Skip to content

Making a scrapbook for money

October 24, 2005

So folks at work are starting to ask how much I would charge to do a digital scrapbook for them and have it printed. I really have nooooo idea where to even begin. {Showing my ignorance here} I don’t even know how much Paper Scrappers charge to have people do them. Basically one person has asked that she give me the pics and I can do as I please, she doesn’t even have color preferences or anything, she’s just trusting me to make the best decision :eek:! Kinda scary really, but I’d love to do it 🙂 I obviously would only use my own kits and commercial stuff. Anybody have any idea of what I could/should charge? Any ideas would be super super helpful!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2005 3:13 am

    Personally I would probably charge by the hour. Decide what your time is worth & go from there. And maybe if you are going to use elements that have already been created, just tack on the cost of your kit(s) to the hourly fee.

  2. October 25, 2005 9:53 am

    hi! i’m curious about the pricing too. i enjoyed scrapping so much, might as well make money out of it.

    just blog hopping…

  3. October 25, 2005 12:18 pm

    How cool that people want you to do that, Tania! I’ve been thinking of starting in on that side of things myself.

    How long does it take you to finish a page? If an hour, I’d charge $10 a page – but if less than that (or for a themed book which would require less decision-making on kits and such), I’d probably charge $5 a page. Plus printing costs and the price of a scrapbook/inserts.

    I’d love to know what you decide on, since I’m just tossing things around myself.

  4. jane permalink
    October 26, 2005 6:33 am

    i think if you are doing it for friends, amys price sounds accurate definitely. but if someone were to start their side business with this the scale should definitely be higher. I know a photograper who does somthing similar on the side and she can get quite pricey, and there are several websites that offer this service and they can charge quite alot as well (althought i prefer the cheaper prices, hehe). Anything to do with photographs and saving your memories can definitely go for a good price these days…just my 2 cents…or maybe 3 cents, lol

  5. October 31, 2005 10:41 am

    Wow, what an honor, Tania! Some of my friends have been asking me as well, but I end up just doing it for free for them cause I also enjoy it so much. Not very entrepreneurial, I know…LOL! But this gives me ideas. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

