Skip to content

Ultimately, I win

May 21, 2006

No, I didn’t make it into the 40, and that is just fine by me. I knew just as soon as I posted that layout, it wasn’t really what the judges would be looking for, or what others would consider my best work, and some others wouldn’t like it at all, and that is fine, because I just love that page, it’s ultimately me, and tells a story about my family that I feel is truely us, about Joel and JT, and how much the time they spend together means to me. The other thing is, I prefer one photo layouts, hardly ever do layouts with more than photo, so this REALLY pushed me. Alot of people in the competition kept saying that the journaling was the hardest, but not me. Really, I went through so many compositions with at least 3 photos, and I didn’t like a one. So I’ll stick to sketches if I need to get more than one photo on a layout, LOL!

A HUGE congrats to those who made it, including two people I’ve come to really cherish here in digiscrapland, Michelle (Rynonut Mom) and AmyK!

And guess what, I got the biggest complement. Well not the biggest, my friends, all of you who read my blog and leave me love and comments give me my biggest compliments all the time, and I cherish each one. Anyway, I won second prize in the Realistic Digital sketch competition at The Shabby Shoppe (a NSD crop) for this layout. Whoo hooo! First of all, when I scrap, I work really hard to make it as realistic as possible, so I’m really happy about this. Secondly, SP herself said she loves my layouts, and well, that softened the blow a bit today, LOL!

Joel is on a roll selling cars, but we hardly see him anymore. I’ve been so spoiled up until now, having him around to do the dishes, take care of JT, vacuum, and do the cat litter (all his jobs). Well, he’s way to busy now, putting in 9 to 12 hour days, last Thursday it was 13 hours (but he sold 3 cars!). I have to pick him up soon. I might try to make it to the Night Owl tonight if we make it in time. We’ll see.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2006 9:38 pm

    I loved your LO, Tania. Course I already told you that. lol. Congrats on winning the Shabby Princess contest – what an honor to have the SP herself pay you such a high compliment. I know you rock my world! Hugs!! šŸ™‚

  2. May 21, 2006 9:49 pm

    Well that is cool that you won the Shabby contest!!!!
    I think you’ve done really fantastic work for the Ulitmate contest too. šŸ™‚ You really rock! I keep forgetting to tell you how much I missed you last Sunday! And of course tonight I’m at work so I won’t be there but I’m sure I’ll catch ya soon! šŸ™‚

  3. May 22, 2006 8:45 am

    How cool that you won the SP contest, AND got a compliment from SP herself!!! Wow, that’s like the ultimate as far as compliments go, huh? šŸ™‚ Well, I loved your LO and you know you’re always a winner in my book. Smoochies!

  4. May 22, 2006 12:42 pm

    How cool that you got a prize for that layout! I loved that one. Of course, I love all your layouts! šŸ™‚ Sorry about the UDS. You’re ultimately a totally rockin’ scrapper anyway! Phooey on some contest. šŸ˜€

    Woo hoo on Joel’s sales! Hope the hours ease up soon!

  5. May 22, 2006 1:48 pm

    Awww – thanks Tania!
    You did some amazing layouts that you should be very proud of!
    And CONGRATS on the SP contest!!!! How cool is that? You rawk!
    Go Joel!!!

  6. Melinda permalink
    May 22, 2006 2:38 pm

    The important thing is scrapping is making yourself happy and recording things for your family, and your LO did that so it was, and is, great!

    congrats on the SP contest! and getting a compliment from SP herself?! Awesome!

Leave a Reply

