Skip to content

One sick bud & I'm really ranting this time

January 21, 2006

JT has come down with an awful cold, so if you’re waiting on a prize for the Night Owl chat, or anything else from me for that matter, I apologize, but I’ve had no computer time today. I did finish my new blog banner and web update last night and I just uploaded them to my server. (The web update is a temporary update and is the actual website is waiting in line for dh to get to it, he’s got his own site to get done first, so who knows how long that will take!)
Anyway, I’ll get you that prize very soon!!

Okay, I don’t often get involved in industry debates (although I read every word posted, LOL) and I’ve never really started something myself, but I feel like I have got to get this out there. I’m feeling the need to point out a little trend I’ve noticed lately. When I first signed up for the P4D ad group last April, I got tons of ads, and I liked that alot, cause I spent alot of money, LOL. But lately I feel like I get way more calendar alerts than what I consider the good stuff, kit ads. Would it be too much to ask that those who are making the calendar alerts let us know what’s going on in a weekly ad. Seriously, getting 30+ notices a day on what site has which challenge is getting very tiresome for me. Just thought I’d post this on my little bloggie before I posted at P4D, just to test the water a bit, LOL! Or, even better, if anyone knows how to keep getting the ads, but turn off the calendar notices, I’m all ears!! Furthermore, if I like a site, and want to keep up with what’s going on for challenges, chats, etc. I will subscribe to that forum/site and get information directly from them (Thanks Robin!). And one more thing, I don’t really mind announcements for things that happen every once in awhile, or that are new. But to get the upteenth notice that so-and-so is having their weekly crop (and it’s been cancelled again!!!) is really quite annoying, I KNOW already!! And I’m fully aware that I’m being kinda mean and unfair, but when you turn your email on and you have to wade through tons of emails on a daily basis, I just search for all emails that come directly from promos4digiscrappers and delete. I don’t even read them anymore.

Okay, there’s a very rare moment where I’m not being very nice. I apologize in advance if I’ve offended anyone. This is just my opinion here. And if someone can tell me how to turn off the calendar alerts, let me know!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2006 12:06 am

    AMEN, sister! I actually created a filter in gmail so all those promos4digiscrappers reminders go straight into my trash. I had over a thousand emails when I got home from the hospital, and it seemed like only 50% of them were actually ads. And I actually *like* to look at ads!!

    And I’m so sorry your little guy is sick! I hope he gets to feeling better very soon. (hugs)

  2. January 22, 2006 4:26 am

    Love the new banner. Hope JT is feeling better soon. I also use a filter to separate out the calendar notices. I normally glance at the titles, before mass deleting them, but I can’t remember the last time any of them were actually relevant to me, so I may just atart sending mine to the trash too. I like looking at the ads too, but find it so overwhelming with the volume they have these days, that I don’t do that much anymore either. I just recently trashed everything in that folder and I’ve already got over 1700 items in there again.

  3. January 22, 2006 8:06 am

    So sorry your little buddy has a cold! (((hugs))) Hope he has a quick recovery!

    Your blog banner looks awesome!!!

    And, as for P4D – I finally had to go on no mail for that group. I hate that I’m probably missing some good stuff, but it was just too much for me. :o( I would love it if somehow the calendar notifications and actual ADS were separate.

  4. January 22, 2006 4:10 pm

    New Banner is awesome!! Sorry JT is not feeling well! And as far as the rant.. sounds like a VERY resonable gripe to me! Go ahead and post it at P4D. BTW how is South Beach going????

  5. January 22, 2006 8:55 pm

    I was going to say Amen, but Amy beat me to it! The calendar reminders are making me a little nutty too. I love the REAL ads – love to see what everyone is creating – so I’d hate to go on digest or something.

    Oh and the new banner is super cool!

  6. January 23, 2006 5:06 am

    Loving the new banner Tania! Sorry JT is not feeling well. Hope he gets over it soon!

    As far as the P4D ting goes…yeah alot of the ads annoy me also. I hate the calendar ad thingies…going to set up a filter for those to go right in my trash! Great idea!

  7. January 24, 2006 6:45 pm

    annoys the heck out of me too! I don’t read as much anymore and I know I am missing some good stuff.

    I am reading this after I know that JT is feeling a little better…but kiss him for me still.

  8. Melinda permalink
    January 28, 2006 11:06 am

    I’m so totally with you on this, Tania!! I went to digest on P4D over 6 months ago because all of the email kept making my whole yahoogroups bounce… and now I don’t even read those- just trash them as there is way too much to wade through. It seemed like people were posting the same ads repeatedly and the zillion calendar announcements were driving me insane.

    I only read the SBB list ads now- they only flood my email box one day a week

Leave a Reply

