Skip to content

Happy Cesar Chavez Day

March 31, 2006

Well, it’s last day of March and it’s still pouring, have I said how much I’m tired of the rain?!?

It’s also Cesar Chavez day. If you don’t know who Cesar Chavez is Go Here. He was a great man, who believed in non-violent change, and organized the farmworkers during the 70’s to demand liveable wages and working conditions. It’s a state holiday here in California, and I think a couple of other states who’s economies depend entirely upon farm laborors have adopted the holiday as well.

Viva Cesar!! Si, Se Puede!! (translation, Long Live Cesar, Yes, We Can!)

My grandparents were farmworkers in Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado before and after World War II. Thanks to Affirmative Action, my father and all my Aunts and Uncles went on to college at the University of Colorado during the 60’s and 70’s, and were active in the Chicano rights movement. Yo Soy Chicana, and proud of it! As a result, my cousins and I have lived very comfortable lives, and alot of that is a result of the tireless work my family did as farmworkers, and equal rights activists.

I’m not lecturing here, nor am I trying to be overly political, nor will I discuss the current naturalization and imigration debates or demonstrations, it’s just my heritage, and I’m proud of it, and felt the need to share.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2006 7:22 am

    I didn’t know that was a holiday out there! That is awesome. We don’t here enough about our Latino heroes at all. For us Cubanos it is Jose Marti. Feliz dia de Chavez!

  2. April 1, 2006 10:15 am

    I’m pretty sure they are trying to make it a holiday here in AZ also. They are having a ton of events this weekend for it.. I just heard on the news that his granddaughter was here for the festivities. You have every right to be proud!!! 🙂

  3. April 3, 2006 10:05 am

    Sounds like he was definitely a man worthy of a holiday! Hope you had a good one, and that the rain has ended.

Leave a Reply

