Skip to content

Strained

July 9, 2006

My saturday was pretty crazy. JT and I were walking to the bus stop and some tree roots have been lifting the sidewalk, I took a bad step and landed hard with both my ankles twisted underneath me. I got up pretty quick and we made/hobbled our way to the bus stop. The bus came, and when we got to the mall, my ankles felt like they were on fire! Joel was at work, so he had to come and pick us up, I seriously couldn’t make the whole bus ride back and then walk home. He had to go back to work because he had an appointment coming in and I managed to make dinner and do the dishes. Finally at 8 pm last night I called my Mom. LOL! I’m such a whip! She came over and helped me get it elevated and iced, then she put JT to bed. Joel got home late, as usual. So I’ve been taking it pretty easy all day today as well. It’s feeling better, but as soon as I let the Advil wear off or spend any time on it, it starts to swell and ache. I’m sure it’s nothing more than a strain or pulled tendon, but it hurts!!

I was all set to go to Dani’s chat last night at Guardian Peas too, and my internet connection died. It came back about 9pm, just the time the chat was ending, so I spent some time leaving comments in some galleries, cleaned out my inbox, and goofed around at DST.

While goofing a thread popped up that the SBB Designer Announcement were made, I looked and sure enough Robin is a new SBB designer. Huge Toot Toot for Robin! Out of everyone I’ve met in the digi community, Robin deserves this the most! And I mean that from the bottom of my heart. Now she’s the only friend/person that I actually know applied, so I appologize if I’m hurting feelings here, etc. That’s not my intention, but I know how much she’s wanted this for so long, and well, she just rocks, is so loyal, so dedicated, such a good friend. Way to go Robin!!

I did manage to finish a couple layouts this weekend and my Chick’s Life Freedom layout is almost complete, I’m searching for the perfect elements, and just haven’t found what I want.

Anyway, here’s what I did get done. Haven’t uploaded to any galleries yet, so they’re nice and fresh, LOL!
I am so completely addicted to Dani’s Cabana Boy kit, also used her new flash cards, a felty shape, yellow so square stitches, and her label it all from her a la carte section. The light blue background paper is from her Hopscotch kit.I-Love-This-Kid.jpg

And Karen Hunt has a fabulous new paper pack at SBB!! It’s called Summer Butterflies and it is adorable with pics of my in-law’s god-daughter. She and JT have so much fun when she visits. I’m not much of a doodler, but I could get used to this, Karen’s stuff is really fun and she includes a doodle in all of her latest stuff! And that alpha, um yeah!
Credits on this are long! Papers and butterfly stamp from Karen Hunt’s new Summer Butterflies paper pack at SBB, Scroll from Karen Hunt’s Funky Doodle’s Scrolls at SBB, Stars from Karen Hunt’s Funky Doodles Borders at SBB, Orange glitter rimmed alpha from Karen Hunt’s Bursting with Color alphas at SBB, Tied ribbon by Steph Krush from SBB Subscriber Downloads, Paper tear by Steph Krush from DigitalPaperTearing.com, Green tag (lightened to match) from Holly McCaig’s Spring in St. Louis, Orange and Pink Gossgrain Ribbons & Eyelets by Nancie Rowe Janitz from Sunny Daze from Scrapartist.com, Stitched border by Shabby Princess from Spledid at ShabbyPrincess.com. Tape by Leila Schwiess from last July’s RAKScraps fundraiser For the Boys at Scrapdish.
Nicole-KHSummerButterflies.jpg
And I realized I never uploaded a layout I did with Correen’s Flowers for Jeanine. This is a heritage page with a modern feel. I just thought it was a really fun pack and loved it so much, when I saw it come through I thought of this photo, my Mom is gonna love this! Everything by Correen from Flowers for Jeanine at SBB. Also used Tattered edge by Roberta D’Achillie. Binder clip by Gina Miller at SBB, Paper Flower and Stitches by Jessica Bolton at Eclectic Scraps, Date Pin by Holly McCaig.

Lynn-Piano.jpg

Joel’s Dad is planning on making his visit this week. We’re both excited to meet him and see where this goes. I know he seems like a very nice guy on the phone, and we’re already finding those quirky things that make them similar. I got a chance to speak to Joel’s half-sister too, she seems so sweet. It’s kinda funny finding a family you always knew was there, but never thought you’ld meet.

Work is probably going to be really busy again this week. In fact the work I brought home with me isn’t quite done, so I better go!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2006 9:40 pm

    Ouch on the strain! Hope it’s not actually a sprain and heals quickly!

    Yay for Robin!! I totally agree. She’s so deserving.

    Really beautiful layouts! I love the way you put everything together. I’m doing a bit of personal scrapping, and am finding I’ve been spoiled (ruined?) by all the sponsor layouts. I’m so used to working with one kit, that I’m absolutely struggling with trying to mix and match. Ugh. So frustrating.

    I’d never heard of Karen Hunt before, but I love her stuff. Fabulous color!

  2. July 10, 2006 1:57 am

    Oh girl (((hugs))) hope that ankle feels better soon!!

    Your layouts are beautiful & creative as always!

    I’m so happy for Robin – she is such a nice gal!

    Ya know, someone else I know completely missed that SBB call for store designers and has been beating herself up over it ever since she realized… *rolling eyes* ugh!

  3. Raji permalink
    July 10, 2006 4:38 am

    Oh Tania. Hope your ankle heals soon. Love your layouts. I’m very happy for Robin. Her designs rock.

  4. July 10, 2006 6:32 am

    OUCH!!!!!!!!! They say that sprains can actually be worse than breaks! Take care of yourself and keep some ice on them!

    Your LOs are great as usual! And that is so awesome about Robin! I didn’t even know she applied! She deserves! Ok now my comment is a mile long!!!

    Have fun with Joel’s DAd… so exciting!

  5. July 10, 2006 9:21 am

    your layouts are absolutely gorgeous as always. I’m especially smitten with that first one. beautiful!

  6. July 10, 2006 8:18 pm

    Oh ouch Tania!!! I hope you are feeling better today. Love the layouts…as usual!!

  7. July 11, 2006 7:14 am

    Oh – ouch! I hope you are feeling better very soon!!! 🙂
    You are just on a roll with your layouts! Love that 1st one with JT!
    🙂

  8. July 11, 2006 7:02 pm

    ouch tania!! i hope your ankle feels better soon!!
    and i had no idea that robin is now a designer at sbb!! that rocks for her!! whoo hooo!! i think she deserves it too!!
    and of course like always i am love lovein your layouts!!!

  9. July 11, 2006 7:12 pm

    OMG you are making me teary!!!! Thank you for your sweet words mi hermana! 🙂 You such a great friend and all of your support has been so important to me. (I threw in Naturally Shabby after you mentioned it btw – I always forget about that one! LOL!)

    I hope your ankle feels better too! I love your pages. And how cool that you’re getting to meet Joel’s dad! That’s great!!!

  10. July 12, 2006 10:25 pm

    Oh, you poor thing!! Hope that the visit goes well too, and I LOVE all your layouts!

  11. July 15, 2006 6:04 pm

    Ouch!! I hope you are feeling better now! Love your layouts – you have such a cool style!

Leave a Reply

