Skip to content

Cars…

June 11, 2006

Well, this weekend just flew by!

Friday night was Mom’s birthday. The whole family took JT to see Cars, what a blast, we all laughed so hard and left {in my best Tow Mater voice} “happier than a tornado in a trailer park” LOL. My new favorite kids movie by far! We got Mom another favorite movie, The Producers on DVD, sure to bring her much laughter over the next few months. Lots of laughing going on.

Yesterday was spent picking up my rental car, which should only take a half an hour or so. But they were running behind and almost didn’t have a car to give me. Well, aparently the guy at the counter was a bit flustered, he took my ID and AMEX and then we went to do the walk through and he never gave them back! By the time I realized what happened the branch was closed and get this…the store manager in Oakland doesn’t have an emergency number for the store manager in our town, and the area manager doesn’t have an emergency number on the weekend! So there is no one they can contact to open the store. I’m just totally floored. Aparently, no one from Oakland can be bothered to drive down and open our store, they’d rather have me driving their car without an ID. I had to call the hotel and verify I could check in without ID and since we have a corporate account, it won’t be a problem. But I don’t have my state issued AMEX and I have to put everything on my own private credit cards, I won’t get reimbursed until July or August, which means I’ll have to pay interest on my cards. I’m going to write a formal letter to their corporate office to complain. Once the guy realized he still had my cards, he should have called to have me come back to the store. And the fact there is no emergency contacts between these branches is just rediculous. I rent from them everytime I travel and I’m seriously thinking I never want to go back unless they can make it up in some way.

I’m waiting for my Mom to get here so I can leave for Hanford. I’m taking my camera to document my day in the life of an event planner for the Chick’s Life week I missed last month. I thought it would be fun to document how crazy these days can be so I can remember them later on. I’m only going for the first day of this event when normally I’d stay for the whole week, but with Joel’s new schedule and my Mom having doctors appointments all week, I had to hire another consultant to take my place, and if the laptop she brings isn’t compatible, there is a good chance I’ll have to leave this laptop behind. So I spent time yesterday and this morning making sure everything was backed up to the XHD. It’s been too long since I’ve done that!

Mom’s here, I should get on the road, have a great few days, and “see” you on Tuesday!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2006 3:24 pm

    That’s too insane about your ID and AmEx. I would be overly irritated! I really can’t wait to see your day in the life layout, I can’t even imagine what you do. And I’m glad to hear you’ve had lots of laughter. I can’t wait to see Cars now!! Have a good weekend/week! 🙂

  2. June 12, 2006 7:44 pm

    I want to see Cars too!! I heard it was good. Can’t wait to see the pics of your day.. I’ve yet to do that too. Have a great week!!!

  3. June 12, 2006 9:16 pm

    So glad you had so much fun at the movie! 🙂

    Wow, I can’t believe they wouldn’t get you your ID! What happens if you get pulled over? Are they going to pay your ticket? And that just sucks that you’ll end up having to pay interest. I’d write a FLAMING letter to their corporate offices.

    Looking forward to seeing the day in the life layout. I need to do another one of those. I did one for a CJ about a year and a half ago, but that was the only one I’ve done.

  4. June 14, 2006 9:07 am

    We JUST saw the movie yesterday. It was Totally cute!!! Definitely one we will buy for the boys. Wow – that’s horrible about your ID.. i’d be writing my letter too!

Leave a Reply

