Skip to content

My Style

July 26, 2006

So that last layout really had me thinking (about scrapping and not about life)…

1) I really love using Jessica’s stuff, it’s the closest to “freestyle” that I come, I never use a sketch, I never look for inspiration, it just flows when I open a folder with JBolton on it.
2) There is an official “freestyle” style that I haven’t mastered at all, but secretly adore.
3) I applied to Karen’s team because I thought it would provide me an opportunity to step out of my style and freestyle it a bit.

This afternoon at about 12:30, the *bleep* hit the fan, almost literally. Mom locked herself in the bathroom, my sister had a mental breakdown, and I went home, picked up my laptop, went to Mom’s apartment, and sat there while she worked out her little bowel emergency. After a piece of her colon was removed in April, you can imagine that radation and chemo is playing havoc in that region. In all honesty, I don’t think I really needed to be there, but my sister gaged when she used to change my son’s diapers, I honestly didn’t think she had it in her to help Mom with this current challenge.

So anyway, my laptop, Karen’s new Sewing Box collection and Big Boy paper pack, a copy of Scrapbook etc.’s Design Secrets page 121, and I had a “moment” of our own. That moment turned into several hours, but here’s my newest layout. Feel free to tell me it’s too much, but I honestly love it! A blatent scraplift from Elsie Flannigan from Scrapbook etc.’s Design Secrets page 121.

luvu.jpg

You ready for these credits?

Scraplift of Elsie Flannigan from her My Star layout in Scrapbook Etc.’s Scrapbook Secrets page 121.

By Karen Hunt:
Papers from Big Boy Paper Pack at SBB (including papers that the stars were cut out of)
Stitches from the Sewing Box Crooked Stitches and the Sewing Box Missed Stitches from SBB
Grossgrain Ribbon from the Sewing Box Grossgrain Ribbons at SBB
Satin ribbon from Sewing Box Satin Ribbons at SBB
Buttons from Sewing Box Button Jar at SBB
Ric Rac from Sewing Box Ric Rac at SBB
Arrow is a brush by Karen from Funky Doodles Arrows at SBB

Extras (all things I’ve copied from the designer folder and placed in my use over and over folder):
Circular Paint Stroke by Jessica Bolton’s Messy Paint Brushes at Eclectic Scraps
Polka dot ribbon (recolored) by Gina Cabrera from Compassion at Shabby Shoppe
Graphic Brushes used in background by Michelle Coleman at Scrap Artist
Big flower stamp (recolored) by Sara Carling from her Design Brushes (formerly at TDC)
Staple by Nancie Rowe Janitz from Still Life at Scrap Artist
Schmootzy Stamped Alpha by Nancie Rowe Janitz from Scrap Artist
Yellow/Orange Brad by Kim Jenson from Garden Whimsy Night Owl Prize at RAKScraps
Masking Tape by Leila Schweiss from the RAKScraps For the Boys Fundraiser at Scrapdish

I decided that I haven’t really gotten to the place I want to be freestyle wise, so I grabbed a favorite freestyle layout from a scrap mag and went to town. Now lets see if I can do it without scraplifiting.

PS. Juices are flowing, an unusual request from a customer at Scrapdish might have sparked my designing bug, I even got a swatch put together, lets see if I can turn it into a kit. I hear some commissions calling my name, to be spent on Kim Christenson’s new RAD CD, LOL!!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2006 8:09 am

    LOVE the new layout!!! Stunning! Sometimes a straight lift is just in order to jump start more creativity.
    Hugs to you all!

  2. Margaret permalink
    July 27, 2006 8:34 am

    Love the scraplift!

  3. Raji permalink
    July 27, 2006 1:08 pm

    Wow! love your new LO Tania. I’m going to scraplift your scraplift:)

  4. July 27, 2006 4:24 pm

    Tania…LOVE the layout!!! I secretly want to master the “freestyle” style also! Just not sure I have it in me to be so free and random KWIM? Now do another one…I need the inspiration!

  5. July 27, 2006 5:13 pm

    Oh what a cool page Tania!!!! I just love Elsie too – just got the book and I may need to scrap lift some of it so I can feel that creative.

    And seriuosly Kim’s collection is a great motivation to work on that project! It is super cool!!!!

  6. July 27, 2006 5:13 pm

    I don’t think it’s too much at all!! It totally rocks! I love the freestyle look too, and have done a couple in that general vein lately, although not quite as over the top as many I’ve seen. It took me forever to do even the simpler ones I did. I’m not sure I have it in me to do something more loaded. I may have to try a lift at some point too, just to get a feel for it.

    Can’t wait to see what you do with the kit, Tania. So excited for you that your design spark may be firing up again. šŸ™‚

  7. July 28, 2006 7:05 am

    The LO is awesome!! What a list of credits too! I can’t wait to see what you create! I really miss your stuff! I hope your mom is feeling better and gets a chance to get out of the bathroom. Make sure she has a good book or magazine šŸ™‚

  8. July 29, 2006 12:01 pm

    I think the layout came out awesome!! Tania that is sooo cool and you did a really good job with that scraplift :D… and… did I hear the designing bug may have hit? YAY!! If I liked your very first kit ever… I can’t wait šŸ˜€

  9. Susan permalink
    July 29, 2006 2:50 pm

    I am so sorry for all the*** that’s hitting the fan for you. Know that you are in my thoughts and I hope things get better for you soon.

  10. Susan permalink
    July 29, 2006 2:51 pm

    P.S. I love the layout!!!!!!

  11. July 30, 2006 7:35 pm

    Tania, it’s an awesome layout and I love it! I’m only jealous that I haven’t mastered the style yet šŸ™‚

  12. tracy b permalink
    August 2, 2006 12:35 pm

    oh my goooddnnessss I love love lvoe that. gonna lift it from you! Miss ya! sounds like you had a blast at the fair…and I am like him…run cow runnnnnn!

  13. August 9, 2006 9:30 am

    woohooo….a new kit coming soon?!? Can’t wait to see you putting some designs out there again.

    The layout is really quite amazing! Love it!!!

Leave a Reply

