Skip to content

Mother’s Day

May 14, 2006

I kinda avoided the day, I had Mom over, but she wasn’t feeling like eating, so I just took her out for a coffee. Joel was working, so it was mostly just JT and me, I got phone calls and MySpace comments from family & friends, when Joel got home from work, we went out for TCBY Yogurt. It wasn’t the best day, but it wasn’t bad either.
I’ve made it to the next round of the Ultimate contest, that’s exciting. There’s only 100 of us left, it sounds like 60 of us will be eliminated in the next round, or maybe it was 40. I’m not quite sure, but either way, the competition is getting really stiff! I joined kinda on a whim, but what I’ve really liked about this is seeing layouts from people I never seen before that hang out in different places. And then there’s the comment thing, a normal layout of mine at RAKs & TDC gets 7 to 8 comments, at SBB I typically get 3 or 4. 2Peas is weird, sometimes I get 6 or 7, sometimes none. But there’s something about getting over 30 comments to give you a little boost, and I’ve been leaving comments on all I possibly can, people who comment me, and other’s that really move me. And the cool thing is, people are sending pm’s thanking people for comments. It’s really quite cool, this whole thing. I’m not a competitive person, and much to dh’s disapointment I announced this evening I’m real proud I made it two rounds, and I’m going to give it my best shot, but I won’t be upset if I don’t go past this week. There are some amazing scrappers left, and there have been some of the best who haven’t gone on.
Seriously, it hurt me to see some of the names that didn’t make it this week, people like JustJulz, who was around RAKs when I first started and I just LOVE what she does with photos, and Bree Clarkson, who’s Scrap Maps I return to again and again when I need to get a page done and don’t have an ounce of creativity left in me.
And then the heavy hitters that are still in the game, I can name 20 right now who’s layouts I look at every time I see them in a gallery, and they always rock. And then I think of all my favorite scrappers who aren’t even in the competition. See, I’m not competetive, I just love what we do, and for some reason, felt like doing this to challenge myself, and I’m actually having fun and not stressed about it. So there we are. This next week should be super interesting, we need to scrap at least 3 photos, tell a story with our journaling, and the journaling must take up 40% of the layout. I might go to 12 x 12 on this one, just to have more space to work with. I can think of a couple different directions I can go with this, I just have to decide, graphic? traditional? pics of JT or pics of objects that tell something about me? There is so much going through my head.
I have to go to work tomorrow, I am sending someone else to one of my trainings on Tuesday, and that is always so hard for me. In the moment I’m really good about solving problems that come up with every event. I take responsibilty for my poor planning (or sometimes great planning and nothing I could have done to prevent it, like the fire in the kitchen at the conference center!) and I just fix it. It’s hard for me to send someone in my place, if I forgot something and they have to clean up my mess, I always feel so bad. But anyway, this last week I started drawing boundaries about what I can get done. You already know about resigning from RAKs and taking a break from designing, but not going to this training, or the one’s next week, are some other boundaries I’ve drawn.
This last week’s Chick’s Life prompt was about Balance. So fitting, again. Here’s my layout.
Week18-Balance.jpg
The kit I used is Jen Wilson’s Thinking Paper Pack, The date stick pin is by Holly McCaig, the swirl is recolored and is by Shabby Princess from Play All Day.
So no funnies here, I found one, but it’s hard sometimes for me to tell if the jokes are offensive, so I always tend not to pass those on. Hopefully I’ll find a good one to share tomorrow. But I laughed so hard I had tears in my eyes, good, happy, smiling, tears, and Mom too. It was good.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2006 4:07 am

    Congratulations on making it through to the next round! Awesome girl! Good luck with the new requirements!

    Gorgeous layout!! I love the colors and how you layered the papers/photographs… it rocks!

    LOL – I hear ya about the jokes…I’m never sure what will offend someone of not, but I am personally unoffendable. 😉

  2. Melinda permalink
    May 15, 2006 10:16 am

    Cognrats, Tania!! I didn’t have a doubt you would make it to round 3- that was one awesome LO you did for 2. I am looking forward to seeing this week’s LO. Yep, one of the posts over there in the forum says that 60 people get cut this next round- only 40 go on. I seriously don’t know how they can decide. The gallery is so full of great LOs.

    I agree, it is so hard to give up control of things and trust that others can handle what you are used to doing. I’d like to say that it gets easier with time, but I’m not sure it does. I think being comfortable with the people you are assigning things to, knowing they can handle the things that come up well, makes a big difference. I hope you have a good group of people you can rely on at work.

    Anyway, I’ve got to get back to my cleaning duties since Sarah is still asleep. Have a great day!

  3. May 15, 2006 10:23 pm

    Congrats on making it to round 3!! That’s awesome and I can’t wait to see what you come up with! You are an AWESOME scrapper!! I love your LO for Chick’s Life! Very true journaling! Plus the composition is great! Sorry to hear about your trainings, but remember it will all get better and I’m sure there will be plenty of more trainings that you will take part in.. does that make sense??? Hugs!

  4. May 15, 2006 10:35 pm

    Just checkin’ in~ congrats on the next step of the challenge.
    Sorry to hear about your mom…I know how difficult it is.

    You’re not out of balance..the world is…in my humble opinon. (Hope that makes you smile.)
    Corri

  5. Raji permalink
    May 16, 2006 1:03 am

    Congrats on making it to the next round. I loved the lo’s you did for the first 2 rounds, can’t wait to see this one.

  6. May 17, 2006 4:24 pm

    And it just sawned on me what this week’s prompt might mean to you…. Well – fiddle. Don’t hold it against me! I’ve had the mom theme planned for this week from the beginning! These all seem to be so very timely for you! 🙂
    I’m stressed about this week’s UDC layout too! Ugh!
    Have a great day, Tania!

  7. May 17, 2006 5:51 pm

    Congrats on Ultimate! Your layout was really stunning! 🙂

    This layout is truly wonderful too. I love the composition, and the journaling is perfect. You just be. 🙂

    Glad you got a good laugh from whatever it was! 🙂

  8. May 20, 2006 3:54 pm

    gorgeous Tania – just gorgeous…

Leave a Reply

