Skip to content

My first digital craft

February 21, 2006

Someone please help, LOL! First of all, I didn’t have good lighting and dh already gave me a hard time about it. But I thought I’d share the mini album I did. Melinda Staley donated her File Folder Album template to use for the first Get Creating Challenge at RAKScraps, my Mom’s Advice Challenge. I couldn’t wait to try the album out. I have to say I love it. I had a real hard time with the glue, LOL. Which is why this thing seems a little wet. I used a real heavy card stock and paper too, but everywhere I used this very expensive archival glue that the LSS lady recommended, it warped the paper. But other than that, I love it!!

Materials used in this project: Cover stock and filler paper from Paper Zone; Yellow digital paper by Gina Cabrera from Monkey Business; Patterned digital papers and digital elements from Gina Cabrera’s Neutron kit; Ribbons and eyelets by Making Memories; Adhesive “Button Ups” by Stickopotamus.

And if someone could please share what glue I should have used I’d be eternally grateful.

In other news, after I post the quote for the challenge tomorrow and upload my first page for the album, you might not see me until Friday. I’m on travel again.

I got word today I wasn’t chosen for that CT, but I’m glad I tried out anyway and I’m so empressed that she let people know they weren’t chosen too, it made me feel like she actually took a look at everyone’s galleries and put alot of thought into it.

And here’s my kit that should be up and for sale at Scrapdish and Digital Freebies by the end of the week, loving this. A little about this kit. My Dad is a blues and rock guitarist. After my grandmother died, my Dad moved us to Berthoud, CO, the smallest town in Colorado between Longmont and Loveland (I guess not so small anymore). I loved living there and my Dad played alot of blues during that time. He didn’t have a band and I didn’t have alot of friends there. After work my Dad would sit on the floor with his back against the couch with his guitar in hand and play until I fell asleap on the couch behind him. For some reason the browns in this kit remind me of Berthoud. When I started making the kit it was during the blizzard on the East Coast last week (and some people got some of the papers and ribbons at the Night Owl chat). One of the worst snows I’ve ever been in was on Halloween the year we lived in Berthoud. Anyway, this kit makes me think of Berthoud and my Dad’s Blues Guitar and snow and the colors of friendship. Because sometimes, to a tween girl who’s lost the two most important women in her life, her best friend is her Dad. Hope you like it, it’s my favorite kit so far.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2006 10:56 am

    First of all, two words: *Doublestick Tape*. You need this stuff, trust me. I never use glue on paper anymore, as it is totally useless.

    And second, how AWESOME is that kit??? I can’t wait to get my hands on it. The colors and patterns are awesome. I think it’s your best one yet. πŸ™‚

  2. February 21, 2006 9:06 pm

    Holy cow, I absolutely love the new kit.. especially now that I know the meaning behind it! I can’t wait to get my hands on it!! Great project too.. I need to get some time and get some paper stuff done.. I mean I have a pile of it just sitting around πŸ™‚ Sorry I can’t help you out with the glue.
    Did you see Grey’s this week?

  3. February 22, 2006 7:22 am

    LOL about the warpage. Totally sounds like something that would happen to me. I don’t like the “hands-on” stuff; that’s why I do digital! Print, cut, put it in a page protector! And if I ever get a borderless printer, I’ll probably switch to letter-size and eliminate the darn cutting too!!! :-b

    The kit is awesome!!! I loved the part that I got at the chat, and the rest is fab too. But I really love the story behind it. Sounds like the makings of a wonderful layout or two. πŸ™‚

  4. February 22, 2006 11:33 am

    Love the new kit- thanks for sharing the story behind it with us too. DH brought home a really nice pic from work I will have to use it to scrap. I need more parts though- did you ever send out a posting prize for the week you gave us the blizzard papers? I’m totally spacing it if you did, and can’t even remember what the challenge for the week was.

    Oh, BTW I uploaded my kids’ computer LO to your gallery at Scrapdish πŸ˜‰

    Bummer you didn’t get chosen for the CT; I didn’t get the one I mentioned to you last week either, though I am going to be on TracyB’s new CT- yeah for that! It’s not like I don’t have almost everything she has made already LOL!

  5. February 23, 2006 7:12 am

    Tania, the new kit is gorgeous! And your mini album turned out wonderfully. Looks great to me! I’m sorry the CT position didn’t come through…they don’t know what they’re missing!

Leave a Reply

