Skip to content

Plans

February 1, 2006

On the last post I was pondering that I’m not working on the element team at RAKScraps and won’t be contributing to the Mega Kits, and Kim commented she missed not knowing what we were up to on the Event Team. So I thought I’d share some of my plans. I’m actually going to start running a weekly challenge in 8 week blocks (with 2 to 4 weeks between each challenge). My first weekly challenge is a Mini-Album with the theme of “Advice from Mom”. Remember that Mini Album I was asked to create for a friend last fall? Well one of the ideas we tossed around was an album with a retro look and funny, campy quotes of stereotypical “mom” advice. So that’s my plan, for 6 weeks, I’ll give a quote (or two) for people to use. I’ll have an example to show you, and I’ll be incouraging people to use some kind of design element that ties their album together. Then for 2 more weeks, I’ll let people come up with their own personal “advice” from Mom. Look for the start of the “Advice from Mom” Challenge following RAK Week!!

Okay all, give me those quotes from your Mom that had you thinking “HUH?!?”

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2006 11:12 am

    Ooooh, how fun Tania! I love your teaser ad. I’ll have to try to think of any funny quotes I’ve got.

    BTW, you’ve been tagged. 😉

  2. February 2, 2006 11:23 am

    Love the ad!! That style is so fun! My mom had weird little catch-phrases (most I think were things her mom said to her), but not really any odd advice that I can think of. Hmmmm… I may need 8 weeks to come up with something! LOL

  3. Melinda permalink
    February 2, 2006 1:41 pm

    of course I can’t come up with the specifics for these at the moment- but what about ‘clean your plate there are starving kids in Africa’ and ‘your face will freeze that way’- not sure what sorts of pics you might scrap with those though LOL!
    That’s all I could think of at the moment….
    BTW- great teaser 😛

  4. February 2, 2006 2:58 pm

    Oh, I love the idea behind this challenge! Looks like a lot of fun!

  5. February 2, 2006 6:03 pm

    Love the idea too! My mom’s catchphrase was always aimed at me and my sister: “GIIIIIIIIIIRRRRRRRRRRRLLLLLLLLSSSSSSS”

    Grandma always told us if you’re bored, twiddle your thumbs!

  6. February 2, 2006 8:35 pm

    I was soooo going to say your face will freeze that way…that would be perfect for some of my scraps, lol. Sounds fun T!!!

  7. February 2, 2006 9:26 pm

    Ohh, this sounds like fun!!
    btw tag!! check my blog.

  8. February 3, 2006 6:44 am

    OMG! AWESOME IDEA!

  9. Kim Smith (vkimmycat) permalink
    February 6, 2006 10:32 am

    I heard the face freezing one, the starving kids one, and most especially “Always wear clean underwear – you never know when you’re going to be in an accident”! Huh? Cause if you are in an accident, the underwear isn’t going to be clean then – roflmbo!

    The ad looks great Tania and I love how well your page flows!

    Huggles,

  10. February 9, 2006 10:59 am

    This is an awesome idea and this would be a great gift for our Moms on mother’s day. I’d really like to participate in this one 🙂

    Can’t wait!!!

    By the way, great blog 🙂

  11. Lizzerd permalink
    February 9, 2006 12:18 pm

    “If you don’t remember doing it, then you didn’t.” for just about anything that started with “Have you done…?”

  12. Anonymous permalink
    February 9, 2006 1:06 pm

    If you are gonna do it half-assed, then don’t do it at all.

  13. Anonymous permalink
    February 9, 2006 4:29 pm

    My Mom always said if you can’t be good then at least be careful!

Leave a Reply

