw, music was her soul, and Dilana has that same quality, and hey, it’s not like Janis was gorgeous, it was her voice that made her sexy!

I’m also rooting for Magni, and Ryan Star is pretty cool. I like their last song choices, David Bowie and Live for Magni, those are hard vocals to pull off for sure! Ryan seems to be a favorite of the Band, he’s not too punky and has a good quality, but he doesn’t give me chills like Lukas does and honestly, I can’t think of what he sang last, so I’m not sure it made an impression.
I’m also rooting for Toby, just cause he’s an Aussie and well he’s just gorgeous! He also had a killer song choice last week and I think he pulled it off, Peter Gabriel’s Sallisbury Hill is one of my all time favorites!!

head_toby.jpg

Bet you never knew I was such a rocker huh! My first concert without my parents was Guns N Roses and Skid Rowe, LOL!! Too embarassing! I went in torn up acid washed jeans and black and white 3-inch-heeled-snake-skin boots and a black tank top, OMG!!! I thought my Dad was going to DIE when I walked out of my bedroom, I don’t think he even knew I owned that stuff, LOL. Ahhh, memories, gotta love em πŸ˜‰

So anyway, are you watching? Let me know what you think!! Elimination is at 8pm EST/PST tonight, don’t miss it, there’ll be some encores for sure! Seriously Lukas and Dilana can sing and it’s worth watching just for that!! Go Lukas! Go Dilana!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2006 9:47 am

    LOL! I watched ROCKSTAR last time when it was INXS (my fav. band). I’ve been watching this time off and on – caught some of it last night. Dilana was really good! And Lukas. Don’t really have a favorite though…
    Have a great day, Tania!! πŸ™‚

  2. robin permalink
    August 16, 2006 6:16 pm

    I knew you rocked – but not so hard! πŸ™‚ Sounds like it’s going to be an awesome band!

  3. August 16, 2006 6:58 pm

    OK…Tania you even got me excited about this. And you are right – Toby is totally hot!! (wow I sound like I’m in high school again!!). I dare you to find that picture of you in your rocker gear and scrap it!! I WOULD love to see it. If you scrap that, I will scrap my high school stuff (of course we probably wouldn’t have been friends back then) in my preppy pink cords with my kelly green monogram polo sweater!! Or my tan chinos and the pink izod shirt witht he collar up and my pearls around my neck!!! LOL!!

  4. August 16, 2006 8:35 pm

    I second the request for photos of you headed to GNR and Skid Row!! LOL!! Man, I kind of wish I had TV reception all of a sudden so I could watch this show…

  5. August 16, 2006 9:23 pm

    i love that show too tania!! and i was such a metallica skid row gnr fan when i was young you wouldn’t believe it! I love dilana and lucas as my top 2 as well….but i think lucas mite be not the right fit. The one i really liked last nite, he surprised and blew me away, and i forget his name but he got an encore performance tonite! dark hair…very intense…the one that never smiles he was told, lol!! great show!

Leave a Reply

