Skip to content

Where’s Johnny Depp!

April 23, 2006

If I have to deal with pirates, then I choose to deal with Johnny Depp! Even Orlando Bloom would be better than what I’ve been dealing with today.

Some great designers, that I hold in the highest regard, and who are always on top of everything, and just plain rock, notified me this morning that one of my kits was being shared illegally on a Yahoo Group.

Well, the Stop Digital Pirates blog is a great resource, and of course, I went there first to figure out what to do. So I decided to contact the person in good faith (and the owner of the group, in this case, one in the same) sharing the file, that they are breaking copyright law.

Well, this is the response that I got!!! (Cussing has been edited)

“I hope you sent this bulls**t to everyone else in everyone other yahoo group that is sharing it…especially the one in which i got it from…
 
this is free advertising…i’ll keep in mind to keep sharing your s**t and you’re just a money hungry b***h 
 
And it’s not really my group..just cuz i started it..it’s an affiliate group derived from msn..”

OMG! I just want to say, that I have A LOT of undirected anger at the moment, my mom’s cancer, life just in general not going well…she has just opened a whole lot of problems for herself!

First of all, I don’t really care about the MSN group, I have NO idea what she’s talking about. Second of all, Yahoo is very interested in the fact that she implicated other Yahoo groups, doh! Thirdly, the measly $40 or so dollars I have recieved this month in royalties off of all my kits on both sites, not just the kit being shared, is hardly enough to call me a money hungry b***h!! And I don’t really care that I disclosed the measly amount of money that I generally make doing this, because I don’t do it for the money, I do it because up until now, it was REALLY fun, and paid my internet bill and website fees. But this awful, ungratefull, hatefull, person is making this NOT SO FUN.

Johnny Depp, on the other hand, sounds like something I can deal with, LOL!

So a little update on my Mom. She was released from the hospital after the doctor took her off pain meds and she finally was able to wake up and keep food down. We have an appointment on Friday and I’m hoping they can tell us a little more, my Internet research is not helping me keep calm at this point. What the surgeon was able to tell us was that the tumor had broken through the colorectal tissue and was in contact with other areas. I’m no doctor, but no one has to tell me that this is not good, this is not a small tumor we are talking about. On the positive side, he said her liver looked okay and he removed all the tissue in her colon that he believed to be a problem.

I want to thank everyone who has left comments and sent me messages, and to all those who have been praying and thinking of Mom and my family. I really do appreciate it. I’ve tried to thank everyone personally, but I’m sure I’ve missed someone.

One of my best friends, from a life that seems like it happened ages ago, gave me the best advice. A close member of his family went through a battle with cancer, and he said to me “cry a little, smile more”. So that’s what my new philosophy is going to be. He also said that he cried, not out of sympathy, or pity, but out of love, because he believed that the crying took away a bit of the pain that the person had, the pain that their body could not endure. He’s not really a person that I would expect such a profound statement from, but it just rang so very true.

So again, thanks to everyone, sending prayers, postive energy, love. Thank you so much, I can’t thank you enough.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2006 9:17 am

    Oh wow! I can’t believe the insanity of these people! Who could write a message like that?????? I am SO sorry, Tania! I want to go find her and rip her eyes out!!!

    It sounds like your friend has some excellent advice. I hope you are finding a lot of opportunities to smile. Hugs and smooches!

  2. Maisie permalink
    April 23, 2006 11:27 am

    I’m so sorry for all your going thru at this time. And to get prated, too. I was reading on Rak Scraps last night about their pirating problem. Someone had a Johnny Depp, Captian Jack Sparrow, pirate blinkie! I’m sure she’s be willing to share it with you. I’m sorry, I don’t remember the blinkie owners name.
    I say some prayer for you to give you strength.

  3. tracy permalink
    April 23, 2006 9:34 pm

    oh my sweetz!

    first: what a spiteful hateful person…I use that instead of what I am thinking, lol. I am so naive and silly to think that would not be the response you would have gotted! sigh. I really am trying hard to believe in Karma and all that…it is so hard for me sometimes.

    Second: I agree with what your friend said. I am here for you (and share tears, smiles and prayers) not out of pity or pain…but of love and caring and understanding that the human spirit can only endure so much. With a support system of caring souls, I would like to think that you can endure a little more.

    May your light keep shining, your spirit keep smiling and your mind keep turning. May your Mother find the strength to fight this new battle with strength, dignity and a encompassing energy lent by all that love your family. (Sorry if it sounds a little corny…I am normally not like that…I have just really been doing a lot of soul searching and believe that we are all connected and that we can help each other). Religion and such has always been a journey for me…I am still not sure of everything. But I really do believe that some things just “are” and that we all lend our energy to each other. You have mine.

    Hugs…don’t think I am too nuts, lol.

  4. April 23, 2006 9:58 pm

    Wow. I can not believe the response you got. I would have read that and had my mouth wide open!!! I believe she called the wrong person a B***C… she should look in the mirror.

    Think positive about your mom! I hope you start feeling better about life in general! Have a good week and take some time for yourself!

  5. Melinda permalink
    April 23, 2006 11:58 pm

    oh, sorry this is happening to you doesn’t seem like nearly enough. I talked to my parents as usual this evening and my mom just casually mentions that the doctor said this last week that my Dad’s life expectancy is probably only another 5 years because of his heart problems (tests showed a further decrease in heart output) and his blood cell count is not rebounding like they hoped. I know I should be grateful for every moment that we gained with him, but I am so not ready to even think about losing him again after all of the ups and downs we had over the last 9 months.

    I’m thinking of you and praying for both you and hour mom. hang in there!

  6. Kim Smith (vkimmycat) permalink
    April 24, 2006 8:45 am

    Tania, you know my prayers are with you and your mom – keep your strength for her to draw on!!

    Regarding the piracy – that woman is nuts! I am so sick of this whole issue – these people have no clue about common sense and fair play and plain old common courtesy! Every day, there’s someone else who has been affected by this mess and it’s totally disheartening to us all.

    I don’t know what the solution is, but please don’t let those idiots prevent you from enjoying your creative outlet!!

    Big hugs,

    Kim

  7. April 24, 2006 11:21 am

    Tania, you should post the person’s name and the yahoo group this came from. Seriously. Jeanine got a few similiar e-mails with cussing etc in them basically telling her off. I told her she should forward them to the piracy blog and see if they’ll post all the info including the person’s name. It’s time these women start being outted. It’s just sickening.

    Try to keep your spirits up through all this! I know it’s hard… but hang in there. 🙂 Your kits rock btw!! Don’t stop designing.

  8. karen permalink
    April 24, 2006 11:21 am

    Grrr…I can’t believe what these pirates are doing! I don’t design and I get angry over this so I can’t even imagine how you all must feel. Hopefully the Piracy Blog is really being a pain for these people. That’s probably why the defensive, nasty words.

    Your family will continue to be in our prayers. {{{HUGS}}}

  9. Raji permalink
    April 24, 2006 11:56 am

    Oh Tania, I’m so glad that your mom is doing better. Like your friend said, Keep smiling.
    This piracy stuff is really annoying. I just couldn’t believe that ruse email. I wish that this person would be found out & dealt with.

  10. April 25, 2006 1:13 pm

    Oh Tania! I am so sorry to hear about all you’ve had to deal with.

    I hope the pirates are dealt with severely, particularly that rude person. They just taint the beautiful world of digiscrapping with all their negative energy. Could they be the same pirates just doing their thing over and over again?

    Anyway, I’m also keeping in our prayers your mom and you whole family. May you all have the strength that you will need and all the joy and hope in your hearts and spirits to get through this.

  11. April 25, 2006 9:21 pm

    There are just no words to describe how completely appalling that response is! Wow. How delusional is she? Incredible. I hope you are able to get past this and get back to the fun part, because, really, she is SO not worth it.

    I hope your mom’s appointment went well, and you got some good news. (((((hugs)))))

  12. April 25, 2006 9:34 pm

    First: I am really sorry to hear about your Mom. I know how hard this can be — having / going through this with my MIL — and seeing how it impacts my DH. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers.

    I found some of my stuff pirated too and almost got the same word for word reply. i just reported them to Yahoo / Rapidshare and well, tried to get it out of mind. I guess you could almost view it as a compliment that people like your stuff — but I know, it is a piss off eh? Try to ignore those idiots — keep focused on what is fun. That is what I try to do anyways

  13. April 26, 2006 3:26 pm

    I am so sorry this has happened to you. I also have a friend just diagnosed with cancer. I am close to knowing how you feel, althought it isn’t family. Moods are going up and down like a roller coaster. I will keep you all in my prayers.

    I am sorry about the pirating- there are so many freebies to get and they are so easy to get that I really don’t understand it or the hacking that is happening to the digi sites. Surely, it is not that hard to post a web address.
    Corri

  14. April 26, 2006 6:50 pm

    Oh hugs! I hate, hate, hate these pirates! And that is just so mean and nasty and they really don’t get it at all. I’m so sorry you have to deal with this crap from them with everything else you’ve been going through.

  15. April 27, 2006 6:30 am

    I cannot believe how spiteful (and stupid!) some people can be, and I am so sorry you had to go through that, Tania. You are such a wonderful designer, and a beautiful person (in and out), and you certainly don’t deserve that. No one does.

    Yes, crying is certainly good. Smiling is better too. Life gives us tough challenges sometimes, but nothing that we can’t handle. Just remember that we’re here for you.

    I’ll continue to keep you, your mom, and your family in my thoughts and prayers. Take care, bella! Smoochies!!!

Leave a Reply

