Skip to content

Read this, then see some layouts

May 7, 2006

Thanks for your comments on my contest layout πŸ˜€ I made it through round one!

Lately, I’m finding that I’m not a chatty chick on my blog and the forums, but for the first time in months I’m enjoying leaving comments in some galleries, I try to leave a comment for every comment I get, rather than try to make it through pages and pages of layouts, and it’s working very nicely! What’s funny is when I’m not good at making layout comments, I seem to have tons of stuff to say over here in the blog and vice versa.

Did everyone have a nice NSD yesterday? I only made it to one chat, popped in at another, and made it to 1 store, LOL. I got to say hello over at The Shabby Shoppe for the Realistic Digital chat. This chat topic sounded really interesting to me, I am always super envious of those pages that really look real, and the Shabby Artists are among the best at that. I made it back to the Shabby Shoppe with a few minutes left in Shabby Miss Jenn’s chat Scrapping the Shabby Days. I just love Shabby Miss Jenn, she lives about 5 miles from me and I actually met her at Target around Christmas time. She really is as Shabby Sweet as she seems to be, and I wanted to say hi. Then I did a little shopping at SBB. I had to pick up another of the Andy’s Things kits by Gina. I stopped into the Digi Chick this morning to check out this week’s Chicks Life challenge and saw this week’s Scraplift challenge is of Michelle, our very own Chick’s Life leader. I had to jump in on that one!

So last night & today, while cleaning the house and doing laundry, and printing pages for my hubby’s scrapbook (yes all 3 things took me all night and day, and I still need to fold 2 loads), I managed to get 2 pages done. One is for the contest for the Realistic Digital Chat, can’t pass up a chance to win goodies from the Shoppe! Miss Kim gave us an awesome sketch, here’s what I came up with, as realistic as possible.
ByMySideBLOG.jpg
Credits: Papers & Staples Γ’β‚¬β€œ Lisa Marie Cohen, My Boy from Scrap Artist; Photo Corner Γ’β‚¬β€œ Nancie Rowe Janitz, Still Life from Scrap Artist; Messy Stitches & Blue Tag (slightly recolored) Γ’β‚¬β€œ Shabby Princess, Space Boy from The Shabby Shoppe; Circle Stitches Γ’β‚¬β€œ Shabby Princess, Circle Fun from The Shabby Shoppe; Brads & String by me

For the scraplift challenge I chose to lift Michelle’s Signs of Spring layout, truely one of my all time favorites. Here’s what I came up with.
MichelleScrapliftBLOG.jpg
Credits: Background paper: Michelle Underwood’s Inner Child (ACOT); Patterned Paper Tag, & Twill: Brenda Kemphf’s Blue Hawaii (SBB); Mesh, Alpha and Glitter Glue: Gina Miller’s Under the Sea from Andy’s Things Collection 1 (SBB); Dynamo Tag: Shabby Princess Splash (The Shabby Shoppe).

The next challenge has been posted for the Ultimate Digiscrapper contest (congrats to all who made it BTW). It’s an AAM. 100 people will be eliminated, this one’s gonna be rough. I’m so siked right now about making it through the first round, so I’m not stressing to much about round two yet. I have some ideas running around in my head, so I better get scrapping before someone thinks of it before me, LOL!

Enjoy Scrapweek at RAKScraps! Lots of fun challenges and stuff all week! Which means more layouts for me to tackle, yay!

Oh, and in case you haven’t noticed, I’m taking a bit of a break from designing. I need to learn Illustrator, and I don’t really want to do any new kits until I get in there and figure it out. Just in case you were wondering what’s going on with that. I’m a little burnt out again, last time I was burnt out I came up with PoshTots, still my best seller at Digital Freebies, so, ya never know.

Big fun coming to RAKScraps in June! Melinda will be running a new Get Creating project. It will be tons of fun and totally organized, Melinda is such a great planner! I need to take lessons from her. And I know she must think I’ve forgotten about another project we talked about a while ago, but I haven’t ((winking at Melinda))!

Well, I need to do a credits page for Joel’s scrapbook, he’s going to put it on his desk at work so his clients will have something to flip through while they are waiting. He wants me to do more scrap-4-hire projects, and this is his way of pushing that on me LOL. As if!

Have a great week!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancy Comelab (aka belgianangel) permalink
    May 8, 2006 1:13 am

    Congratulations, Tania! Your LO is stunning! πŸ™‚ Good luck for round two!

  2. May 8, 2006 6:23 am

    You had more fun this weekend than I did! LOL – sounds like you had a great time!! And both layouts are AWESOME! I especially love the ‘Always by My Side’ layout – love, love, love the picture and the colors/patterns are gorgeous! Gonna have to look for that boy kit! Can never have enough good ones, huh?

    Good luck learning Illustrator! Might have to pick your brain a little once you’ve figured it out *wink* I used it for my first kit and just haven’t gotten back in there since. I so prefer PS!

    Take Care!

  3. May 8, 2006 6:45 am

    Woohoooo!!! Congratulations, bella! Though it wasn’t really a surprise. πŸ˜‰ Good luck on round 2! Love ya, girlie!

  4. May 8, 2006 10:37 am

    Tania! I love love love that layout of you and JT! Your journaling is awesome, and it does indeed look so realistic. I’ve been missing your blogs, I’m glad you’re back. Congrats on making it through round 1 – I’m looking forward to your Week 2 LO. πŸ™‚

  5. Melinda permalink
    May 8, 2006 10:56 pm

    Oh, I love the LO of you and JT too. Awesome journaling!

    Good luck on the second round!

    I’m not worried about that other project… it’s not been at the top of my to-do list either lately LOL! One of these days we will both have some inspiration, right?

  6. Raji permalink
    May 9, 2006 5:56 am

    Congrats Tania. Those 2 layouts are awesome, esp. the journaling in the first one.

  7. May 9, 2006 10:01 am

    Really fabulous layouts. I love the first one – perfect photo and journaling, and so many wonderful details. I had to laugh at the “Dog Days” title with with the photo on the second one. No way would you be able to wear long pants, long sleeves, and a hood here that time of year!!! It’s a terrific layout though. Fabulous colors and I love the way you put everything together. Gosh darn it, I need some way to have a favorites gallery when I’m blog hopping!

  8. May 13, 2006 8:37 pm

    Tania, where have you been hiding? I don’t ever thing I’ve seen any of your layouts until now! You seriously need to post at DF…we need some awesome layouts in the gallery. πŸ™‚ I’m so sorry to hear about your Mom (she will be in my prayers) and that you’re going to be taking a break. I’m glad you are doing what is best for you and your family. Take care! Keela

Leave a Reply

