Skip to content

Slushie

June 2, 2006

**Recipe**

The Smoothies, which come out a little more like slushies than smoothies actually, were a huge hit. First of all, I was soooo worried they would be too tart, I just love tart things, and I have to remind myself that people typically like sweet things more than tart things. Well it turned out perfect that the other treat we had at the party was a Chocolate Fountain, uh YUM! So, the tart rasberry lemonade really balanced out the rich sweet flavors of the Chocolate Fountain, and we had pound cake, strawberries, marshmellows, bananas, and pineapple for dipping.

I’m lactose intollerant so I always make stuff with as little dairy as I can. I can handle yogurt, but ice cream or straight milk really makes me pay dearly. So this recipe is completely lactose free (thus the slushie). This recipe was adapted from the Passion Lemonade Tea recipe from Starbucks Summer Drinks recipe book (available in 2005).

Ingredients:
Tazo Passion Herbal Infusion Tea (available at Starbucks)
Frozen Lemonade Concentrate
Frozen Rasberries (or Mixed Berries)
Ice
Simple Syrup (available in bottles at Starbucks, or mix sugar and hot water to make a syrup, let cool)
Water

First you need to brew a cup of the passion tea, 2 tea bags per 4 oz. Let steep for 10 minutes, remove bags, add 4 oz of cool water and leave in refrigerator until cold.

In a blender liquify the following: 1/2 can of frozen lemonade concentrate, 1/2 bag of frozen rasberries , 1/2 cup of cold Passion tea, 1/2 cup of ice, 2 tablespoons of simple syrup. Add as much water as needed during blending to get it pretty slushie. We had 4 blenders going and each needed a different amount of water depending on how well it blended the ice.

That’s it, you’ll have enough left over to make another batch!

**Brownies**
Making Rocky Road Brownies for Joel’s work, yum!! (We ended up rescheduling book club, too much fun and not enough work for one week, and now I can finish the book, LOL)I found the recipe here.

**Update on comments/freebie**
20 random people who left comments for the freebie on Monday will receive an email from me by Sunday. I’m taking the link down tonight. If you missed the freebie, I’m putting it at Scrapdish for a low, low, price, to help keep RAKScraps a fun and free site.

I’m running a little behind, I’m nursing a cold and supposed to go to Sacramento tomorrow. I’m visiting a friend who’s there with her parents who are attending a convention through the weekend. Me and her go back over 10 years, we had WAY too much fun hanging out on the Military Base where we lived before we met and married our Navy Airmen husbands. It cracks me up when I think about those days, clubin’ on the Hill, dancin’ our nights away, beer, house parties, sneaking into bars, Navy boys as far as the eye can see, Marine & Army Detatchments, The Royal British Navy visiting (yes, we’re both suckers for men in uniform, always will be), going to work with hangovers (or still a little tipsy accasionally, LOL), falling in and out of “love” so many times we probably drove most people crazy. She has 2 boys now, one is 6 and the other is 4. She’s currently a single mom, and her parents are taking her with them to Sacramento for a little break. I haven’t seen her in over 2 years and I’m excited. Watch out Sacramento, JK! At 30, our hard-living-late-teens probably show a little more than either of us would like, LOL.

I took the day off work today and slept my morning away. JT went to Day Care and Joel went to work, so I’ve been veggin’ this afternoon. But now, it’s time to pick JT up, make dinner and brownies. (Edited: My internet connection was down, so I picked up JT, made dinner, and now we’re taking a little break before brownie bakin’ time, thank goodness I save alot as I write these, so I didn’t lose to much.)

Hopefully, I’ll be in Sacramento tomorrow, so see you Sunday πŸ˜€

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2006 9:23 pm

    Glad your slushy smoothies worked out so well!

    Hope you a have a great time visiting with your friend tomorrow! πŸ™‚

  2. June 2, 2006 11:00 pm

    Oh man…those smoothies sound awesome!!! And I’m not even going to comment on the other treat you had cause I might gain that pound back if I even type the word! LMAO

    Glad you were able to have a nice quiet and relaxing day to yourself! Those days are so important!

  3. Melinda permalink
    June 2, 2006 11:28 pm

    Yummy!! the slushee sound delish, and I am a sucker for any type of brownie. Have a great time with your friend!

Leave a comment