Skip to content

Just rambling…

March 6, 2006

Sorry, I was running a bit behind and didn’t get my quotes posted in the wee hours of the morning, so I just posted them now. I’m having so much fun seeing how people interpret the quotes!! Check out this weeks quotes here!

I’m working more on the prize kit this week. I got a little stumped, LOL. Hoping the break will my refresh my creativity and I can actually finish it up. I was using alot of lavendar, and I don’t really like that color, LOL! You might see some of the other colors in the swatch take a bigger lead in the kit, that might help, LOL!

I realized I’m not only a bit stretched here at home, but at work too. I was soooo busy today. I actually was a very bad planner (which stinks, cause that’s what I do at work) and have 4 events between now and the last week of May to finish up (I actually might be able to do one in June, that might help a little, of course I got someone looking for hotel space in April for that one today and now I have to call and ask him to start all over tomorrow!) And here’s the big kicker, I don’t have curriculum finished for any of them!! Plus I’m coordinating a Heart Gallery, which is an amazing thing, and I am only hoping I do ours justice. Check out the original Heart Gallery in New Mexico to get a sense of what I’m doing 😀 I think I’ve found a photographer, I meet with her on Thursday. I need to find Gallery space (and the gallery at the University where I work isn’t even calling me back Eeek!!). It’s going to be fun, and definitely a new experience, but I’m a little worried about it. This year we are only doing 2 gallery showings, one locally and one in another County. It’s going to be small, but something our funders might want to do on a bigger scale.

I’ve worked out our budgets with my husband’s new hours (he went from 40 to 32 and it’s a big chunk of money for us!). We’ll be close and we’re not saving but a few pennies here and there, but for the time being it will work. Hoping something comes up for us and him very soon. I know he is super unhappy with his current job, although he loves taking care of JT during the day, I think it’s time for him to find a career he can really be happy with.

2 new workshops started today at The Digi Chick, I wish I had more time!! They look great, but if I want to keep up my workshop at RAKs and not get distracted from It’s a Chick’s Life, I think I’m going to pass them up, they do look amazing though, if your looking for some inspiration, you should check them out.

I heard today that I didn’t make another CT. You might be wondering why I’m applying for so many CTs when I’m always complaining I’m overwhelmed. I was thinking about this myself. I think I’m a little burnt out in what I’m currently doing, not really overwhelmed. Overwhelmed is just a good way to describe it when I’m in the moment. Take Designing for instance, sometimes I really hit something and I’m happy with what I design, but more often I’m not liking what I design. I’m really burnt on designing. You might not see anything new from me for quite a while. I’ve also been a bit burnt about scrapping too. I’m kind of hoping that being on CTs will challenge me, expose me to new scrappers, open up my box a little. I’ve been on RAKs since June, and there will be no other home for me, but RAKs isn’t everything. Like I said, just trying to open up my box a little.

Well, with that said, I better get to work, I have a little prize for the Mom’s Advice Challenge to work on. Thanks for listening to me ramble!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2006 10:34 pm

    I am so tired, I really need to go to bed so I will keep this quick. It makes such a huge difference when DH has a job he loves- speaking from experience here. Those jobs he didn’t like so well were what got him the one has now though, so in the long run it was worth it. I hope he finds something and you won’t have to stress about the household budget. It sounds like work is crazy right now for you too. Take time to breathe and focus and you will find your groove again.

    OK- that’s the extent of my pep talk. I need to get to bed before I fall asleep in front of the computer.

  2. March 7, 2006 12:02 am

    Hugs chica!!! I’m sorry you’re feeling stretched thin and I know all too well how it feels. (Actually, I wouldn’t mind being literally stretched thin. That would work for me.) And wow that gallery sounds like an incredible project! I hope things get better and please let me know if there’s anything I can do! 🙂

  3. March 7, 2006 11:46 am

    Okay, seeing what you’re up to makes me think I shouldn’t complain about being stretched thin at all! Sending lots of hugs and prayers that your hubby finds his place soon. Mine just finished reading “What Color is Your Parachute” and he is seriously like a new man with a vision now. He knows exactly what he wants to do, and hopefully will get to be in his chosen industry within the next year.

    As for the CT thing – I know what you mean. Even when you are overwhelmed, if you’ve got that one great kit that sparks it for you it seems to make everything else run smoother. I’m sorry nobody’s taking you! I’ve been hearing a lot of talented scrappers say the same thing – seems most designers are pulling from the same gene pool at the moment and leaving a lot of people out. Sorry this is so long! I hope you find that magic spark that makes it all work out again. 🙂

  4. Raji permalink
    March 7, 2006 11:39 pm

    I love this week’s quotes for the mom’s advice project. It’s a pity that you didn’t make it to the CT. I think that your layouts are gorgeous.
    Raji

  5. March 11, 2006 8:16 pm

    So sorry to hear you’re feeling burnt out, Tania. I actually went through a lot of periods of that before I was on the CT. I would go whole hog scrapping like mad until I just couldn’t stand to even think about doing another layout, and then I’d have to take a few weeks, or even months, off, and just be completely away from it. Being on the CT has actually forced me to pace myself more, so I haven’t run into that again yet. At least not to that extent. I hope something new and exciting works out for you soon, and helps you scrape off some of that burnt feeling. 😉

    Real bummer about Joel’s hours. I hope he finds something terrific soon.

Leave a Reply

