Skip to content

Merry Christmas!

December 25, 2005

I hope everyone had a fabulous weekend! Whatever holidays you might celebrate. My son finally brought the Christmas spirit out of me, LOL! I knew he would, he always comes through. I love that about him, he gets it from my Mom. She’s a Christmas nut.
Christmas started Friday night when Joel’s parents came up. We went out for fabulous Chinese and Sushi, JT loves Sushi. His favorite is salmon egg rolls and he really loves tuna too. I can’t stand Sushi, or any Japanese food really (don’t get mad, I just don’t like it) and this great restaraunt also sells Chinese, which I love. Then we exchanged presents with JT’s Gamma and Oopma. They got him enough toys to last all year! He got a Matchbox carrying case, with enough cars to almost fill it. A Matchbox track and a Hot Wheels Pirate Ship (don’t ask, I haven’t figured out what to do with the Pirate Ship, LOL!) He got 2 new books for his My First Leap Pad (Bob the Builder and SpongeBog Square Pants), a Snoopy stuffed animal with 2 outfits (1 a pair of jammies with a sleeping cap for bed, and the other the Flying Ace Bomber Jacket and goggles). Joel & I both got Visa Gift Cards.
Christmas Eve was always the big night for my family. As a child, the whole family gathered for awesome home cooked Mexican food, enchiladas, fresh tortillas, menudo, rice, beans, green chile, and all the American favorites too, turkey, ham, potatoes and gravy. We always alternated who’s house to go to, my Grandma’s, my Godparents, or my Uncle Santiago & Aunt Patti’s (I only remember 1 time at our house cause we lived 3 hours away from the “center”, being my Grandparents in Pueblo, CO). On Christmas Eve, after dinner, we cuddled up close to fire places and opened all our gifts. My brother and I were the youngest grandkids and there were great-grandkids my brother’s age. So we always made out the best. I remember one in particular when I got a Rubix cube and sat myself in a corner to figure it out. Okay, most things come pretty easy for me, but I couldn’t get that damn cube, so I took off all the stickers and restuck them so it looked like I solved the puzzle (a little insight into my personality, LOL). Anyway, I’ve always insisted, even after all these years, that the bulk of presents be opened Christmas night so that only Santa’s presents remain on Christmas morning. My mom, even after divorcing my dad and desperately trying to convince me that this is not a traditional way, has given in. She made me a full enchilada meal, with homemade beans and rice. It was awesome! And we opened more presents!
JT got a new coat, the Polar Express book & book on tape set, a new Snoopy shirt and a cool sing along book from my Mom. My sister got him a Bob the Builder video. My dad got him a remote control car. I got a gorgous wool long cardigan pink sweater from Banana Republic (which I almost bought for myself and I’m so excited that I didn’t!). Joel got me a charchol wool Pea Coat, which I adore and have wanted for ever! Joel’s grandma made us all beautiful blankets, and they are so warm! My sister got Joel and movie. And both Joel and I got more gift cards to Borders.
Santa came last night and got JT a new bike (so cute, I’ll post pictures soon!) and, as Santa does every year, a book for his library of boy adventures. This year he got the complete hardbound collection of Thomas the Tank Engine. Joel got a new PHP scripting book from Santa and I got a rain coat (I sure made out on the rain coats, LOL!)
But of course, Christmas isn’t all about the gifts, we had a great day today, we went to the movies, a family tradition, and saw Chicken Little, and we stayed in our jammies until way past 1pm. We watched Christmas movies all morning and we ate tons of leftovers. After Joel got off of work at 4pm we went driving to see all the Christmas lights. This always makes my Mom and JT so happy.
I got to talk to my Dad on the phone, he had Christmas with my neices and nephews (my bum brother slept all day). I probably haven’t told you, but my Dad has been out of work and this Christmas was tight for him. My half-sister moved to Arkansas in November and left the kids in Littleton with her Mom (their dad is way out of the picture). So my neices and nephews went to Dads. I made sure to send them all extra special gifts. I grew up waiting for my Mom’s phone calls on Christmas, and it sucks. I knew it would be a hard Christmas for them. I made sure to give them things they needed to stay warm in the Colorado winter, hats and a sweater, and I also got them something to do. Victor got a gift card to take himself shopping, what else do you get a 17 year old boy? Chelsea got a paper card making kit, Tawni got a bead jewelry making kit (and she said she was gonna make me a necklace!!), and I got Gunner a model car set. They are such good kids and were all thankful and said so on the phone. I know they were all wishing for their Mom, I know cause I always did. I hope she goes to get them soon.
Other than that, I got a cold, I was going to blog about that the most, cause it’s making me kinda miserable. But in the scheme of things, it’s really insignificant, it won’t be the cold that I remember years from now. It will the 100th time that JT sang Up on the Rooftop, or the look in my Mom’s eyes when we go to see the Christmas lights. It will be the smell of the hot chocolate and mochas I made for everyone. It will be running through the rain to see a movie that made my Mom and JT giggle for a whole hour and a half. It will be the gleam of magic in JTs eyes when he saw his gifts from Santa and that bike sitting there in front of the tree.
It was a good Christmas, it was a wonderful few days. And I have two more weeks off!!

And let me squeak in a couple digiscrapping things. January 6th is my friday for the Friday Freebie at Digital Freebies. It will coordinate with a full kit in the store too. And I’ve got new product going up, hopefully Monday or Tuesday. Check out my Design Blog for the preview of Lil Miss Molly. As soon as it’s for sale I’ll let everyone know.

And just cause I love you all, and you read this huge long post, here’s a little paper pack. A fun pack for those New Year’s photos. Some fun Alpha flags (think of them as post-it flags you use to keep your place) and a pewter metal embellishment pack. Take whatever you’ld like, I broke it into various pieces. Please respect my bandwidth and copywrite, do not hotlink to this download, do not redistribute in any way, do not claim as your own. Other than that, enjoy!


Download Papers Here


Download Metals Here


Download Teal Alpha Here
Download Pink Alpha Here

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2005 12:04 pm

    I’m so glad to hear you had such a great Christmas. Thanks for the fun freebies! And congrats on being Digi Pick of the Day!!!! đŸ™‚

  2. December 26, 2005 5:57 pm

    Wow.. sounds like you all had a great Xmas!! I used to take the rubics cube completely apart and then put it back the right way LOL.. good to know I’m not the only one who never figured it out.. seems like I could only get one side, or two at the most!! Thanks for the free little kit.. it’s awesome as usual and I can’t wait until next Friday!! PS.. I LOVE your new kit!!

  3. December 26, 2005 5:57 pm

    Sounds like you had a wonderful Christmas despite your cold! And that is so nice of you to offer those freebies to your readers! Oh and I’m so sorry I was late in welcoming you over at DigiScrapDivas.com. I’ve been away from home the last few days.

  4. December 26, 2005 6:27 pm

    Oh I almost forgot…. CONGRATS on Digipick of the DAY!!!!!!!

  5. December 27, 2005 12:46 am

    Glad you had such a great Christmas!! (and that you are such a kindhearted aunt!) congrats on being digipick of the day!! woohoo!!
    Thanks for the freebies – love all the pink!

  6. December 28, 2005 6:30 pm

    Feliz Navidad!!!! I’m so glad you had a great Christmas and that you’ve got some vacation time to enjoy!
    Very glad to hear you’re keeping the Noche Buena traditions too. We had an Tarde Buena this year because I had to work- and I would much rather have enchiladas than lechon y arroz con frijoles. (But actually this year we had jambalaya.)
    I’m glad you got great gifts too because you are such a sweet and generous person and deserve all the best!

Leave a Reply

