Skip to content

Boy Names

August 7, 2006

So my friend is getting ready to have a baby in the next couple of weeks, it’s her second (she’s Madi’s mommy) and it’s going to be a boy. Her and her husband are stuck with names, they just can’t agree. Their last name starts with a B so they don’t want a name that begins with B. They would prefer something that isn’t two syllables, and that doesn’t end with -an -en or -in, as their last name ends in that sound. (yes, they’re being a bit picky, LOL).

I told her I’d help her come up with some names, they’ve already vetoed one I liked so I was doing an internet search today and of the 500 most popular US names in 2004 there are over 260 that meet the above requirements. Phew, that’s quite a list. So I haven’t gone through and weeded out the ones that people just shouldn’t name their kids, but I always like hearing what others are named. So tell me what are your favorite names for boys?

And just for the fun of it, if they pick the name you suggest, I’ll through in a little mini kit, one that I’m making for his birth announcements!!

Which reminds me, have I told you all that I’m going to start my own invitation/wedding announcement business? I know an awesome printer here in town and Joel gets lots of request from his customers asking what things I can do for them after they see my scrapbook on his desk. So I’m thinking why not? And what better way to start than my good friends baby? So fun! But, I can’t think of what to name my business, so if you have any ideas about that, let me know.

Dinner’s ready, I better go! Have a great night!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Connie permalink
    August 7, 2006 7:52 pm

    if they need more ideas for names check out your local library – we have tons of baby name books – some are specific like Celtic names, etc.

    from your local librarian πŸ˜‰

  2. Melinda permalink
    August 7, 2006 9:20 pm

    Well, I am no help with a boy name that meets those requirements- every single one I’ve thought of since reading this is on the ‘no’ list LOL!

    No, you hadn’t mentioned the announcement/invitation business. I’ll have to stew for a while on a name for it and see if I can’t come up with something -probably not, but you never know πŸ˜‰

  3. August 7, 2006 11:27 pm

    Congratulations on starting your own business. Exciting stuff!

    Boy names I like:
    Wade
    Lance
    Levi (my hubby’s name!)
    Jake (rather than Jacob)

  4. Raji permalink
    August 8, 2006 4:07 am

    Congrats on starting your new business.
    How about Liam,Avery, Gage, Luke? for the boy names.

  5. August 8, 2006 7:04 am

    Congrats!

    So happy for them and their new baby… I am currently helping my SIL with this so I have a bunch…..

    Tom (my hubby – could be spelled Thom)
    Trent
    Vance
    Neill
    Quinn (love this = wise and intelligent)
    Alex
    Kyle

    Okay, that is all I will leave you…. if you need more, let me know… SIL and I have been working away on this… Good Luck!

  6. August 8, 2006 11:17 am

    Okay, how about Eric, Max, Nick, Noah, Jack, Ian – of course, I’m all about the traditional names!! Of course, my favorite names are Alex & Ben – my sweet little guys!!

  7. August 9, 2006 9:26 am

    Your new venture sounds really exciting!! Good luck with it and have FUN πŸ˜€

    I have no name ideas…for the baby or the business, but I’ll wrack my brain and see if I can think of something.

  8. August 10, 2006 9:07 am

    Well my boys names are out lol. Bryan and Jordan πŸ˜€

    I like Kyle and Edward and Joseph and Joshua

    Good luck on your invitation/announcement gig. I’ve done a few invitations for my son’s party and I made some for my little cousin’s baptism and just this week – for my sister’s XVanera. TOO fun!!!

  9. August 10, 2006 8:36 pm

    Congrats on the business! I’ll try to remember to think on a name when I’m not quite so tired.

    Favorite boy names – well, Matthew is 2 syllables, as is Michael. My nephew is Josh/Joshua, which has already been said. There’s a boy in Kaylee’s class named Jett, which is kind of interesting. I’ve always liked Jack or Jake (which I think has already been said as well). The newest baby on my soap is named Spike. LOL

  10. August 12, 2006 7:07 am

    hmmmm all the names that come to mind fall into the “Nos”. Can’t wait to see some of the great stuff you come up with for your business!! How exciting, you will do an awesome job!

  11. Jennifer permalink
    August 18, 2006 4:55 pm

    I am a sucker for the name Andrew

Leave a Reply

