Skip to content

Sniff, sneaze, drip, please make it stop!

June 6, 2006

I’ve never been allergic to anything except grass and milk. Thanks to our super wet and rainy spring, we’re having a super green summer, add the unusual amount of wind we’re having, and I’m officially a victim of allergies. I’m miserable, last night it was so bad I had to just lay down and keep my eyes closed, even though I wasn’t sleeping. This morning when I woke up, they were almost caked shut. Anyway, it’s driving me insain, I don’t know how people deal with this. Everyone keeps telling me that the clariton will kick in soon, but for real, nothing is giving me relief.

I’m happy to say, and super excited, that I made the Eclectic Scraps Team! I think everyone who reads my blog knows how much I love Jessica’s designs and kits. I think her style works really well with the kind of pages I prefer, lots of bold color, texture, and great paper style elements. Not to mention the most rockin’ patterns. Can’t wait to see what great things she has coming to her store.

I did this page for the scraplift challenge at TDC. This week we were lifting Rachael Galliongo’s (InLoveWithDots) Gallery, and I chose her fabulous 2 Cute 4 Words layout. Love that she has such a clean and linear style, but she manages to keep just the perfect balance in each layout. Just rockin’! I like how my page came out, I used Jessica Bolton’s Delight In Photographs kit.
BDayLO-RGiallongoLift-1.jpg

I’m not sure I can wait until next season’s Big Love. I just didn’t like that ending at all! And last night was the series finale for Everwood, and I hated that Amy went back to Efram. I’ve just never thought they were good for eachother, almost toxic really, they’re both so moody and melancholy, but, it is just a show after all, and a WB drama at that, LOL.

So in our own family drama, I have a huge update. I don’t talk about Joel’s family much at all, so bare with me while I catch you all up…
Joel’s biological father left and divorced Joel’s Mom when Joel was a wee lad, 2 months or so. Joel’s Mom went onto remarry her 3rd husband, who in time adopted Joel as his own son, and they also had twins. So from here on out, I’ll call bio dad R, Joel’s Mom will be D, and adopted dad B, just for clarity, OK? Well, somewhere in Joel’s early school-age years D & B divorced, D left Joel with B and his new family. Still with me? Joel is now 8 or 9 and living with adopted dad, half-siblings, a step-mom and new step-family, and has no idea he was adopted by B. So when Joel was 12, he found out about the adoption, and choose to join D in California, leaving B and his family behind, until eventually, there is no contact with B and his half-siblings & step-siblings (grudges are quite rediculous). K, fast forward to this weekend. R has contacted Joel’s maternal grandparents, since they are still in the same place, and has asked to reunite with Joel. Joel has another half-sister, and she also is wanting to meet Joel (and us, since we’re all a little package). Well, gee-whiz. Joel is actually kind of excited, his relationship having deteriated with B long ago, he’s always been curious about R. But keep in mind R did sign over legal rights to B, and if you think about it, poor Joel was abandoned three times, first by R, then by D (although they’ve mended fences and are very close) and then when Joel wanted to live with D, B gave him a silly ultimatum, her or us, what’s a 12 year old to do? It’s all just a big mess, but hey, what families are normal anymore?!? I’m not sure what Joel will decide, but of course I’d support him in any decision, and I’m actually quite curious. Grandpa just called me to tell me there are photos waiting in Joel’s email when he gets home. Now look at me, I’m a good wife not loggin’ into his account and stealing a peek, LOL!

Well, it’s time to go for the evening, I have some layouts I’m wanting to do for Chick’s Life. A new month, time to pick the kit I’ll be using. May was fun and random, but I’m happy to get back to a kit a month. I also have dishes, laundry, bath, pick up Joel, put JT to bed, and ykes, it’s already 8:30!

I’ll leave you with my UDS layouts, in case you never saw them, LOL!
ThatLook-Blog.jpg
Shine kit & Photo Overlay by Kim Crothers, Word paper by Jen Wilson, Stitching by Jessica Bolton.
ISeeAChicanaWEB-Blog.jpg
Background papers by Nancie Rowe Janitz from Fair Trade and Still life (blended). Twill & staple by Nancie Rowe Janitz’s Fair Trade. All from Scrap Artist. Alpha, Tag, & Frame, Amy Knepper’s a Man’s Man kit from Scrapdish. Torn notebook paper, Kimberly Giarusso’s Just the Basic’s Paper from The Digi Chick, Native American Symbols (Turtle & Sunflower) from Adobe Studio Exchange
LiveLaughPlay2-Blog.jpg
“Live” “Laugh” and “Play” Stamps by Dani Mogstad from Celebrate Life
Yellow, White, Blue & Orange Ribbons and alpha by Kim Crother’s from Flower Seed, Yellow Paper by Shabby Princess from Popsicles Paper Pack, Circle Stitches by Shabby Princess from Circle Fun Pack, Circle Paper Tear by Steph Krush from Digital Paper Tearing, Blue Paper (slightly recolored) by Andrea Burns from Lucky Boy Paper Pack, Green Paper by Jessica Bolton from Love This Guy Eclectic Kit.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2006 10:52 pm

    Congrats on the Eclectic Scraps Team!! You are going to do an awesome job! I love that lift of you and JT.. awesome.
    And by the way, you look like my cousin.

    Keep us posted on Joel and R.. very interesting. I think Joel should meet him and the half sister. Family is like fudge, some are filled with nuts πŸ™‚ but we still Love them and support them. (Note I’m not calling Joel a nut.. just wanted to add a little humor!)

    How is your mom???????

  2. June 7, 2006 9:00 am

    Congratulations on making the Eclectic team, Tania! Jessica is lucky to have you on her team! And yes, she does make fab stuff, doesn’t she? πŸ˜‰
    Wow, Joel has gone through so much in his life! I hope all goes well for him, and for all of you.
    Oh, and have I already told you that LO of you and JT is just too scrumptous?! LOL!
    Miss you, bella!

  3. karen permalink
    June 7, 2006 9:55 am

    Congrats! Jessica is so lucky to have you on her team! You’ve rocked her kits…I’ve already seen a couple of LOs from you w/her kits and was just wondering if you made the team.

  4. June 7, 2006 12:04 pm

    Hi there, I JUST joined the Creative Team at Digital Freebies and look forward to getting to use some of your kits! You’re great! I’ve also just read your blog and I’ve already bookmarked it! I love seeing some layouts and stuff w/ a little Spanish here and there!!! I LOVE your Chicana Layout!!! WAY Cool!!!
    ~Claudia

  5. June 7, 2006 6:17 pm

    Sorry about your allergies! They are no fun. I am still sore from my shots this week.
    Wha? You don’t want Ephram and Amy together! The one who should have left was Hannah. She’s giving up a full ride at a great school for a guy who cheated on her! LOL! Although I would stay for Bright too because I LOVE him. πŸ™‚
    Sounds great that Joel is getting back in touch with family. That’s good for all of you – especially JT who will have even more people fall in love with him I’m sure.
    And congrats on joining Jess’s team! That is so super cool!

  6. June 7, 2006 10:15 pm

    Aw, girl!! I am so sorry you are feeling bad. I’ve always thought that my allergies were not so bad, but considering the fact that I haven’t been able to breathe through my nose (among other things) in three weeks…. ugh. It really sucks. Keeping my fingers crossed that you get some relief soon!!

    Awesome layout! Love that photo of you and JT…you two are adorable πŸ˜€

    So….tell us more about those photos and keep us updated on the family drama!! LOL

  7. Melinda permalink
    June 7, 2006 11:32 pm

    Big huge congrats on making the Eclectic team!! I sent in my app for a permanent spot on Dani’s CT for the next 6 months a couple of days ago- keeping my fingers crossed!

    Mark has a whole drama about his Dad too. He hasn’t seen his Dad since he left when he was 4 and he has a half-sister he has never met. I don’t think he would agree to see him or even communicate with him if he ever called; I have no idea what he would do if his sister ever rang us up. The whole situation makes me sad- I feel like my kids are missing out. But, I can’t do anything about it.

    Love the LO with you and JT!

  8. June 8, 2006 8:46 pm

    Wonderful layout! And congrats on making the Eclectic Scraps Team!!! So you’ll be getting the kits for free now? Poor Jess – I can just hear her profits dropping. πŸ˜‰ I love her kits, and they’re all just totally “you”. She couldn’t have picked anyone better to show off her stuff!. πŸ™‚

  9. June 9, 2006 11:35 am

    I have so much to catch up on! Congratulations on making Jessica’s team, that’s awesome! I love all your pages. Glad to hear your Mom is doing better too. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

