Skip to content

It’s up

May 18, 2006

I finally decided on a layout, I had done this layout last night after the 12×12 layout and the other 8.5×11 layout didn’t really sit right with me. But last night, it was kind of washed out, the colors weren’t really me. So after a fun romp through the hard drive, diggin’ out lots of goodies, I colored it up a bit, and added some fun. See my Week 3 Ultimate layout here!.

And since this one didn’t make my cut, take a look!
Yum.jpg

I really like this layout in a lot of ways, but, the pictures weren’t the best quality and have some distortion I didn’t have time to clean up, and I just didn’t feel like it was my best work for this week. Here’s the journaling: At first glance, these photos are typical of a 6 month old, enjoying the new tastes and textures of his first can of pears. Wet, a little cold, mushy, and oh so sweet. Of course you are wide eyed with wonder! But I see something different in these pictures, I see a very happy baby boy, who’s Daddy took such great care of you for so many months while Mommy went to work. I see a boy who was well adjusted, who loved nothing more than spending his days with his Dad. This was the first of almost daily photo shoots of you eating. Dad would put you in your chair and snap a picture of almost every bite you took. Your first foods were pears mixed with cereal, then peas and carrots. You gnawed on whole carrots (under very close supervision) while you were teething. You moved onto snacks like cherrios, crackers, and then you discovered peanut butter and apples. I have pictures of so many feedings. And I look at the first year of your life and there are so many photos of more than just food. I have pictures of you rolling over for the first time, climbing up your toy basket, sitting up by yourself, crawling on your own, and so many smiles. All milestones that happened while I was at work. I have to admit that I was mighty jealous at times when your Dad would call me and tell me what you were getting into. But your Dad took endless pictures of that first year, so that I might share the days the two of you had, playing, exploring, learning about new and exciting things…like pears. And I’d never have it any other way. You had your Dad’s undivided attention for the first 3 years of your life, how could a Mom ask for anything more, especially if she got pictures of almost all those moments!

Yellow paper, Black type key alpha, brown brads by Gina Cabrera from Monkey Business (DDE); White “Time of Your Life Alpha” by Gina Cabrera (DDE); Brown paper by Mrs.Schmuck from Schweet Schtuff; Striped paper, flower buttons by Holly McCaig from Spring in St. Louis (Holly McCaig Designs); Blue Twill (slightly recolored), Tags & tied clear epoxy numbers by Andrea Burns from Lucky Boy (The Digi Chick); Font is CK Artisan.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2006 4:36 pm

    This is just aborable Tania! Just left you some love on your contest page too. I love your journaling and am so glad your dh took all these photos for you!

  2. May 19, 2006 7:54 pm

    What an awesome Daddy to do that for you! Love this one too. And I think, even if it did cause you a bit more decision-making stress, that it’s a good thing you created mulitple layouts, because now you have this fabulous journaling all set in place.

    (BTW, I hope my last comment on here didn’t come across too obnoxious. I was more than a little slap-happy. I went to bed early last night, and I took a two hour nap this afternoon, and I’m still tired. ::yawn::)

  3. DebsAngels permalink
    May 20, 2006 2:33 am

    Wow- both of your layouts are wonderful! How ever did you manage to get them both done in a week?? Best of Luck with you entry in the contest!!

  4. Raji permalink
    May 20, 2006 3:31 am

    Grear LO Tania. Love the page you did for the contest. Good Luck.

  5. Melinda permalink
    May 20, 2006 9:43 pm

    Love them both, Tania! I’m not sure if I left you a comment on your UDS LO or not- I don’t think I did…. I thought about it, just not sure I actually put my hands on the keyboard to type it. What a great Dad to take pictures of everything for you. I like the simplicity of it- really keeps the focus on the pictures and your journaling. I hope you are having a good weekend.

  6. May 20, 2006 10:01 pm

    Oooh, I loved this page when I saw it in the RAKScraps gallery! Your DH is such a sweetie, T. And wow, the page you made for UDS…fab!!! Best of luck in the comp, bella!

Leave a Reply

