Skip to content

Dad’s Day

June 18, 2006

Well, here it is, father’s day and me and JT are home alone again. Joel is at work, of course. I hope he sells something today and makes it worth it. It’s been a very slow month so far, I’m hoping the second half of the month goes better for him.

I made this layout last night, Joel got home in time to watch the last few minutes of the Giants game, I had started the layout earlier in the day but after I took this picture I swapped out the first one. I love it! It’s just a very typical moment, JT misses him so much, even if Joel doesn’t get home from work until after 10, JT will wait patiently in his room for Joel to come home and read him Thomas the Train. Which is quite impressive, since I put him to bed at 8:30.
WhatIWanted-Blog.jpg
I used a ton of supplies in this layout, Blue, Orange, and Brown Papers, Heart Scrap, Gliter Star, and buttons are from Meredith Fenwick’s Just For Fun kit. The red checked border is by Amber Clegg from the Backyard BBQ Digi Chick collab kit. Red ribbon, transparent photocorner and paper clip by Laura Alpuche from the Backyard BBQ Digi Chick collab kit. The brown overlay is from Meredith Fenwick’s Shine On Element Pack. Alpha stamps used in “Father & Son” are Michelle Underwood’s Super Cool Alphabet. Stitched border and crossstich (skewed to fit buttons) by Shabby Princess from Splendid. Paper Tears by Steph from Digital Paper Tears. Fonts are LD Sweet Potatoes and LD Coffee House.

I miss my Dad today. Next to Joel, he’s the best Dad ever. As a single dad raising two kids, he might not have always known what to do with me, especially during my teenage years, but I appreciate so much all he did to make sure we were okay. It’s been too long since I’ve lived near Dad, I’ve been feeling like it’s time to go home. I left for a three month visit to California over 11 years ago. And as much as I’m greatful for the last 11 years, I miss Dad, my Nino & Nina (Godparents), my brother, my nieces and nephews, my cuz Denny, my friends, I miss the flatirons, Boulder Creek, the front range. I’m just super homesick today.

I’m doing Melinda’s Home is Where The Heart is project at RAKScraps. I decided to do an ATC deck about why I love my home so much, even though I haven’t lived there in soooo long. I’m doing another card tonight, but I needed a little info from Dad before I could get it done.
HomeATCs-TitlePage.jpg
For this deck of cards, I’m going to use Michelle Underwood’s Feeling Zen kit from ACOT and Meredith Fenwick’s buttons from Just For Fun. Boulder is so many things, a liberal oasis full of neo-new-agers, Boulder is where I learned about Buddism, being interconnected, all kinds of fluffy things that let me survive here in Northern California, LOL! Anyway this is a photo of the flatirons at the base of the Chitaqua Trail Head, it truley is this gorgeous. No kidding.

Okay, onto other things, so yesterday I was blog hopping and Kim Crother’s always has such great things, and she made these printable card kits for Creating Keepsakes, and I had to snag both! Love these! They are for sale and if you pick up one card kit, you get one for free at ScrapNFonts. I also grabbed a couple new Lettering Delight fonts, have you seen LD Sweet Potatoes yet, check it out in the layout above, love the toggle!
sk_the_best_dad_cards1.jpg
sk_birthday_bash_cards4.jpg

And in the midst of my shopping, I got an email ding regarding the release of June’s DeZine! Always (almost) pick these up, but this month, wow, look what they have inside!!
tdc-backyardbbq-preview.jpg
And when I got to the second to last page, Tin’s Waiting layout was there. Congrats Tin!! It’s such a personal and beautiful layout, a favorite!

Well, I imagine there are 101 things I could accomplish today, so I better hit the road, I hope everyone enjoys Father’s Day and I’m sure I’ll talk to you tomorrow, I’m just bursting at the seems to spill my beans, LOL!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2006 3:55 pm

    Love the Father & Son layout Tania!!! Thats what Kevin and Quinn are doing right now….I should go snap a pic of them 🙂

    Thanks for posting about the cards….made me smile! I’m glad you like them!!! And don’t they have some ROCKIN fonts at scrapnfonts??? I’ve been downloading like crazy…lol….:)

  2. June 18, 2006 8:57 pm

    Love the layout. Perfect the way you pulled everything together. That is so sweet that they’re so close.

    The ATC is gorgeous as well. Hope working on those helps a bit with your homesickness.

    Cute cards. I didn’t know Kim was designing for them.

    You have beans to spill? What are you waiting for? You’re such a tease! I’ll be back tomorrow! 🙂

  3. tracyB permalink
    June 19, 2006 7:51 am

    hi baby…been a while since I have talked with ya. Feel more connected and caught up with you now, lol.

    That layout is sooo cute as are the ones you did of that cutie little baby girl. Love them. And your atc is great too.

    So sorry you are feeling so homesick…hope you can go visit soon. Big hugs.

    And sorry JT is missing daddy so much…so hard on the little guys…they just don’t understand. I love that he waits up for his story. too cute

    Spilllll yourrrrrrrrrrr Beannnnnnnnnnnnnns. lol.

    miss ya!

  4. June 21, 2006 11:31 am

    Love the layout and the ATC Tania!! I’m sorry you are missing so many people right now. Being homesick sucks!!!

  5. June 21, 2006 11:55 am

    How cool that you’re doing an ATC set! That is such a great idea! I just saw Tin’s page too – isn’t that your kit! 🙂

Leave a Reply

